$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Hotel Derek

4 stars
2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
136 reviews
mini vacation for Houston Livestock show & Rodeo

we loved our room at the Hotel Derek the bed was nice. The view was okay ( it was still Houston).... See full review

  • Bcuzofu
  • Mar 17, 2014
Great Stay and Experience

Went for girlfriend's bday, they upgraded us to a room w/ a great view. Day of arrival they offered... See full review

  • Hoppy Traveller
  • Jan 29, 2014
Urban sophistication abounds in this elegant Houston luxury hotel

With distinctive furnishings and sumptuous decor, Hotel Derek exudes an air of urban sophistication. The hotel pairs stunning design elements with impeccable guest service. Dark wood accents, leather couches and rich fabrics throughout the lobby blend with striking details like exotic flowers and contemporary artworks. Hotel Derek is close to The Galleria Shopping Center, trendy nightspots and fine dining. ADA-compliant facilities and Wi-Fi access are available on throughout Hotel Derek.

Highlights
  • Penthouse suites with private balconies that offer cityscape views
  • Splash pool with movie wall
  • Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi access
  • Fitness center, posh restaurant and Starbucks on site
Rooms

Hotel Derek guest rooms are sophisticated spaces accented with Texas details like cowhide rugs, leather chairs and splashes of color. Every one of the 312 guest rooms, suites and business studio rooms features amenities to make guests feel at home. The hotel's rooms offer plush beds, abundant pillows, mini-bar, soft bathrobes, hair dryer, large in-room safe and coffee/tea maker. Suites feature separate living room areas, large glass desks and balconies that offer downtown views. ADA-compliant rooms are also on offer.

Property features

Hotel Derek's stylish restaurant serves innovative cuisine in a sophisticated setting. The restaurant is known for its wine list, creative dishes and red-tinged decor.

Amenities abound at Hotel Derek, including a complimentary overnight shoe shine, free newspaper delivered to guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, guest laundry facilities and in-house clothes pressing service (fees apply). Guests working in offices close to the hotel are provided with free transportation in the hotel's chauffeured, black stretch SUV.


Recreation
The 24-hour fitness center features state-of-the-art machines, including a full range of cardio and resistance training equipment by Life Fitness as well as treadmills, bicycles and stair climbers. Hotel Derek's pool area provides an oasis of relaxation. The stylish terrace features comfortable, luxurious lounge chairs and a refreshing beverage or cocktail can be delivered poolside.
Transportation

  • Houston Hobby Airport (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (30 mi/48.2 km)
  • Free transportation to offices within three-mile radius of hotel
Nearby attractions
  • The Galleria Shopping Center (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km
  • River Oaks neighborhood (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Montrose District (4 mi/ 6.4 km)
  • Bayou Place (6 mi/ 9.6 km)
  • Downtown Houston (6 mi/ 9.6 km)

Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • High-speed Wireless Internet Access



Policies and Fees

The property charges $28 per night for valet and $14 per day for day or event parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Derek Rooms

Business Class
Business Class King - Complimentary Local Calls, High speed internet, VIP Turndown Service, and a Welcome Amenity.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Double features: two over-sized double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, internet access - complimentary, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor King
Sky Floor King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor Double
Sky Floor Double features: two double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7418 -95.4568
Area served
Houston, TX.
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH): Approximate driving time is 45 minutes and distance is 30 miles. Houston Hobby Airport: Approx. time is 30 minutes and distance is about 22 miles.
Area description
Galleria (shopping, entertainment) - 2 blocks River Oaks (mansions, gardens) - 1 mile Montrose District (restaurants, clubstheaters) - 4 miles Rice University area antique shops - 5 miles Texas Medical Center - 5.5 miles Downtown Houston - 6 miles Bayou Place (entertainment complex) - 6 miles Lakewood Church - 4 miles George Brown Convention Center - 7 miles Minute Maid Park/Houston Astros - 7.5 miles Reliant Stadium/Houston Texans - 8.5 miles Sam Houston Race Park - 19 miles

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Dining

Valentino
Breakfast (daily breakfast buffet is $16.00 plus tax) Monday thru Friday 6:30am - 10am, Sat, Sun 7am - 11am. Lunch Monday thru Friday 10am - 2pm, Sat/ Sun, 11am - 2pm. Afternoon Intermezzo Monday thru Sunday 2pm - 430pm. Cocktails & Bar Fare Dinner*** Monday thru Sunday 430pm - 11 or 12am (depending upon business levels). Bar Service Sunday until 12am Monday thru Saturday until 2am.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
When searching for a memorable alternative for your next Houston event or conference, look no further than Hotel Derek. As a high-profile hotel in a highly charged area for business, our Houston convention facilities cater to corporate business travelers by delivering friendly service in a sophisticated modern environment. Featuring more than 10,000 square feet of Houston Texas event space, Hotel Derek graciously welcomes groups from 10 to 500. Fully wired with the latest cutting-edge technologies to enhance your presentation, our event spaces are flexible enough to satisfy any need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

3.9 / 5
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
JoeJack251
Houston, tx
Dec 22, 2013

Hotel derek

The hotel was awesome. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. The restaurant and bar was perfect for someone like me and the party atmosphere was coll also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
MISS EKJ
SOUTHEAST TEXAS
Dec 16, 2013

One Night Stay

My hotel stay was very enjoyable at the Hotel Derek. I stayed one night and don't really have any complaints. The staff was very nice and the room was very clean. The decor is a little dated but the room is comfortable. There is a sense of security as you are only able to use your key card to go to your own floor. The Galleria is right across the street for a nice shopping experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria is right across the street.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
Jacob Freeman
Texas
Nov 30, 2013

I really enjoied my stay in this hotel

I did enjoy my stay at hotel derek, location was perfect for me. Price was good especially with 20 %discount

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
Mr.Beard
Business
canadian,tx
Nov 26, 2013

great adult hotel

this hotel stay reminded me of my vacation in Thailand. the staff where kind and great full to see me. the hotel was clean and fresh thru out.the room it self was comfortable and quiet. you could even get it as dark as you like. which great for me.i would recommend this hotel to any mature person I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the food was great.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
Marauders
Business
Buffalo, New York
Nov 8, 2013

Great for business

Central location was beneficial for me. Great conveniences and wonderful people. Very big pion displaying kindnesses!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
jorge ro
houston galleria
Nov 4, 2013

great night, good sleep

My experience was great, everyone was smiling and everything was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
Josh Concert Guru
Norman, oklahom
Oct 23, 2013

Not that great.

Rooms are small/old but decorated in modern style...looks nice...terrible tiny/bad bathroom...gym=poor...pool was closed.. breakfast buffet $21 per person = awful, wasn't worth a dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

stay somewhere else

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
Don Julio George
Abilene, TX
Oct 22, 2013

Weekend

Really convenient to the Galleria. Terrific bed. The room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
A customer traveling sans
Spring, Texas
Oct 14, 2013

Superior Service

Hotel Derek has a stellar staff who takes attention to detail. We had a shirt dry cleaned and pants pressed and we found the clothes hanging in our rack the next day. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating and they remembered my name. The bellman went out of his way to bring our items directly to our car in our garage. We stayed for breakfast after a long night out and the manager offered me an energy drink to help me feel better. Again, very close attention to your every need. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The only thing I didn't like we're the towels. I expected them to be more soft and plush. Overall, I was highly impressed by this hotel staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

All the best restaurants, bars and clubs are within a three mike radius and a driver will take you there complimentary.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
THE HAPPY DAD
Houston
Oct 3, 2013

Great Birthday Surprise

This hotel is Great especially Jim Carey .My daughter was there for some company meetings that she had arranged .It was her Birthday on Oct. 1 so I wanted to do something special for her since she was away from her home and her family .I live in the Houston area so it wasn't hard for me to do . i contacted the hotel to order some flowers for her I was dealing with Jim Carey the new conciege .He took care of everything from arranging for the flowers to getting someone with her staff to tell her to come out to the hallway where everyone was waiting to sing her happy birthday, the hotel brought her a piece of chocolate cake . It went over GREAT Thanks Again Jim and lots of luck they got the right man for that job. Tom Ortowski

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the countries best malls The Galleria.

Back to menu Return to top