$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Oil Man
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2012

A Great Place to Stay in Houston.

This is a very stylish place, with comfortable rooms. The bar is a great place to hang out. Only valet parking is available, but the staff is extremely pleasant and your car is retrieved quickly. I will stay here on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Derek has a nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner (including the bar), but right next door is Le Peep for breakfast and Sullivan's Steakhouse for dinner. Both are much recommended.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma Muto
Family
Austin, Texas
Feb 11, 2013

Great beds!

The bed was incredibly comfortable. We all slept so well- it was heavenly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ibcookin57
Single
long beach, ca
Feb 11, 2013

central location

Very good location. Staff very pleasant. Room service attendant was especially thorough and nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and restaurants in a short distance

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers KF
Family
Dallas Tx
Jan 3, 2013

Great stop in houston

Excellent staff that are helpful with directions and fun things to do in Houston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XIE B
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 14, 2012

Good, but some details lacking

The Hotel Derek was nice, but I had booked a king room on this travel site, and somehow was placed in a room with two double beds. I didn't bother to straighten this out as I was too tired, but when I mentioned this upon check out, they blamed the travel site that it was booked through (this one). There were a few things that weren't up to par- a reading light beside the bed was burnt out; the mattress was ok, not amazing; and the remote for the TV wasn't fully functional; and the TV itself was pretty bad quality; and the bathroom sink drain was clogged. All in all it was nice, but could use a little work on some of the details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to the Houston Galleria

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolphineem
Single
Puyallup, WA
Dec 11, 2012

Loved IT...beautiful view

I had a fantastic relaxing weekend in Houston. I actually spent the whole day Saturday in my room and it was exactlly what I needed...great room service...VERY NICE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Txvirago
Couples
New Mexico
Dec 4, 2012

Beware of parking costs!

Overall our stay at Hotel Derek was pleasant. The location with relationship to shopping (The Galleria is within walking distance) is fabulous. MY BIG COMPLAINT is the cost for mandatory valet parking that is not listed anywhere. The cost is $20/day. I booked this hotel because of the value and was definitely not happy with an additional $60 plus tax in parking my car over night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria I, II, and III.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
airborneANDrowdy
Couples
Houston
Nov 19, 2012

Very friendly staff

Check in, and right off the bat the staff comped breakfast and upgraded up. When we got to the room, we kinda expected a larger room, but the fact they had a complementary bottle of champagne iced in the room made it all worth while. Food was great, could not have asked for a nicer stay. Was right in the heart of the galleria, lots of shopping, and eating locations around the area. was very pleased, I spoke with Jackie in reservation at the hotel, she went above, and beyond to make my stay worthwhile. Thank you hotel Derek.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfast in not included in the hotel restaurant, ask font desk to comp, they usually will.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rice Transfer
Family
Boston, Mass.
Sep 24, 2012

Clean, Chic good service

Excellant service, good resturant. Parking with Valet is mandatory and expensive, $ 20 per day plus all the tipping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnniePN
Friends
Burke, VA
Aug 28, 2012

Will stay again!

Location was perfect. Walking distance to the galleria, very nice hotel for the deal we got. The only downsize was its right next to the beltway so it got noisy sometimes but we slept well regardless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top