$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Hotel Derek

4 stars
2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
156 reviews
great little hotel in great location

Nice comfortable hotel with a friendly staff; great to have a Starbucks on site; room was super... See full review

  • Rice Univ. relative
  • Nov 26, 2014
good enough for this price

I traveled to Houston to visit a friend in July 2014. this hotel is nice, pretty valuable. See full review

  • Steven Chan
  • Jul 14, 2014

Bold contemporary designs with features like hardwood and black granite floors, exposed pipes, and artwork by Arthur Meyerson ensure that Hotel Derek in Houston has a unique ambience compared with more understated accommodations. Drenched in southern hospitality, the AAA Four-Diamond award-winning restaurant serves hearty dishes like the Hangover Burger and Inverted Grilled Cheese, while chic cocktails and craft beers are available evenings at the bar. The only boutique hotel inside the Houston 610 Loop, splash out on a Penthouse Suite for floor-to-ceiling windows looking out over the Galleria, or try the urban Loft for a seating area and king-sized bed.

Key facts

  • Wedding venue accommodating groups up to 350
  • Business meeting rooms
  • Modern ballroom
  • Smoke-free
  • Terrace and splash pool
  • Starbucks on-site
  • Gym available 24/7
  • Choice between valet and self-parking
  • Chauffeured car service that operates within 3-mile radius of hotel
  • Pet-friendly (see hotel pet policy)

Neighborhood

The Derek Hotel Houston is centrally located in the heart of the city, close to the famous Galleria-which is the largest mall in Texas-as well as Greenway Plaza, meaning shopaholics are in good hands. Nature lovers can take a stroll around the trails of Houston Arboretum, while the aquarium and zoo are perfect for kids. A good selection of cultural museums, including the Museum of Fine Arts and Contemporary Arts Museum, are also situated in this neighborhood.

Hints and tips

Take advantage of the chauffeured car service operating within a three-mile radius of the Derek Hotel.

After a morning of exploration, hit the Caffeine Bar to replenish your energy with a drink mixed by the baristas, and see what concoctions you can come up with.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Derek Rooms

Business Class
Business Class King - Complimentary Local Calls, High speed internet, VIP Turndown Service, and a Welcome Amenity.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Double features: two over-sized double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, internet access - complimentary, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor King
Sky Floor King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor Double
Sky Floor Double features: two double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
When searching for a memorable alternative for your next Houston event or conference, look no further than Hotel Derek. As a high-profile hotel in a highly charged area for business, our Houston convention facilities cater to corporate business travelers by delivering friendly service in a sophisticated modern environment. Featuring more than 10,000 square feet of Houston Texas event space, Hotel Derek graciously welcomes groups from 10 to 500. Fully wired with the latest cutting-edge technologies to enhance your presentation, our event spaces are flexible enough to satisfy any need.

Dining

Valentino
Breakfast (daily breakfast buffet is $16.00 plus tax) Monday thru Friday 6:30am - 10am, Sat, Sun 7am - 11am. Lunch Monday thru Friday 10am - 2pm, Sat/ Sun, 11am - 2pm. Afternoon Intermezzo Monday thru Sunday 2pm - 430pm. Cocktails & Bar Fare Dinner*** Monday thru Sunday 430pm - 11 or 12am (depending upon business levels). Bar Service Sunday until 12am Monday thru Saturday until 2am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma Muto
Austin, Texas
Feb 11, 2013

Great beds!

The bed was incredibly comfortable. We all slept so well- it was heavenly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ibcookin57
Business
long beach, ca
Feb 11, 2013

central location

Very good location. Staff very pleasant. Room service attendant was especially thorough and nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping and restaurants in a short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelers KF
Business
Dallas Tx
Jan 3, 2013

Great stop in houston

Excellent staff that are helpful with directions and fun things to do in Houston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
XIE B
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 14, 2012

Good, but some details lacking

The Hotel Derek was nice, but I had booked a king room on this travel site, and somehow was placed in a room with two double beds. I didn't bother to straighten this out as I was too tired, but when I mentioned this upon check out, they blamed the travel site that it was booked through (this one). There were a few things that weren't up to par- a reading light beside the bed was burnt out; the mattress was ok, not amazing; and the remote for the TV wasn't fully functional; and the TV itself was pretty bad quality; and the bathroom sink drain was clogged. All in all it was nice, but could use a little work on some of the details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Super close to the Houston Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolphineem
Business
Puyallup, WA
Dec 11, 2012

Loved IT...beautiful view

I had a fantastic relaxing weekend in Houston. I actually spent the whole day Saturday in my room and it was exactlly what I needed...great room service...VERY NICE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Txvirago
Business
New Mexico
Dec 4, 2012

Beware of parking costs!

Overall our stay at Hotel Derek was pleasant. The location with relationship to shopping (The Galleria is within walking distance) is fabulous. MY BIG COMPLAINT is the cost for mandatory valet parking that is not listed anywhere. The cost is $20/day. I booked this hotel because of the value and was definitely not happy with an additional $60 plus tax in parking my car over night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Galleria I, II, and III.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
airborneANDrowdy
Business
Houston
Nov 19, 2012

Very friendly staff

Check in, and right off the bat the staff comped breakfast and upgraded up. When we got to the room, we kinda expected a larger room, but the fact they had a complementary bottle of champagne iced in the room made it all worth while. Food was great, could not have asked for a nicer stay. Was right in the heart of the galleria, lots of shopping, and eating locations around the area. was very pleased, I spoke with Jackie in reservation at the hotel, she went above, and beyond to make my stay worthwhile. Thank you hotel Derek.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfast in not included in the hotel restaurant, ask font desk to comp, they usually will.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Oil Man
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2012

A Great Place to Stay in Houston.

This is a very stylish place, with comfortable rooms. The bar is a great place to hang out. Only valet parking is available, but the staff is extremely pleasant and your car is retrieved quickly. I will stay here on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Derek has a nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner (including the bar), but right next door is Le Peep for breakfast and Sullivan's Steakhouse for dinner. Both are much recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rice Transfer
Business
Boston, Mass.
Sep 24, 2012

Clean, Chic good service

Excellant service, good resturant. Parking with Valet is mandatory and expensive, $ 20 per day plus all the tipping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnniePN
Business
Burke, VA
Aug 28, 2012

Will stay again!

Location was perfect. Walking distance to the galleria, very nice hotel for the deal we got. The only downsize was its right next to the beltway so it got noisy sometimes but we slept well regardless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
n. r
Business
la
Aug 24, 2012

An experience I will not forget.

During my stay the power went out around 7:40 AM I was in my room thinking the power will soon be restored. After waiting 2 hours I decided to get out of the room and try to use the Fire Escape since no elevators were working. I was staying on the 5th floor. As I opened the Exit to enter the Fire Escape I realized they were no lights and it was dark and the doors will not stay open to give me some light, With my I phone I tried to make it to the next floor and all the time yelling for help, as I approached the 2nd floor I heard a noise and they also responded. It was the kitchen of the hotel and someone had opened the kitchen door when I realized I hade made it crawling to the second. It was a night mare I don't want to live again. As I approached the front desk I found out that the hotel had only one generator for emergency and that one had stop working also. The stairs had no Emergency light to guide the people who tried to escape. I thank God that I was capable to escape but in the event there was a fire and people were trying to move through with children or old adults, this would have been a total disaster. The Hotel has violated many Fire codes and I will never stay again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top