$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolphineem
Puyallup, WA
Dec 11, 2012

Loved IT...beautiful view

I had a fantastic relaxing weekend in Houston. I actually spent the whole day Saturday in my room and it was exactlly what I needed...great room service...VERY NICE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian M.
Business
Kapolei
Dec 29, 2014

OK trip

Fair to middle of the road place. In the galleria area so that is nice and plenty of places to eat in close walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SINGER GIRL
Business
conroe
Dec 20, 2014

Great getaway for myself and co workers!

Loved this hotel. So trendy and not stuffy! Very 30s friendly:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pzeng
Business
Oklahoma city
Nov 30, 2014

good hotel

nice hotel,room is clean, in downtown area, good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peggymarti
Business
San Leandro, CA
Nov 30, 2014

Lot of glitz and style but but thinnly staffed

We got a comfortable and well-appointed room at a good price over the Thanksgiving holiday. The down side was on the service end. There was only one desk clerk on duty when we checked in. The first night the heat in our room did not work properly. Rather than wait for a desk staffer, I found an engineer to address the problem and it did get fixed. Had some problems with both self self parking ($21) and the valet parking ($30) overnight options. When I tried to get out of self-parking, I found my room key card did not work and had to wait too long for a staff member to lift the barrier. On the valet side, texting about our car as my husband was instructed did not result in the car getting retrieved any sooner. Ate breakfast in their restaurant on Thanksgiving morning. The food was good but the service was very scattered. For the price the Derrick offered many amenities, but service was not a strong point. room key

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samari's
Business
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Nov 30, 2014

Wonderful

We had a wonderful time and staff was terrific! Location to Galleria was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lulu2smiles
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Nov 29, 2014

Hotel Derek

We had a great experience at Hotel Derek. The staff was attentive to all of our needs. The hotel is in an ideal location within the Galleria with great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The breakfast buffet did not live up to the price but was were fortunate to have vouchers. We plan to stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJL123
Business
Houma, LA
Nov 29, 2014

Nice place to stay.

They lost our reservations and I book two rooms with two double bed and they had to give us one room with a king bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rice Univ. relative
Business
Destin, FL
Nov 26, 2014

great little hotel in great location

Nice comfortable hotel with a friendly staff; great to have a Starbucks on site; room was super comfy. Loved the Texan décor throughout. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Channelle
Business
Katy, Texas
Nov 24, 2014

Excellent getaway

The staff was very friendly! Great price for this excellent hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the Houston hot spots!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Potterman
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Nov 17, 2014

Great Hotel

This was my first stay at Hotel Derek and I was very pleasantly surprised at ambiance, decor a and friendliness of the staff. The hotel comtemporary and striking in decor and great location. Other reviews mentioned it was noises but though my room was near the elevator it was very quiet. Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Many great restaurants nearby including Trulucks for seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top