$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

3 stars
8111 KIRBY DR., HOUSTON, TX 77054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
65 reviews
Rodeo Trip

Great place to stay and very convenient to Reliant Stadium. Rooms were great See full review

  • R Mom
  • Mar 14, 2014
close to MD Anderson

a great location,Great shuttle to and from MD Anderson takes long time ( more than 45 minites ) to... See full review

  • Anazi
  • May 28, 2014
Convenient Houston hotel with access to Museum District
Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area is conveniently located near Reliant Park is conveniently located off Loop 610 and boasts back gate access to Reliant Stadium. Making the location even more attractive, Holiday Inn Houston South Loop is minutes from the Houston Museum District, Texas Medical Center as well as great Houston dining, shopping and nightlife. The hotel is comfortable, bright and modern. A partial renovation completed in 2010 added new guest room carpeting and upgraded TVs.
Highlights
  • Free parking for guests
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Back gate access to Reliant Stadium
  • Near Houston's Metro Light Rail
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi

Rooms

All guest rooms at Holiday Inn Reliant Park Houston were recently renovated, meaning guests will enjoy modern, spacious comfort in every room. All rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi, coffeemaker, microwave, mini-refrigerator, granite floors in the bathrooms as well as a separate granite vanity area. At the Executive Club suite level, guests can enjoy extra amenities like incoming and outgoing fax service, turndown service and a fully-equipped work desk.

Visitors to Holiday Inn Houston Reliant Park Area can get their day off to a great start with breakfast at the Bayou Grill, enjoy a ballgame in the afternoon and grab a refreshing drink later in the day at the Sports Page Lounge. The Sports Page Lounge also offers lunch and dinner options, with many TVs showing local and national sports games.

 

The hotel is minutes from the Houston Museum District, Texas Medical Center as well as downtown Houston dining, shopping and nightlife. Guests can catch the Metro Light Rail, located only a mile from the hotel, for easy access to downtown Houston's entertainment areas.

Transportation
  • Hobby Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (29 mi/46.6 km)

 

Nearby attractions
  • Reliant Stadium (0.2 mi/0.3)
  • Astrodome (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Houston Zoo (3 mi/5 km)
  • Meyerland Shopping Center (4 mi/6 km)
  • Willow Meadows (4 mi/6 km)
Business
  • 2,300-square-foot ballroom available
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

29.6904 -95.4112
Nearby airports
Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 29.00, MI; Hobby Airport, (HOU), 11.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Reliant Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.9 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.9 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.7 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 3.4 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Beer Can House: 5.1 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 5.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5.5 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.6 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.8 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.7 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.9 mi
  • Wortham Center: 20 mi

Dining

Bayou Grille
Bayou Grille offers casual dining featuring American favorites for breakfast and lunch. Our smiling staff will help you wake up for the day with a hot cup of coffee and fresh breakfast favorites in a warm, family atmosphere. Bayou Grille located at the
Sports Page Lounge
Our Sports Page Lounge is open from 4:00 pm to 12:00am. The Sports Page offers casual dining options until 10:00pm nightly, and bar service until 12am. Happy hour drink prices offered from 4:30pm to 7:00pm.
Olive Garden
Italian Cusine
Pappadeaux Seafood
Seafood Cuisine with French Quarter Flavors. Also offer Chicken and Steak Entrees
Sports Page
Casual sports bar that serves dinner and beverages from 4pm until 11pm, based upon demand. Menu includes American, Tex-Mex, and Mediterranean items.
Cody's in Rice Village
Jazz Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 65
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KStar1230
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2013

Save your money (and your health)

One word: Appalling. This is the first review I've written that I have literally nothing positive to report. I arrived late last Sunday evening for a conference I would be attending Monday-Thursday at the convention center. This was rated a 3 star hotel so I assumed it would be 3 star quality and was willing to pay $169 a night. Long story short, upon entering my room, I immediately noticed the bathroom was filthy, hardly being wiped down. As I started to inspect the room, I noticed spots on the wall in several places that had a very similar resemblance dried blood. I did end up staying the evening but had the lights on and "slept" fully clothed on top of the covers for fear of what I would find under the sheets. When I complained in the morning, the GM came to my room, and I showed her the several blood like stains on the wall and the grime all over the bathroom and the coffee tables. She acknowledged the stains but did not apologize once. Moreover, she did not try to get me to stay or to upgrade my room and literally said "We can refund your money for the rest of the week but you're paying for last night and check out time is now." She literally kicked me out and would not refund my money for the evening I risked my life and health to be there. Thank goodness I had family locally as all other hotels were sold out and I was able to stay with them last week. Unfortunately I did not read the other reviews prior to booking this room but they are pretty consistent and its clear this hotel has little intention to trying to remedy the situation. Save your money and your health. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob the business traveler
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 20, 2013

Not the best holiday inn

The room had a bad smell like damp dirty clothes! There was all this black mold under the sink faucet knob, you could tell they just did a very superficial cleaning. I didn't feel very welcomed by the staff either and the convenience shop in the lobby couldn't provide me with a real receipt with the name of the business for my expenses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AJOH
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 4, 2012

My experience

The room had a bad smell to it (like damp carpet). Bed linens had a stain on them and there was an apple stem on the floor. The location and price worked for me. I would not make this hotel a first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 29, 2011

Great location

Employees were very pleasant, room was as nice as I hoped it would be, bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 29, 2011

Great location

Employees were very pleasant, room was as nice as I hoped it would be, bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
silvere
Business
arizona
Jul 13, 2009

hotel houston holiday inn

up on check out--did not show that we had already paid thru orbitz---made some delay for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
silvere
Business
arizona
Jul 13, 2009

hotel houston holiday inn

up on check out--did not show that we had already paid thru orbitz---made some delay for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chemo patient
Business
atlanta, georgia
Jun 17, 2009

past her prime

This place is fine if you get it on a good deal with someone like Orbitz. I've stayed there 4 times now, but only on a "deal." Would not pay more than 65$/night for. Its always something - smelly room. Phones weren't working at all once, and another time, the connection was awful - I think I got disconnected. Lights went out for about 20 min. (thunderstorm - wasn't really their fault, I suppose). Ice machine on floor wasn't working. Just seems like its always something. Hotel restaurant is no bargain, and very very average in terms of quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chemo patient
Business
atlanta, georgia
Jun 17, 2009

past her prime

This place is fine if you get it on a good deal with someone like Orbitz. I've stayed there 4 times now, but only on a "deal." Would not pay more than 65$/night for. Its always something - smelly room. Phones weren't working at all once, and another time, the connection was awful - I think I got disconnected. Lights went out for about 20 min. (thunderstorm - wasn't really their fault, I suppose). Ice machine on floor wasn't working. Just seems like its always something. Hotel restaurant is no bargain, and very very average in terms of quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn HOUSTON RELIANT PARK AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frustrated work traveller
Business
Los Angele, CA
May 26, 2009

customer service????

the overall all stay wasn't bad. The guy that checked me in was obviously inexperienced and as a result, the hotel charged me the stay in addition to Orbitz. it's been 3 days since i left the hotel, and after many many calls to their accounting department i still haven't been able to resolve the issue. I've been leaving messages for the past 3 days with contact information, because so far i've only been able to talk to answering machines. Seems like nobody works there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top