$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Hotel Derek

4 stars
2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
156 reviews
great little hotel in great location

Nice comfortable hotel with a friendly staff; great to have a Starbucks on site; room was super... See full review

  • Rice Univ. relative
  • Nov 26, 2014
good enough for this price

I traveled to Houston to visit a friend in July 2014. this hotel is nice, pretty valuable. See full review

  • Steven Chan
  • Jul 14, 2014

Bold contemporary designs with features like hardwood and black granite floors, exposed pipes, and artwork by Arthur Meyerson ensure that Hotel Derek in Houston has a unique ambience compared with more understated accommodations. Drenched in southern hospitality, the AAA Four-Diamond award-winning restaurant serves hearty dishes like the Hangover Burger and Inverted Grilled Cheese, while chic cocktails and craft beers are available evenings at the bar. The only boutique hotel inside the Houston 610 Loop, splash out on a Penthouse Suite for floor-to-ceiling windows looking out over the Galleria, or try the urban Loft for a seating area and king-sized bed.

Key facts

  • Wedding venue accommodating groups up to 350
  • Business meeting rooms
  • Modern ballroom
  • Smoke-free
  • Terrace and splash pool
  • Starbucks on-site
  • Gym available 24/7
  • Choice between valet and self-parking
  • Chauffeured car service that operates within 3-mile radius of hotel
  • Pet-friendly (see hotel pet policy)

Neighborhood

The Derek Hotel Houston is centrally located in the heart of the city, close to the famous Galleria-which is the largest mall in Texas-as well as Greenway Plaza, meaning shopaholics are in good hands. Nature lovers can take a stroll around the trails of Houston Arboretum, while the aquarium and zoo are perfect for kids. A good selection of cultural museums, including the Museum of Fine Arts and Contemporary Arts Museum, are also situated in this neighborhood.

Hints and tips

Take advantage of the chauffeured car service operating within a three-mile radius of the Derek Hotel.

After a morning of exploration, hit the Caffeine Bar to replenish your energy with a drink mixed by the baristas, and see what concoctions you can come up with.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Derek Rooms

Business Class
Business Class King - Complimentary Local Calls, High speed internet, VIP Turndown Service, and a Welcome Amenity.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Double features: two over-sized double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, internet access - complimentary, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor King
Sky Floor King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor Double
Sky Floor Double features: two double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
When searching for a memorable alternative for your next Houston event or conference, look no further than Hotel Derek. As a high-profile hotel in a highly charged area for business, our Houston convention facilities cater to corporate business travelers by delivering friendly service in a sophisticated modern environment. Featuring more than 10,000 square feet of Houston Texas event space, Hotel Derek graciously welcomes groups from 10 to 500. Fully wired with the latest cutting-edge technologies to enhance your presentation, our event spaces are flexible enough to satisfy any need.

Dining

Valentino
Breakfast (daily breakfast buffet is $16.00 plus tax) Monday thru Friday 6:30am - 10am, Sat, Sun 7am - 11am. Lunch Monday thru Friday 10am - 2pm, Sat/ Sun, 11am - 2pm. Afternoon Intermezzo Monday thru Sunday 2pm - 430pm. Cocktails & Bar Fare Dinner*** Monday thru Sunday 430pm - 11 or 12am (depending upon business levels). Bar Service Sunday until 12am Monday thru Saturday until 2am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers KF
Dallas Tx
Jan 3, 2013

Great stop in houston

Excellent staff that are helpful with directions and fun things to do in Houston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaitah
Business
French Polynesia
Jun 13, 2011

Location and helpful personnel

The location is excellent, close to major highways and upscale shopping centers including Galleria. Plus, the hotel shuttle bus takes you, for free, withing 3 miles radius. The concierge is kind and happy to help you. Although the personnel in the restaurant is courteous and efficient, the atmosphere and selection of foods are not for fine dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Apr 24, 2011

Not worth the price

I stayed at Hotel Derek for one night. I was surprised to find out there was no parking, and you have to pay valet parking of $20 if I wanted to park my vehicle. Although my room was very clean, it had a connecting door, which my next room neighbor kept trying to open. The wall were very thin and I could hear my neighbors arguing, slamming doors, and returning at 2:30 a.m. I was also disappointed to find that the hotel expected us to pay for anything in the hotel- even a first aid kit! Most hotels will offer razors or other small amenities if you ask for him, but not this one! Needless to say, too expensive for what I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria, is just across the highway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shopping Partner
Business
Tyler, TX
Mar 30, 2011

Great Stay

Hotel was in perfect location for our trip. I had to do a little business while my wife went shopping at the Galleria. We also went shopping down the road on Westheimer.Also, there were plenty of eating places close to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping and eating go left form hotel on Westheimer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyLynnSchex
Business
Lafayette, LA
Mar 29, 2011

Nice, Excellent Service

this is my go-to Hotel in Houston - I never stay anywhere else! Always good price, always great service - plus it's in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The galleria is only a couple blocks away - plus they have a shuttle, in case you just don't want to walk - or you spend too much to carry back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RyanBrown76
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 14, 2011

It was OK . . . a deal in the Galleria

Overall a nice boutique hotel -- maintenance and upkeep was poor, most everything else was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
League City, TX
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic Trendy Hotel

Very modern, trendy welcome hotel. The bar had a pretty good band playing, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were very spacious. I did not give it 5 stars because I like to watch TV before going to bed and their satellite kept going out like it was not getting a good signal. Also, we got a $20.00 surprise upon checkout for valet parking that I was not aware of. Seems a little expensive for parking. Other than that, an EXCELLENT place to stay in the Galleria Area of Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston tx
Feb 20, 2011

Unbeatable for the price[...]

Took a vacation away from home to relax . Great deal[...]Had a great time and many things to do around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew T
Business
Tivoli, TX
Feb 15, 2011

Derek Valentine's

I surprised my sweetie with a night at the Derek for Valentine's. It was perfect; we've stayed many times before and consider the beds the best in Houston, at least for rent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Anvil Refuge and Bar for cocktails. The drinks are not cheap, but are recommended (or even concocted on the spot) by one of the 5 mixologists on staff, based on a short interview.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, tx
Jan 30, 2011

Don't pay for extras

The service was very basic. The room was attractive and clean, with above-average bedding. We agree with other reviewers about the mandatory valet parking--there's no way I'm paying an extra $19 a night for parking when I can park on the street three blocks away. So we hoofed it to and from the car just to avoid the swarm of valets. Not the best experience. Also--beware the $7 bottle of Fiji on the desk that is actually a stray from the minibar and not a gift. Hidden charges all over this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, ohio
Jan 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel

Very friendly staff, very nice & clean rooms. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our romantic weekend away. We will be staying again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top