$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
airborneANDrowdy
Houston
Nov 19, 2012

Very friendly staff

Check in, and right off the bat the staff comped breakfast and upgraded up. When we got to the room, we kinda expected a larger room, but the fact they had a complementary bottle of champagne iced in the room made it all worth while. Food was great, could not have asked for a nicer stay. Was right in the heart of the galleria, lots of shopping, and eating locations around the area. was very pleased, I spoke with Jackie in reservation at the hotel, she went above, and beyond to make my stay worthwhile. Thank you hotel Derek.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfast in not included in the hotel restaurant, ask font desk to comp, they usually will.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
W.H.W.
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Poor weekend experience

Checked in 3:30 PM Saturday, August 13. Full house. With no mention at check-in, we were shunted to the wheel-chair accessible room (1005). One pillow, two (small) towels and one bath sheet, burnt out light bulbs left in the hanging penant light, one robe. Clearly the room supplies had been stripped in this neglected room. Twenty minutes later, we got housekeeping to resupply the room. Too late for us to demand another room since we were headed out to a wedding. Sad experience. I remember the Derek on many previous occasions when the hotel staff provided a flawless experience. Hope the management gets it together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Jul 4, 2011

GREAT WEEKEND OPTION FOR SHOPPING

GREAT EXPERIENCE, I LIKE THE SERVICE, SPECIALLY FROM THE PROPLE FROM THE VALET PARKING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Florida
Jun 20, 2011

As advertised

The room looked exactly as it did in the pictures. Everything was clean. The guests were sophisticated. It was as advertised. The only thing I will say is do not pay extra for a "view". The building is not very tall and there is a highway on one side and a parking lot on the other. Comfort and elegance wise, it is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Jun 15, 2011

Hidden secrets....

The hotel was interesting and lovely, bell service, desk service, car service is all great...there are many people to assist you. The bar had interesting drinks and a nice atmosphere...the pool area was very small but calming, I enjoyed it there. We had a wedding reception and the cocktail area and reception area were lovely, we even had a baby grande for some tunes. The service was fair, the food was good. They took excellent care of the bride and groom. A bit of a line for drinks because one person was doing all of the work, while another employee watched.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Peep was an awesome food venue, behind the hotel for breakfast, brunch or lunch. A bland and cold breakfast buffet for two at Hotel Derek was over 40 bucks. Healthy, fresh, great food is regular price for a short walk away. The eggs benedict was fab! Also, Derek resturant was terribly slow and you pay many, many taxes for hotel, daily parking with taxes, room service with 20% added and a $3.00 fee...You do need a good deal on the room to survive the fees and taxes when all is said and done. One of the members of my party said they did the math and you ended up paying around 25% taxes on the whole thing. Big City, what can you say. Just be prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaitah
Business
French Polynesia
Jun 13, 2011

Location and helpful personnel

The location is excellent, close to major highways and upscale shopping centers including Galleria. Plus, the hotel shuttle bus takes you, for free, withing 3 miles radius. The concierge is kind and happy to help you. Although the personnel in the restaurant is courteous and efficient, the atmosphere and selection of foods are not for fine dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
Apr 24, 2011

Not worth the price

I stayed at Hotel Derek for one night. I was surprised to find out there was no parking, and you have to pay valet parking of $20 if I wanted to park my vehicle. Although my room was very clean, it had a connecting door, which my next room neighbor kept trying to open. The wall were very thin and I could hear my neighbors arguing, slamming doors, and returning at 2:30 a.m. I was also disappointed to find that the hotel expected us to pay for anything in the hotel- even a first aid kit! Most hotels will offer razors or other small amenities if you ask for him, but not this one! Needless to say, too expensive for what I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria, is just across the highway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shopping Partner
Business
Tyler, TX
Mar 30, 2011

Great Stay

Hotel was in perfect location for our trip. I had to do a little business while my wife went shopping at the Galleria. We also went shopping down the road on Westheimer.Also, there were plenty of eating places close to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping and eating go left form hotel on Westheimer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyLynnSchex
Business
Lafayette, LA
Mar 29, 2011

Nice, Excellent Service

this is my go-to Hotel in Houston - I never stay anywhere else! Always good price, always great service - plus it's in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The galleria is only a couple blocks away - plus they have a shuttle, in case you just don't want to walk - or you spend too much to carry back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RyanBrown76
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 14, 2011

It was OK . . . a deal in the Galleria

Overall a nice boutique hotel -- maintenance and upkeep was poor, most everything else was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
League City, TX
Mar 6, 2011

Fantastic Trendy Hotel

Very modern, trendy welcome hotel. The bar had a pretty good band playing, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were very spacious. I did not give it 5 stars because I like to watch TV before going to bed and their satellite kept going out like it was not getting a good signal. Also, we got a $20.00 surprise upon checkout for valet parking that I was not aware of. Seems a little expensive for parking. Other than that, an EXCELLENT place to stay in the Galleria Area of Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top