$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Hotel Derek

4 stars
2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
224 reviews
Matt Cutrone

Though it was a short stay, I had a very relaxing time. Service was great. See full review

  • Star PM
  • Jul 10, 2014
Enjoyed

Thanks for the great experience !!! I enjoyed my stay and would always come back See full review

  • Keshafaye
  • Jul 7, 2014

Bold contemporary designs with features like hardwood and black granite floors, exposed pipes, and artwork by Arthur Meyerson ensure that Hotel Derek in Houston has a unique ambience compared with more understated accommodations. Drenched in southern hospitality, the AAA Four-Diamond award-winning restaurant serves hearty dishes like the Hangover Burger and Inverted Grilled Cheese, while chic cocktails and craft beers are available evenings at the bar. The only boutique hotel inside the Houston 610 Loop, splash out on a Penthouse Suite for floor-to-ceiling windows looking out over the Galleria, or try the urban Loft for a seating area and king-sized bed.

Key facts

  • Wedding venue accommodating groups up to 350
  • Business meeting rooms
  • Modern ballroom
  • Smoke-free
  • Terrace and splash pool
  • Starbucks on-site
  • Gym available 24/7
  • Choice between valet and self-parking
  • Chauffeured car service that operates within 3-mile radius of hotel
  • Pet-friendly (see hotel pet policy)

Neighborhood

The Derek Hotel Houston is centrally located in the heart of the city, close to the famous Galleria-which is the largest mall in Texas-as well as Greenway Plaza, meaning shopaholics are in good hands. Nature lovers can take a stroll around the trails of Houston Arboretum, while the aquarium and zoo are perfect for kids. A good selection of cultural museums, including the Museum of Fine Arts and Contemporary Arts Museum, are also situated in this neighborhood.

Hints and tips

Take advantage of the chauffeured car service operating within a three-mile radius of the Derek Hotel.

After a morning of exploration, hit the Caffeine Bar to replenish your energy with a drink mixed by the baristas, and see what concoctions you can come up with.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Derek Rooms

Business Class
Business Class King - Complimentary Local Calls, High speed internet, VIP Turndown Service, and a Welcome Amenity.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Double features: two over-sized double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, internet access - complimentary, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor King
Sky Floor King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor Double
Sky Floor Double features: two double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7418 -95.4568
Area served
Houston, TX.
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes and distance is 30 miles. Houston Hobby Airport: Approx. time is 30 minutes and distance is about 22 miles.
Area description
Galleria (shopping, entertainment) - 2 blocks River Oaks (mansions, gardens) - 1 mile Montrose District (restaurants, clubstheaters) - 4 miles Rice University area antique shops - 5 miles Texas Medical Center - 5.5 miles Downtown Houston - 6 miles Bayou Place (entertainment complex) - 6 miles Lakewood Church - 4 miles George Brown Convention Center - 7 miles Minute Maid Park/Houston Astros - 7.5 miles Reliant Stadium/Houston Texans - 8.5 miles Sam Houston Race Park - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
When searching for a memorable alternative for your next Houston event or conference, look no further than Hotel Derek. As a high-profile hotel in a highly charged area for business, our Houston convention facilities cater to corporate business travelers by delivering friendly service in a sophisticated modern environment. Featuring more than 10,000 square feet of Houston Texas event space, Hotel Derek graciously welcomes groups from 10 to 500. Fully wired with the latest cutting-edge technologies to enhance your presentation, our event spaces are flexible enough to satisfy any need.

Dining

Valentino
Breakfast (daily breakfast buffet is $16.00 plus tax) Monday thru Friday 6:30am - 10am, Sat, Sun 7am - 11am. Lunch Monday thru Friday 10am - 2pm, Sat/ Sun, 11am - 2pm. Afternoon Intermezzo Monday thru Sunday 2pm - 430pm. Cocktails & Bar Fare Dinner*** Monday thru Sunday 430pm - 11 or 12am (depending upon business levels). Bar Service Sunday until 12am Monday thru Saturday until 2am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MISS EKJ
SOUTHEAST TEXAS
Dec 16, 2013

One Night Stay

My hotel stay was very enjoyable at the Hotel Derek. I stayed one night and don't really have any complaints. The staff was very nice and the room was very clean. The decor is a little dated but the room is comfortable. There is a sense of security as you are only able to use your key card to go to your own floor. The Galleria is right across the street for a nice shopping experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria is right across the street.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dca
Monterrey, Mx
Nov 4, 2010

Good hotel

Everything was great, the only thing was that I booked a free complimentary hotel and when we arrived we were informed that breakfast was not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kort
Beaumont, tx
Jul 26, 2009

Nice

The hotel was beautiful, but we did have a problem. When booking the hotel I made sure to ask if we could get a roll away bed in our room. They assured me we could. When checking into the hotel we requested the bed and was told it would be sent up. Four hours later when we never recieved the bed I called to check on it and was told if was against fire code and could not get the roll away. I understand fire code but I would of stayed at another hotel that better fit our needs if I would of known this. We were very disapointed at the way the situation was handeled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin,TX
Jun 22, 2010

Good Overall Experience

Nice staff and good valet service. Everyone was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XIE B
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 14, 2012

Good, but some details lacking

The Hotel Derek was nice, but I had booked a king room on this travel site, and somehow was placed in a room with two double beds. I didn't bother to straighten this out as I was too tired, but when I mentioned this upon check out, they blamed the travel site that it was booked through (this one). There were a few things that weren't up to par- a reading light beside the bed was burnt out; the mattress was ok, not amazing; and the remote for the TV wasn't fully functional; and the TV itself was pretty bad quality; and the bathroom sink drain was clogged. All in all it was nice, but could use a little work on some of the details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to the Houston Galleria

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peraza
Houston, Texas
May 26, 2014

Great getaway

The hotel and the staff were great. Great shopping and close to anything you want to do in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The galleria shopping center is maybe a 10 min walk and plenty of restaurants to enjoy around hotel.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Book Signing in Houston
The Colony, TX
Jun 13, 2010

Enjoyed Stay - Clean

In town to visit relatives. Hotel was nice and had friendly service. Pros - great staff, nice rooms, comfortable beds, nice HD tv. Cons - cost of valet parking, room view was ok, entrance can be blocked by traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jorge ro
houston galleria
Nov 4, 2013

great night, good sleep

My experience was great, everyone was smiling and everything was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smennings
College Station, TX, USA
Sep 11, 2011

A nice deal and a nice stay

We decided to try out Hotel Derek because we got a great deal on the room. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. It is a fun, happening hotel in a great location. We were close to the Galleria area, near some great restaurants. The room was nice. The walls are a little thin, so you definitely hear noise from the surrounding rooms. Luckily, the hotel staff was very accommodating and quickly assigned us a different room. We didn't have a great TV selection (but who needs that when there's plenty to do in Houston) and the workout room is also a nice amenity. We enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Dec 5, 2010

Great Place

Great location, clean and modern

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top