$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XIE B
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 14, 2012

Good, but some details lacking

The Hotel Derek was nice, but I had booked a king room on this travel site, and somehow was placed in a room with two double beds. I didn't bother to straighten this out as I was too tired, but when I mentioned this upon check out, they blamed the travel site that it was booked through (this one). There were a few things that weren't up to par- a reading light beside the bed was burnt out; the mattress was ok, not amazing; and the remote for the TV wasn't fully functional; and the TV itself was pretty bad quality; and the bathroom sink drain was clogged. All in all it was nice, but could use a little work on some of the details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to the Houston Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolphineem
Business
Puyallup, WA
Dec 11, 2012

Loved IT...beautiful view

I had a fantastic relaxing weekend in Houston. I actually spent the whole day Saturday in my room and it was exactlly what I needed...great room service...VERY NICE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Txvirago
Business
New Mexico
Dec 4, 2012

Beware of parking costs!

Overall our stay at Hotel Derek was pleasant. The location with relationship to shopping (The Galleria is within walking distance) is fabulous. MY BIG COMPLAINT is the cost for mandatory valet parking that is not listed anywhere. The cost is $20/day. I booked this hotel because of the value and was definitely not happy with an additional $60 plus tax in parking my car over night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria I, II, and III.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
airborneANDrowdy
Business
Houston
Nov 19, 2012

Very friendly staff

Check in, and right off the bat the staff comped breakfast and upgraded up. When we got to the room, we kinda expected a larger room, but the fact they had a complementary bottle of champagne iced in the room made it all worth while. Food was great, could not have asked for a nicer stay. Was right in the heart of the galleria, lots of shopping, and eating locations around the area. was very pleased, I spoke with Jackie in reservation at the hotel, she went above, and beyond to make my stay worthwhile. Thank you hotel Derek.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfast in not included in the hotel restaurant, ask font desk to comp, they usually will.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Oil Man
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2012

A Great Place to Stay in Houston.

This is a very stylish place, with comfortable rooms. The bar is a great place to hang out. Only valet parking is available, but the staff is extremely pleasant and your car is retrieved quickly. I will stay here on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Derek has a nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner (including the bar), but right next door is Le Peep for breakfast and Sullivan's Steakhouse for dinner. Both are much recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rice Transfer
Business
Boston, Mass.
Sep 24, 2012

Clean, Chic good service

Excellant service, good resturant. Parking with Valet is mandatory and expensive, $ 20 per day plus all the tipping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnniePN
Business
Burke, VA
Aug 28, 2012

Will stay again!

Location was perfect. Walking distance to the galleria, very nice hotel for the deal we got. The only downsize was its right next to the beltway so it got noisy sometimes but we slept well regardless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
n. r
Business
la
Aug 24, 2012

An experience I will not forget.

During my stay the power went out around 7:40 AM I was in my room thinking the power will soon be restored. After waiting 2 hours I decided to get out of the room and try to use the Fire Escape since no elevators were working. I was staying on the 5th floor. As I opened the Exit to enter the Fire Escape I realized they were no lights and it was dark and the doors will not stay open to give me some light, With my I phone I tried to make it to the next floor and all the time yelling for help, as I approached the 2nd floor I heard a noise and they also responded. It was the kitchen of the hotel and someone had opened the kitchen door when I realized I hade made it crawling to the second. It was a night mare I don't want to live again. As I approached the front desk I found out that the hotel had only one generator for emergency and that one had stop working also. The stairs had no Emergency light to guide the people who tried to escape. I thank God that I was capable to escape but in the event there was a fire and people were trying to move through with children or old adults, this would have been a total disaster. The Hotel has violated many Fire codes and I will never stay again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hubby Bear
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 23, 2012

weekend getaway

The experience was very good with one exception. The exception is the daily parking fee which with tax was over $20.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JessNColby
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 3, 2012

Great stay for good shopping

The staff was great and very helpful. Room was clean. It is a great location, central to the shopping in the area and easy to get to. I would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If it is a nice day, the opposite direction from the galleria features an outdoor shopping area with many of the same stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top