$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Book Signing in Houston
Business
The Colony, TX
Jun 13, 2010

Enjoyed Stay - Clean

In town to visit relatives. Hotel was nice and had friendly service. Pros - great staff, nice rooms, comfortable beds, nice HD tv. Cons - cost of valet parking, room view was ok, entrance can be blocked by traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seoul, South Korea
Sep 3, 2011

Comportable room and great location

I stayed Derek during my business trip in Houson. Service was quite good and they had comportable rooms also. I have positve consideration to stay Derek again whenever I have a chance to visit Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Aug 15, 2010

Hotel Derek

Great hotel! The only downside was the valet only parking, here in Houston we are just not used to that! The hotel was clean and neat, only one small burn mark on the carpet of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Florida
Jun 20, 2011

As advertised

The room looked exactly as it did in the pictures. Everything was clean. The guests were sophisticated. It was as advertised. The only thing I will say is do not pay extra for a "view". The building is not very tall and there is a highway on one side and a parking lot on the other. Comfort and elegance wise, it is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
League City, TX
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic Trendy Hotel

Very modern, trendy welcome hotel. The bar had a pretty good band playing, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were very spacious. I did not give it 5 stars because I like to watch TV before going to bed and their satellite kept going out like it was not getting a good signal. Also, we got a $20.00 surprise upon checkout for valet parking that I was not aware of. Seems a little expensive for parking. Other than that, an EXCELLENT place to stay in the Galleria Area of Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franny
Business
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Sep 13, 2011

Seven Minute Walk to the Galleria

If you're looking for comfort and service, along with proximity to the third largest shopping mall in the U.S., this is the place. A great staff, and a world-class restaurant on site, as well as lots of other excellent restaurants, in all price ranges, nearby. Whether you're in Houston for business or pleasure, you won't be disappointed. One word of caution, though: The public spaces were over-air conditioned, so bring appropriate attire if you're going to spend any time in the hotel outside your room. We were very cold, and the outdoor temperature was in the 90's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat in the hotel restaurant without spending a fortune, choose from the Tapas Menu in the Vinbar. Excellent food too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerT
Business
New Britain, CT, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Hotel

I went in not expecting as nice and trendy of a hotel as I got. The room was huge and comfortable, the staff great, and asides from a somewhat small bathroom, the place was significantly beyond the value amount I paid for it. I love the wrap around couch to boot. Definitely a good place to stay, especially with the great location. Only draw back to the location is the traffic when trying to enter/exit the hotel lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couples Night Out...
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 28, 2010

Nice...but i expected more.

I just expected more. Its nice, but based on all the hype I have heard regarding the hotel, I just expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 9, 2008

Great Location

We found this location to be very convenient for a weekend visit. We were able to get many places quickly and easily, and many stores, resturants, sites and restuarants were not far away, we did not have to always get on the highway system. The Bed was comfy with the big down comforter. Only 2 DVD players available for the whole hotel, and we did not get one when we requested one upon check-in. Staff very friendly always, minus one front desk person--he needs to be in a position that does not require conversation. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Apr 24, 2011

Not worth the price

I stayed at Hotel Derek for one night. I was surprised to find out there was no parking, and you have to pay valet parking of $20 if I wanted to park my vehicle. Although my room was very clean, it had a connecting door, which my next room neighbor kept trying to open. The wall were very thin and I could hear my neighbors arguing, slamming doors, and returning at 2:30 a.m. I was also disappointed to find that the hotel expected us to pay for anything in the hotel- even a first aid kit! Most hotels will offer razors or other small amenities if you ask for him, but not this one! Needless to say, too expensive for what I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria, is just across the highway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top