$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers KF
Dallas Tx
Jan 3, 2013

Great stop in houston

Excellent staff that are helpful with directions and fun things to do in Houston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Oil Man
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2012

A Great Place to Stay in Houston.

This is a very stylish place, with comfortable rooms. The bar is a great place to hang out. Only valet parking is available, but the staff is extremely pleasant and your car is retrieved quickly. I will stay here on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Derek has a nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner (including the bar), but right next door is Le Peep for breakfast and Sullivan's Steakhouse for dinner. Both are much recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rice Transfer
Business
Boston, Mass.
Sep 24, 2012

Clean, Chic good service

Excellant service, good resturant. Parking with Valet is mandatory and expensive, $ 20 per day plus all the tipping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnniePN
Business
Burke, VA
Aug 28, 2012

Will stay again!

Location was perfect. Walking distance to the galleria, very nice hotel for the deal we got. The only downsize was its right next to the beltway so it got noisy sometimes but we slept well regardless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
n. r
Business
la
Aug 24, 2012

An experience I will not forget.

During my stay the power went out around 7:40 AM I was in my room thinking the power will soon be restored. After waiting 2 hours I decided to get out of the room and try to use the Fire Escape since no elevators were working. I was staying on the 5th floor. As I opened the Exit to enter the Fire Escape I realized they were no lights and it was dark and the doors will not stay open to give me some light, With my I phone I tried to make it to the next floor and all the time yelling for help, as I approached the 2nd floor I heard a noise and they also responded. It was the kitchen of the hotel and someone had opened the kitchen door when I realized I hade made it crawling to the second. It was a night mare I don't want to live again. As I approached the front desk I found out that the hotel had only one generator for emergency and that one had stop working also. The stairs had no Emergency light to guide the people who tried to escape. I thank God that I was capable to escape but in the event there was a fire and people were trying to move through with children or old adults, this would have been a total disaster. The Hotel has violated many Fire codes and I will never stay again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hubby Bear
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 23, 2012

weekend getaway

The experience was very good with one exception. The exception is the daily parking fee which with tax was over $20.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JessNColby
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 3, 2012

Great stay for good shopping

The staff was great and very helpful. Room was clean. It is a great location, central to the shopping in the area and easy to get to. I would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If it is a nice day, the opposite direction from the galleria features an outdoor shopping area with many of the same stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gimpytoo
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 1, 2012

Wonderful Weekend

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of Hotel Derek. We were looking for a relaxing weekend and that's exactly what we got. Room service was great, valentino's was great and the employees were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleria Shopping Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rojer
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 27, 2012

One night stand

Hotel was a bit pricey and valet parking is a pain, since the parking garage is adjacent to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Peep for breakfast is 2 doors down on Westheimer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
megbones
Business
spring texas
Jun 25, 2012

anniversary weekend

best time together well situated nice walking in the evening.staff very helpful especially concierge for recommending best places to go to.Can't wait to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoftballSuzie
Business
Maryland
Feb 10, 2012

Good, but could be better

Location is noisy, it's directly off the 610 beltway. There also seems to be hundreds of birds that hang out at all hours. I was on the 11th floor and still heard them none stop, and there were hundreds of them. Room service was ok, although they got my order wrong one night. They said they'd fix the bill, but they didn't. I had to do it myself at checkout the next morning. However, the staff was very pleasant. The doormen were helpful, but very disorganized early morning when guests (including myself) needed cabs. Even though this sounds like a negative review, the hotel is very nice and modern. Location is safe, just noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top