$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Hotel Derek

4 stars
View map of 2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derek

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smennings
Business
College Station, TX, USA
Sep 11, 2011

A nice deal and a nice stay

We decided to try out Hotel Derek because we got a great deal on the room. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. It is a fun, happening hotel in a great location. We were close to the Galleria area, near some great restaurants. The room was nice. The walls are a little thin, so you definitely hear noise from the surrounding rooms. Luckily, the hotel staff was very accommodating and quickly assigned us a different room. We didn't have a great TV selection (but who needs that when there's plenty to do in Houston) and the workout room is also a nice amenity. We enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerT
Business
New Britain, CT, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Hotel

I went in not expecting as nice and trendy of a hotel as I got. The room was huge and comfortable, the staff great, and asides from a somewhat small bathroom, the place was significantly beyond the value amount I paid for it. I love the wrap around couch to boot. Definitely a good place to stay, especially with the great location. Only draw back to the location is the traffic when trying to enter/exit the hotel lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seoul, South Korea
Sep 3, 2011

Comportable room and great location

I stayed Derek during my business trip in Houson. Service was quite good and they had comportable rooms also. I have positve consideration to stay Derek again whenever I have a chance to visit Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tata
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Great Weekend !!!!!

We had ask for a room with king bed was given a room with 2 beds,when ask they took care of it really quick GREAT VISIT !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Get a room with a view of the city looks great at night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romantically Innovative
Business
Beaumont, TX, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Texas charm meets European chic!

The hotel was absolutley breathe taking. The staff was overly hospitable, with everything you need being merely a phone call away. The location is prime for the galleria area of Houston and easily accessible to major highways. My girlfriend and i went here for a romantic getaway for the weekend and its was everything we wanted or could imagine. Thanks for the super deal ORBITZ!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
W.H.W.
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Poor weekend experience

Checked in 3:30 PM Saturday, August 13. Full house. With no mention at check-in, we were shunted to the wheel-chair accessible room (1005). One pillow, two (small) towels and one bath sheet, burnt out light bulbs left in the hanging penant light, one robe. Clearly the room supplies had been stripped in this neglected room. Twenty minutes later, we got housekeeping to resupply the room. Too late for us to demand another room since we were headed out to a wedding. Sad experience. I remember the Derek on many previous occasions when the hotel staff provided a flawless experience. Hope the management gets it together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Jul 4, 2011

GREAT WEEKEND OPTION FOR SHOPPING

GREAT EXPERIENCE, I LIKE THE SERVICE, SPECIALLY FROM THE PROPLE FROM THE VALET PARKING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Florida
Jun 20, 2011

As advertised

The room looked exactly as it did in the pictures. Everything was clean. The guests were sophisticated. It was as advertised. The only thing I will say is do not pay extra for a "view". The building is not very tall and there is a highway on one side and a parking lot on the other. Comfort and elegance wise, it is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Jun 15, 2011

Hidden secrets....

The hotel was interesting and lovely, bell service, desk service, car service is all great...there are many people to assist you. The bar had interesting drinks and a nice atmosphere...the pool area was very small but calming, I enjoyed it there. We had a wedding reception and the cocktail area and reception area were lovely, we even had a baby grande for some tunes. The service was fair, the food was good. They took excellent care of the bride and groom. A bit of a line for drinks because one person was doing all of the work, while another employee watched.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Peep was an awesome food venue, behind the hotel for breakfast, brunch or lunch. A bland and cold breakfast buffet for two at Hotel Derek was over 40 bucks. Healthy, fresh, great food is regular price for a short walk away. The eggs benedict was fab! Also, Derek resturant was terribly slow and you pay many, many taxes for hotel, daily parking with taxes, room service with 20% added and a $3.00 fee...You do need a good deal on the room to survive the fees and taxes when all is said and done. One of the members of my party said they did the math and you ended up paying around 25% taxes on the whole thing. Big City, what can you say. Just be prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derek

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaitah
Business
French Polynesia
Jun 13, 2011

Location and helpful personnel

The location is excellent, close to major highways and upscale shopping centers including Galleria. Plus, the hotel shuttle bus takes you, for free, withing 3 miles radius. The concierge is kind and happy to help you. Although the personnel in the restaurant is courteous and efficient, the atmosphere and selection of foods are not for fine dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top