$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Oil Man
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2012

A Great Place to Stay in Houston.

This is a very stylish place, with comfortable rooms. The bar is a great place to hang out. Only valet parking is available, but the staff is extremely pleasant and your car is retrieved quickly. I will stay here on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Derek has a nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner (including the bar), but right next door is Le Peep for breakfast and Sullivan's Steakhouse for dinner. Both are much recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alams
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 17, 2014

Derek Hotel

Very pleased. Will stay again next time visiting Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chaz111111111
Business
Shreveport
Feb 24, 2014

Not what I paid for

I used a website to book my hotel. I paid for the standard two bed room and paid extra to get the two beds. I get to the hotel, and they say that they have no more room with two bed, but they can charge me an extra 25 a night for a roll in bed. I spend 30 extra dollars over the one king bed room and they want an extra 25 a night one top of that? I would not ever go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoppy Traveller
Business
LA
Jan 29, 2014

Great Stay and Experience

Went for girlfriend's bday, they upgraded us to a room w/ a great view. Day of arrival they offered complimentary white wine, mixed drink and small bites in the lobby for an hour. Complimentary water in fitness area. Chic design of hotel in general and room. Great customer service. Only bummer is have to pay for parking, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GregJ1993
Business
Houston
Jan 20, 2014

Great location, and very hip!

I live in Houston, so I rarely stay in hotels in the city, but it was our anniversary so we had a big night out. The Hotel Derek was a very nice choice. It has a very trendy vibe, and the hotel staff does a great job treating every guest like they are a VIP. Our room was a little on the small side, but they made great use of the space. The bed was comfortable and we definitely used it for more than just sleeping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MedicZilla
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 8, 2014

Great Value

Thank you for another amazing stay at your Houston location! I loved everything from the gym to the super clean room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Russo's NY Pizza is right down the street. They have GREAT pies!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MedicZilla
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 31, 2013

Perfect Stay

Kudos to an awesome staff for their professionalism and personal touch during my last visit. The drinks and appetizers in the evening were wonderful. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is The Grotto Restaurant. Great food and a trendy clientele.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Modiiiiiiiiii
Business
Plano, TX
Dec 29, 2013

Awesome hotel

Very nice one. I would highly recommended to anyone going to Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aicrocket
Business
San Antonio
Dec 27, 2013

What a great place to stay

This hotel is a gem. I got the hotel at a great price, and was a change from the Marriott I usually stay at. Marriotts always seem to be booked - so I tried the Hotel Derek. What a wonderful and nice hotel. It is on par with a 'W" or similar type of modern, upscale, trendy hotel. Food is VERY good - no actually excellent. While it is a bit pricey, you do get a great meal. The Chief is excellent. I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoeJack251
Business
Houston, tx
Dec 22, 2013

Hotel derek

The hotel was awesome. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. The restaurant and bar was perfect for someone like me and the party atmosphere was coll also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MISS EKJ
Business
SOUTHEAST TEXAS
Dec 16, 2013

One Night Stay

My hotel stay was very enjoyable at the Hotel Derek. I stayed one night and don't really have any complaints. The staff was very nice and the room was very clean. The decor is a little dated but the room is comfortable. There is a sense of security as you are only able to use your key card to go to your own floor. The Galleria is right across the street for a nice shopping experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top