$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
173 reviews
Great experince

My family and I loved the hotel. Can't wait to visit again soon See full review

  • Deontae f.
  • Jul 22, 2015
Pretty Dope Hotel

I had a good experience at Hotel Derek. I hate that I didn't really get to enjoy the room more and... See full review

  • eYe Q
  • Jul 9, 2015
Simply Elegant. Comfortably Accessible. Totally Extraordinary. Rethink everything you know about the typical hotel experience. Derek is distinctive. From the moment you arrive at the Hotel Derek in Houston, Texas, you realize the experience will be anything BUT commonplace. Hotel Derek in Houston is a refreshing alternative to the standard hotel. Urban sophistication reigns supreme here.

Our design is elegant in its simplicity as well as comfortable and accessible. This one-of-a-kind custom designed hotel near the Galleria in Houston, TX features the essence of our Texas home commingled with European sophistication. Our classic modern design and tailored look includes rich, vibrant tones to tantalize the eye. Hotel Derek adds significant substance to style by pairing stunning design with impeccable guest service. The result is the modern benchmark of Houston hotels that everyone else strives to emulate.

Hotel Derek has thought of everything you need for the perfect stay at our Houston Hotel including a relaxing outdoor pool with stylish terrace, 24/7 fitness center, 24-hour business center, and, of course, high-speed Internet access. Derek Hotel in Houston, Texas is also thoughtful enough to offer complimentary transportation to nearby offices within a three-mile radius via our Derek Mobile, a chauffeured black stretch SUV. Plus, we know it gets lonely on the road and that is why guests are always welcome to bring their pets along with them! When planning your next business meeting or social gathering look no further than Hotel Derek for a versatile Houston conference venue. Featuring over 10,000 square-feet of well-appointed, eye-catching event and meeting space, Hotel Derek caters to groups from 10 to 200 and social gatherings of up to 500. Whatever your needs - from catering to event planning to audio/visual equipment - Hotel Derek's experienced hospitality staff will support your every need.

For those who want to dine or have cocktails at one of the most popular area restaurants in Houston, TX, the Valentino Vinbar Houston - a new innovation from famed restaurateurs Luciano Pellegrini and Piero Selvaggio- is located right inside Hotel Derek. We are located adjacent to the Galleria shopping mall in Houston, Texas, and Houston's commercial and cultural districts are also easily accessible.

And for those who want to experience Houston's hottest venues and trendiest nightspots, our well-connected Concierge can make all of the arrangements to ensure you enjoy your stay at our Galleria Hotel in Houston, Texas.

Valet parking is available for $28 per night and day/event parking is available for $14 daily.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Derek Rooms

Business Class
Business Class King - Complimentary Local Calls, High speed internet, VIP Turndown Service, and a Welcome Amenity.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Double features: two over-sized double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, internet access - complimentary, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor King
Sky Floor King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor Double
Sky Floor Double features: two double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Dining

Valentino
Breakfast (daily breakfast buffet is $16.00 plus tax) Monday thru Friday 6:30am - 10am, Sat, Sun 7am - 11am. Lunch Monday thru Friday 10am - 2pm, Sat/ Sun, 11am - 2pm. Afternoon Intermezzo Monday thru Sunday 2pm - 430pm. Cocktails & Bar Fare Dinner*** Monday thru Sunday 430pm - 11 or 12am (depending upon business levels). Bar Service Sunday until 12am Monday thru Saturday until 2am.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
When searching for a memorable alternative for your next Houston event or conference, look no further than Hotel Derek. As a high-profile hotel in a highly charged area for business, our Houston convention facilities cater to corporate business travelers by delivering friendly service in a sophisticated modern environment. Featuring more than 10,000 square feet of Houston Texas event space, Hotel Derek graciously welcomes groups from 10 to 500. Fully wired with the latest cutting-edge technologies to enhance your presentation, our event spaces are flexible enough to satisfy any need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
airborneANDrowdy
Houston
Nov 19, 2012

Very friendly staff

Check in, and right off the bat the staff comped breakfast and upgraded up. When we got to the room, we kinda expected a larger room, but the fact they had a complementary bottle of champagne iced in the room made it all worth while. Food was great, could not have asked for a nicer stay. Was right in the heart of the galleria, lots of shopping, and eating locations around the area. was very pleased, I spoke with Jackie in reservation at the hotel, she went above, and beyond to make my stay worthwhile. Thank you hotel Derek.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfast in not included in the hotel restaurant, ask font desk to comp, they usually will.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MedicZilla
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 31, 2013

Perfect Stay

Kudos to an awesome staff for their professionalism and personal touch during my last visit. The drinks and appetizers in the evening were wonderful. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is The Grotto Restaurant. Great food and a trendy clientele.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MedicZilla
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 8, 2014

Great Value

Thank you for another amazing stay at your Houston location! I loved everything from the gym to the super clean room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Russo's NY Pizza is right down the street. They have GREAT pies!

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoppy Traveller
Business
LA
Jan 29, 2014

Great Stay and Experience

Went for girlfriend's bday, they upgraded us to a room w/ a great view. Day of arrival they offered complimentary white wine, mixed drink and small bites in the lobby for an hour. Complimentary water in fitness area. Chic design of hotel in general and room. Great customer service. Only bummer is have to pay for parking, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bcuzofu
Business
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 17, 2014

mini vacation for Houston Livestock show & Rodeo

we loved our room at the Hotel Derek the bed was nice. The view was okay ( it was still Houston). The bar was fun the bartenders were friendly and helpful. The concierge was nice, the desk clerk was helpful. my only complaint is that the room did not have an exhaust fan in the restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the lobster rolls!

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Oil Man
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2012

A Great Place to Stay in Houston.

This is a very stylish place, with comfortable rooms. The bar is a great place to hang out. Only valet parking is available, but the staff is extremely pleasant and your car is retrieved quickly. I will stay here on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Derek has a nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner (including the bar), but right next door is Le Peep for breakfast and Sullivan's Steakhouse for dinner. Both are much recommended.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolphineem
Business
Puyallup, WA
Dec 11, 2012

Loved IT...beautiful view

I had a fantastic relaxing weekend in Houston. I actually spent the whole day Saturday in my room and it was exactlly what I needed...great room service...VERY NICE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers KF
Business
Dallas Tx
Jan 3, 2013

Great stop in houston

Excellent staff that are helpful with directions and fun things to do in Houston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma Muto
Business
Austin, Texas
Feb 11, 2013

Great beds!

The bed was incredibly comfortable. We all slept so well- it was heavenly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enen
Business
san antonio rx
Mar 25, 2013

funtastic

we have great time!! very good service!!nice hotel to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top