$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Apr 24, 2011

Not worth the price

I stayed at Hotel Derek for one night. I was surprised to find out there was no parking, and you have to pay valet parking of $20 if I wanted to park my vehicle. Although my room was very clean, it had a connecting door, which my next room neighbor kept trying to open. The wall were very thin and I could hear my neighbors arguing, slamming doors, and returning at 2:30 a.m. I was also disappointed to find that the hotel expected us to pay for anything in the hotel- even a first aid kit! Most hotels will offer razors or other small amenities if you ask for him, but not this one! Needless to say, too expensive for what I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria, is just across the highway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shopping Partner
Business
Tyler, TX
Mar 30, 2011

Great Stay

Hotel was in perfect location for our trip. I had to do a little business while my wife went shopping at the Galleria. We also went shopping down the road on Westheimer.Also, there were plenty of eating places close to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping and eating go left form hotel on Westheimer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyLynnSchex
Business
Lafayette, LA
Mar 29, 2011

Nice, Excellent Service

this is my go-to Hotel in Houston - I never stay anywhere else! Always good price, always great service - plus it's in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The galleria is only a couple blocks away - plus they have a shuttle, in case you just don't want to walk - or you spend too much to carry back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RyanBrown76
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 14, 2011

It was OK . . . a deal in the Galleria

Overall a nice boutique hotel -- maintenance and upkeep was poor, most everything else was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
League City, TX
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic Trendy Hotel

Very modern, trendy welcome hotel. The bar had a pretty good band playing, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were very spacious. I did not give it 5 stars because I like to watch TV before going to bed and their satellite kept going out like it was not getting a good signal. Also, we got a $20.00 surprise upon checkout for valet parking that I was not aware of. Seems a little expensive for parking. Other than that, an EXCELLENT place to stay in the Galleria Area of Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston tx
Feb 20, 2011

Unbeatable for the price[...]

Took a vacation away from home to relax . Great deal[...]Had a great time and many things to do around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew T
Business
Tivoli, TX
Feb 15, 2011

Derek Valentine's

I surprised my sweetie with a night at the Derek for Valentine's. It was perfect; we've stayed many times before and consider the beds the best in Houston, at least for rent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Anvil Refuge and Bar for cocktails. The drinks are not cheap, but are recommended (or even concocted on the spot) by one of the 5 mixologists on staff, based on a short interview.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, tx
Jan 30, 2011

Don't pay for extras

The service was very basic. The room was attractive and clean, with above-average bedding. We agree with other reviewers about the mandatory valet parking--there's no way I'm paying an extra $19 a night for parking when I can park on the street three blocks away. So we hoofed it to and from the car just to avoid the swarm of valets. Not the best experience. Also--beware the $7 bottle of Fiji on the desk that is actually a stray from the minibar and not a gift. Hidden charges all over this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, ohio
Jan 22, 2011

Wonderful hotel

Very friendly staff, very nice & clean rooms. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our romantic weekend away. We will be staying again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 17, 2011

WONDERFUL!

The staff was amazing, friendly and on top of things. The room was excellent. We will def be staying here again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top