$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enen
san antonio rx
Mar 25, 2013

funtastic

we have great time!! very good service!!nice hotel to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franny
Business
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Sep 13, 2011

Seven Minute Walk to the Galleria

If you're looking for comfort and service, along with proximity to the third largest shopping mall in the U.S., this is the place. A great staff, and a world-class restaurant on site, as well as lots of other excellent restaurants, in all price ranges, nearby. Whether you're in Houston for business or pleasure, you won't be disappointed. One word of caution, though: The public spaces were over-air conditioned, so bring appropriate attire if you're going to spend any time in the hotel outside your room. We were very cold, and the outdoor temperature was in the 90's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat in the hotel restaurant without spending a fortune, choose from the Tapas Menu in the Vinbar. Excellent food too.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandman24
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Romantic Getaway

WOW, excellent staff and room service. The a/c sure does work well it was cold but great to snuggle with that special person.. The V is great and it has live jazz band that we loved and you didn't have to leave the grounds really if you there to relax as we were. The only thing that got me was there is not public parking its all vallet but when its busy to turn into the hotel can be trouble but there is a policeman to stop traffic which was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The V has everything you need from the salads to dessert. Plus its a bar at night.

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smennings
Business
College Station, TX, USA
Sep 11, 2011

A nice deal and a nice stay

We decided to try out Hotel Derek because we got a great deal on the room. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. It is a fun, happening hotel in a great location. We were close to the Galleria area, near some great restaurants. The room was nice. The walls are a little thin, so you definitely hear noise from the surrounding rooms. Luckily, the hotel staff was very accommodating and quickly assigned us a different room. We didn't have a great TV selection (but who needs that when there's plenty to do in Houston) and the workout room is also a nice amenity. We enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerT
Business
New Britain, CT, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Hotel

I went in not expecting as nice and trendy of a hotel as I got. The room was huge and comfortable, the staff great, and asides from a somewhat small bathroom, the place was significantly beyond the value amount I paid for it. I love the wrap around couch to boot. Definitely a good place to stay, especially with the great location. Only draw back to the location is the traffic when trying to enter/exit the hotel lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seoul, South Korea
Sep 3, 2011

Comportable room and great location

I stayed Derek during my business trip in Houson. Service was quite good and they had comportable rooms also. I have positve consideration to stay Derek again whenever I have a chance to visit Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tata
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Great Weekend !!!!!

We had ask for a room with king bed was given a room with 2 beds,when ask they took care of it really quick GREAT VISIT !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get a room with a view of the city looks great at night

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romantically Innovative
Business
Beaumont, TX, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Texas charm meets European chic!

The hotel was absolutley breathe taking. The staff was overly hospitable, with everything you need being merely a phone call away. The location is prime for the galleria area of Houston and easily accessible to major highways. My girlfriend and i went here for a romantic getaway for the weekend and its was everything we wanted or could imagine. Thanks for the super deal ORBITZ!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
W.H.W.
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Poor weekend experience

Checked in 3:30 PM Saturday, August 13. Full house. With no mention at check-in, we were shunted to the wheel-chair accessible room (1005). One pillow, two (small) towels and one bath sheet, burnt out light bulbs left in the hanging penant light, one robe. Clearly the room supplies had been stripped in this neglected room. Twenty minutes later, we got housekeeping to resupply the room. Too late for us to demand another room since we were headed out to a wedding. Sad experience. I remember the Derek on many previous occasions when the hotel staff provided a flawless experience. Hope the management gets it together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Jul 4, 2011

GREAT WEEKEND OPTION FOR SHOPPING

GREAT EXPERIENCE, I LIKE THE SERVICE, SPECIALLY FROM THE PROPLE FROM THE VALET PARKING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Florida
Jun 20, 2011

As advertised

The room looked exactly as it did in the pictures. Everything was clean. The guests were sophisticated. It was as advertised. The only thing I will say is do not pay extra for a "view". The building is not very tall and there is a highway on one side and a parking lot on the other. Comfort and elegance wise, it is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top