$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gimpytoo
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 1, 2012

Wonderful Weekend

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of Hotel Derek. We were looking for a relaxing weekend and that's exactly what we got. Room service was great, valentino's was great and the employees were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleria Shopping Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rojer
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 27, 2012

One night stand

Hotel was a bit pricey and valet parking is a pain, since the parking garage is adjacent to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Peep for breakfast is 2 doors down on Westheimer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
megbones
Business
spring texas
Jun 25, 2012

anniversary weekend

best time together well situated nice walking in the evening.staff very helpful especially concierge for recommending best places to go to.Can't wait to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoftballSuzie
Business
Maryland
Feb 10, 2012

Good, but could be better

Location is noisy, it's directly off the 610 beltway. There also seems to be hundreds of birds that hang out at all hours. I was on the 11th floor and still heard them none stop, and there were hundreds of them. Room service was ok, although they got my order wrong one night. They said they'd fix the bill, but they didn't. I had to do it myself at checkout the next morning. However, the staff was very pleasant. The doormen were helpful, but very disorganized early morning when guests (including myself) needed cabs. Even though this sounds like a negative review, the hotel is very nice and modern. Location is safe, just noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RMS2012
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Very noisey from I-610

Stay away from this hotel. Rooms on the front side of the hotel get way too much noise from cars and trucks passing by on I-610. There are many other better choices in the Galleria area. Wired and wireless Internet also did not work. I had to use my tethered Android phone as a back up for Internet service on my laptop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
President
Business
LA CA
Sep 30, 2011

Stylish hotel

Great design, blending traditional 50's chic with all the modern amenities. Great rooms. Great use of space. Somehow the popcorn ceilings seem acceptable. Restaurant and bar a bit pricey, but overall good value for money and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cassan
Business
Austin
Sep 19, 2011

Derek

Fantastic location if you need to be in the Galleria area. If you need to go to midtown, expect cab rides from 12-15 dollars - which I did not love - but just a heads up. Parking overnight is $19 pn - unless you have a hybrid - I really appreciated the half off for the hybrid. The bar crowd was not great. The bar could be made to be a little cozier - seemed TGIFriday or Chilli's like - not swanky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandman24
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Romantic Getaway

WOW, excellent staff and room service. The a/c sure does work well it was cold but great to snuggle with that special person.. The V is great and it has live jazz band that we loved and you didn't have to leave the grounds really if you there to relax as we were. The only thing that got me was there is not public parking its all vallet but when its busy to turn into the hotel can be trouble but there is a policeman to stop traffic which was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The V has everything you need from the salads to dessert. Plus its a bar at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franny
Business
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Sep 13, 2011

Seven Minute Walk to the Galleria

If you're looking for comfort and service, along with proximity to the third largest shopping mall in the U.S., this is the place. A great staff, and a world-class restaurant on site, as well as lots of other excellent restaurants, in all price ranges, nearby. Whether you're in Houston for business or pleasure, you won't be disappointed. One word of caution, though: The public spaces were over-air conditioned, so bring appropriate attire if you're going to spend any time in the hotel outside your room. We were very cold, and the outdoor temperature was in the 90's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat in the hotel restaurant without spending a fortune, choose from the Tapas Menu in the Vinbar. Excellent food too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandman24
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Romantic Getaway

WOW, excellent staff and room service. The a/c sure does work well it was cold but great to snuggle with that special person.. The V is great and it has live jazz band that we loved and you didn't have to leave the grounds really if you there to relax as we were. The only thing that got me was there is not public parking its all vallet but when its busy to turn into the hotel can be trouble but there is a policeman to stop traffic which was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The V has everything you need from the salads to dessert. Plus its a bar at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top