$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

3 stars
1810 Bell Street, Houston, TX 77003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
31 reviews
Mustafa

stayed for a day, and it was OK, may be price was little higher, but OK See full review

  • mdmust4u
  • Jan 28, 2014
Except wi-fi and pool in plain view

liked amenities except that the pool is in plain view from the elevators and breakfast room.The... See full review

  • Liby
  • Jan 10, 2014
On behalf of the Management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown / Convention Center I want to express our gratitude for choosing us in Houston. We are always looking for ways to improve our service to you, our valued guest. We appreciate the fact that you want to stay with us, and if there is anything we can do better to serve your needs or make your stay more enjoyable, please feel free to inform us of how we can help.

Hotel Map

29.7484 -95.361
Nearby airports
Bush Intercontinental Airport of Houston, (IAH), 21.70, MI; Willliam P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 9.50, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Toyota Center: 0.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 1.1 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 1.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 1.1 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 1.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.5 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

Kim Son
A great Chinese and Vietnamese restaurant located just a couple of blocks away from the hotel that does offer delivery as well.
Vic & Anthony's
The best steakhouse in town!
Pappas Bar-B-Q
The finest Bar B Q Texas has to offer
Josephines
Pasta, chicken parmasean, you'll think you've died and gone to Little Italy!
China Garden
Delicious chinese food and walking distance!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 31
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grad Studen Derek
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 4, 2012

Good for the convention center

It's its very comfortable and clean. It had a nice pool and breakfast. The staff was great. The one downside is that they do not have a shuttle to Hobby Airport which was slightly disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Fish has great sushi there. It can be a little pricy, but its a great deal. Great for a jr level expense report!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kym supee
Business
london
Sep 7, 2012

business trip at George brown convention hall

good location where i can just walk over. overall experiecne was good except the breakfast. it was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to George Brown convention hall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, tX
Jul 20, 2011

OK

Found 2 roaches in my room, they charge 10 dollars for parking, and parking is horrible. Key cards are horrible other than that its your typical HIE, staff is nice but not overly out of their way nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Feb 14, 2011

Too far, too close. Cautious stomach.

Attending a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center, I figured myself that the hotel is too close to go driving and too far to have a nice walk. The bedroom is almost OK. I really hate the carpet in the hotels and I am always reluctant to watch TV when the remote is greasy. Now, do not expect having a nice breakfast. The buffet is of poor qulity and really small. Employees are nice but few.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spencer's steakhouse is really nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay with Mary Kay
Business
Willmar, MN
Jan 16, 2011

Great location & customer service!

Great location & clean. Most important - excellent customer service. The staff was friendly & efficient. Enjoyed the breakfast, fitness center & pool. It was a very nice touch to have cookies & milk each day at 4:00, the little candy bars in the room and the little gift bag upon check-in. Thank you - we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A convenient location near the Convention Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 18, 2009

Great location near Conference Center

Came to Houston for a business meeting at the Brown Conference Center. The Holiday Inn was just two blocks away. Continental breakfast was included. Hotel is on the edge of the downtown district. Hotel was quite, free internet access. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 27, 2009

Good business hotel; not a vacation spot

We were in town for a week-long seminar and booked through Orbitz. I am usually not terribly optimistic that preferences entered on web-based reservation systems will be noted, but right at check-in, all our preferences--late check-in, double beds, non-smoking, adjacent rooms, etc. were honored. The staff were responsive and professional. When I complained that the fitness room temperature was too hot, they worked to remedy the problem, even finding a fan to circulate air until they could get the thermostat working. The daily breakfast bar was plentiful, with several healthy options. The rooms were clean, and the beds and linens were comfortable, even luxurious. It was really nice to have free wifi in our rooms, too! My biggest concern about the hotel was that its location made me feel uncomfortable. When we arrived, there were Houston bicycle police in the parking lot, and we saw them there regularly, which was nice, because there were many signs posted -- every 8-10 feet in a small front parking lot--advising guests not to leave valuables in the car. While the Toyota Center is one block to the north, the Salvation Army and a men's shelter are one block in the other directions. Needless to say, the three women in my group were glad we had rented a car to get to restaurants and sights in the evenings during the week. When the fitness room thermostat was on the fritz, I didn't feel as though running through the "neighborhood" was a viable alternative, for safety reasons. There is also considerable background highway noise throughout the night from Rte. 59, which runs right by the hotel. Having said that, it was an affordable, clean, and professional option in an urban setting. I wouldn't stay there for a vacation, but it was a good option for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I'm not sure that "entertainment" is the best category for this suggestion, but our seminar was at the Houston Holocaust Museum, which is a powerful afternoon trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wushu27
Business
Memphis
May 13, 2009

Very Nice

The room was comfortable and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. I just wish there were a restaurant in the hotel itself, although there were several area restaurants that delivered directly to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The George R. Brown Convention center is 2 short blocks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 11, 2007

Good value

The room was big and internet connection fast. I did have a handicap room which had wider doors. I don't know if all other rooms were in the same condition. The nearest restaurant was at the Hilton which was a bummer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the convention center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top