$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Hotel Derek

4 stars
2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
224 reviews
Matt Cutrone

Though it was a short stay, I had a very relaxing time. Service was great. See full review

  • Star PM
  • Jul 10, 2014
Enjoyed

Thanks for the great experience !!! I enjoyed my stay and would always come back See full review

  • Keshafaye
  • Jul 7, 2014

Bold contemporary designs with features like hardwood and black granite floors, exposed pipes, and artwork by Arthur Meyerson ensure that Hotel Derek in Houston has a unique ambience compared with more understated accommodations. Drenched in southern hospitality, the AAA Four-Diamond award-winning restaurant serves hearty dishes like the Hangover Burger and Inverted Grilled Cheese, while chic cocktails and craft beers are available evenings at the bar. The only boutique hotel inside the Houston 610 Loop, splash out on a Penthouse Suite for floor-to-ceiling windows looking out over the Galleria, or try the urban Loft for a seating area and king-sized bed.

Key facts

  • Wedding venue accommodating groups up to 350
  • Business meeting rooms
  • Modern ballroom
  • Smoke-free
  • Terrace and splash pool
  • Starbucks on-site
  • Gym available 24/7
  • Choice between valet and self-parking
  • Chauffeured car service that operates within 3-mile radius of hotel
  • Pet-friendly (see hotel pet policy)

Neighborhood

The Derek Hotel Houston is centrally located in the heart of the city, close to the famous Galleria-which is the largest mall in Texas-as well as Greenway Plaza, meaning shopaholics are in good hands. Nature lovers can take a stroll around the trails of Houston Arboretum, while the aquarium and zoo are perfect for kids. A good selection of cultural museums, including the Museum of Fine Arts and Contemporary Arts Museum, are also situated in this neighborhood.

Hints and tips

Take advantage of the chauffeured car service operating within a three-mile radius of the Derek Hotel.

After a morning of exploration, hit the Caffeine Bar to replenish your energy with a drink mixed by the baristas, and see what concoctions you can come up with.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Derek Rooms

Business Class
Business Class King - Complimentary Local Calls, High speed internet, VIP Turndown Service, and a Welcome Amenity.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Double features: two over-sized double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, internet access - complimentary, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor King
Sky Floor King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor Double
Sky Floor Double features: two double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7418 -95.4568
Area served
Houston, TX.
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes and distance is 30 miles. Houston Hobby Airport: Approx. time is 30 minutes and distance is about 22 miles.
Area description
Galleria (shopping, entertainment) - 2 blocks River Oaks (mansions, gardens) - 1 mile Montrose District (restaurants, clubstheaters) - 4 miles Rice University area antique shops - 5 miles Texas Medical Center - 5.5 miles Downtown Houston - 6 miles Bayou Place (entertainment complex) - 6 miles Lakewood Church - 4 miles George Brown Convention Center - 7 miles Minute Maid Park/Houston Astros - 7.5 miles Reliant Stadium/Houston Texans - 8.5 miles Sam Houston Race Park - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Dining

Valentino
Breakfast (daily breakfast buffet is $16.00 plus tax) Monday thru Friday 6:30am - 10am, Sat, Sun 7am - 11am. Lunch Monday thru Friday 10am - 2pm, Sat/ Sun, 11am - 2pm. Afternoon Intermezzo Monday thru Sunday 2pm - 430pm. Cocktails & Bar Fare Dinner*** Monday thru Sunday 430pm - 11 or 12am (depending upon business levels). Bar Service Sunday until 12am Monday thru Saturday until 2am.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
When searching for a memorable alternative for your next Houston event or conference, look no further than Hotel Derek. As a high-profile hotel in a highly charged area for business, our Houston convention facilities cater to corporate business travelers by delivering friendly service in a sophisticated modern environment. Featuring more than 10,000 square feet of Houston Texas event space, Hotel Derek graciously welcomes groups from 10 to 500. Fully wired with the latest cutting-edge technologies to enhance your presentation, our event spaces are flexible enough to satisfy any need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotel Goo-Roo
Beaumont Texas
Feb 8, 2010

My Favorite Hotel In Houston

We travel all the time & we have stayed at 5 or 6 other very nice 5 star hotels in Houston before we tried Hotel Derek... And that was it!! I LOVED IT! Now, everytime we go to Houston I make sure we stay there. From making a reservation, check-in, to the call for anything extra the staff makes sure your stay is perfect!!! I recommend it to EVERYONE! Thank you Hotel Derek for another great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston tx
Feb 20, 2011

Unbeatable for the price[...]

Took a vacation away from home to relax . Great deal[...]Had a great time and many things to do around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammi Traveler
Saint Francisville, LA
Jul 12, 2009

Hotel Derek

We enjoyed our stay and would book again at Hotel Derek. Maybe not a city view next time because of the traffic noise at night. Staff was great, food was great, location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Houston Premium outlet mall was wonderful as was the Galleria!

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers KF
Dallas Tx
Jan 3, 2013

Great stop in houston

Excellent staff that are helpful with directions and fun things to do in Houston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sxda
Business
nyc
Jun 16, 2014

Will go back

went for work related trip. wifi in room was very weak. AC could be stronger. very clean & pretty room. comfy bed. wonderful staff. pool is small and crowded. fast valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of great places to eat a couple miles east.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 19, 2007

loved the room design

I loved the design of this hotel from the moment you enter the building until you reach the room. Great location as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great nightlife, shopping and dining.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
May 26, 2007

Quiet and Close In

Hotel Derek was a very pleasant surprise. For the price and proximity to the Galleria, I wasn't expecting much. Instead, I found a charming hotel, friendly staff and very comfortable room. My room even had a nice view of the skyline. In all, a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Explore the Houston Galleria for shopping, food and art.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enen
san antonio rx
Mar 25, 2013

funtastic

we have great time!! very good service!!nice hotel to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotel Goo-Roo
Beaumont Texas
Feb 8, 2010

My Favorite Hotel In Houston

We travel all the time & we have stayed at 5 or 6 other very nice 5 star hotels in Houston before we tried Hotel Derek... And that was it!! I LOVED IT! Now, everytime we go to Houston I make sure we stay there. From making a reservation, check-in, to the call for anything extra the staff makes sure your stay is perfect!!! I recommend it to EVERYONE! Thank you Hotel Derek for another great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma Muto
Austin, Texas
Feb 11, 2013

Great beds!

The bed was incredibly comfortable. We all slept so well- it was heavenly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top