$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Hotel Derek

4 stars
2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
156 reviews
great little hotel in great location

Nice comfortable hotel with a friendly staff; great to have a Starbucks on site; room was super... See full review

  • Rice Univ. relative
  • Nov 26, 2014
good enough for this price

I traveled to Houston to visit a friend in July 2014. this hotel is nice, pretty valuable. See full review

  • Steven Chan
  • Jul 14, 2014

Bold contemporary designs with features like hardwood and black granite floors, exposed pipes, and artwork by Arthur Meyerson ensure that Hotel Derek in Houston has a unique ambience compared with more understated accommodations. Drenched in southern hospitality, the AAA Four-Diamond award-winning restaurant serves hearty dishes like the Hangover Burger and Inverted Grilled Cheese, while chic cocktails and craft beers are available evenings at the bar. The only boutique hotel inside the Houston 610 Loop, splash out on a Penthouse Suite for floor-to-ceiling windows looking out over the Galleria, or try the urban Loft for a seating area and king-sized bed.

Key facts

  • Wedding venue accommodating groups up to 350
  • Business meeting rooms
  • Modern ballroom
  • Smoke-free
  • Terrace and splash pool
  • Starbucks on-site
  • Gym available 24/7
  • Choice between valet and self-parking
  • Chauffeured car service that operates within 3-mile radius of hotel
  • Pet-friendly (see hotel pet policy)

Neighborhood

The Derek Hotel Houston is centrally located in the heart of the city, close to the famous Galleria-which is the largest mall in Texas-as well as Greenway Plaza, meaning shopaholics are in good hands. Nature lovers can take a stroll around the trails of Houston Arboretum, while the aquarium and zoo are perfect for kids. A good selection of cultural museums, including the Museum of Fine Arts and Contemporary Arts Museum, are also situated in this neighborhood.

Hints and tips

Take advantage of the chauffeured car service operating within a three-mile radius of the Derek Hotel.

After a morning of exploration, hit the Caffeine Bar to replenish your energy with a drink mixed by the baristas, and see what concoctions you can come up with.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derek also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Derek Rooms

Business Class
Business Class King - Complimentary Local Calls, High speed internet, VIP Turndown Service, and a Welcome Amenity.
Deluxe King
Deluxe King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Double features: two over-sized double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, internet access - complimentary, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, coffee/tea maker, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service (on request), extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor King
Sky Floor King features: one king bed, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.
Sky Floor Double
Sky Floor Double features: two double beds, complimentary internet access - high speed, internet access - wireless, premium TV channel(s), cable/satellite TV, pay movies, video-game console, custom bedding, climate control, air conditioning, complimentary newspaper, blackout drapes, multi-line phone, free local calls, voice mail, minibar, upgraded coffee brewers, complimentary in room water, refrigerator (on request), wake-up calls, housekeeping (daily), turndown service, extra towels/bedding in room, makeup mirror, massage - available in room, sewing kit, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, in-room safe (accommodates laptop), clock radio, desk, electronic check-out, electronic/magnetic keys, rollaway beds, cribs (infant beds) available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.6 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.2 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.3 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 4.4 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 4.4 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 4.5 mi
  • Hermann Park: 4.5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 4.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.7 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 6.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.5 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.5 mi

Dining

Valentino
Breakfast (daily breakfast buffet is $16.00 plus tax) Monday thru Friday 6:30am - 10am, Sat, Sun 7am - 11am. Lunch Monday thru Friday 10am - 2pm, Sat/ Sun, 11am - 2pm. Afternoon Intermezzo Monday thru Sunday 2pm - 430pm. Cocktails & Bar Fare Dinner*** Monday thru Sunday 430pm - 11 or 12am (depending upon business levels). Bar Service Sunday until 12am Monday thru Saturday until 2am.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
When searching for a memorable alternative for your next Houston event or conference, look no further than Hotel Derek. As a high-profile hotel in a highly charged area for business, our Houston convention facilities cater to corporate business travelers by delivering friendly service in a sophisticated modern environment. Featuring more than 10,000 square feet of Houston Texas event space, Hotel Derek graciously welcomes groups from 10 to 500. Fully wired with the latest cutting-edge technologies to enhance your presentation, our event spaces are flexible enough to satisfy any need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Nov 10, 2009

Hidden charges.

Most of my concerns in travelling to his hotel was thier "pre auth" hold on 100$ per night and no self park, the 20$ a night needed to aprk your vehicle if you were driving was not optional, [...]As such I was short about $400 for my planned weekend trip because of this oversight. I don't believe I'll be staying at hotel derek again as it's nothing special and not wroth the hassle and loss of extra funds(which btw get returned 3-5 days after checkout.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turn
Business
Austin
Sep 3, 2009

HotelD

Congested Intersection, nice amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fishing Dude
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Aug 16, 2009

Great location-Watch for Add-ons

View of downtown Houston from our room was really great. Ambiance was tech-y, but plush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indian Princess
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 4, 2009

Stay at Hotel Derek

The rooms are wonderfl and spacious, but pack lightly because there is no dresser. overall tere service was great and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kort
Business
Beaumont, tx
Jul 26, 2009

Nice

The hotel was beautiful, but we did have a problem. When booking the hotel I made sure to ask if we could get a roll away bed in our room. They assured me we could. When checking into the hotel we requested the bed and was told it would be sent up. Four hours later when we never recieved the bed I called to check on it and was told if was against fire code and could not get the roll away. I understand fire code but I would of stayed at another hotel that better fit our needs if I would of known this. We were very disapointed at the way the situation was handeled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Montana
Business
New Orleans, Louisiana
Jul 21, 2009

Great Experience

I shopped at the malls and enjoyed the night life in Houston, Tx. The Hotel Derek provided great massages and nice lobby bar for networking. This trip was a great weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammi Traveler
Business
Saint Francisville, LA
Jul 12, 2009

Hotel Derek

We enjoyed our stay and would book again at Hotel Derek. Maybe not a city view next time because of the traffic noise at night. Staff was great, food was great, location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Houston Premium outlet mall was wonderful as was the Galleria!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aby
Business
miami
Jul 4, 2009

morless

I forgot a new cd drive that I bought in best buy and when I call they did'nt find it, and I am poitive that I left it, I cold not come back to the hotel because I was going to loose mi flight, but housekeeping told me that they did not find it, and is a lie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jun 29, 2009

Houston, Hotel Derek

excellent expierence, great staff and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria is across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigbuc
Business
Houston, Tx
Jun 25, 2009

Very comfortable

The Staff was very friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top