$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 14, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

3 stars
1810 Bell Street, Houston, TX 77003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
34 reviews
Marathon getaway

The hotel is a prefect location for both Rocket basketball game as well as Astros games. If you're... See full review

  • Marathon runner Walt
  • Jan 20, 2015
Very close to everything

I loved the location of this hotel. It was a nice stay See full review

  • M.a.l.
  • Jan 6, 2015
On behalf of the Management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown / Convention Center I want to express our gratitude for choosing us in Houston. We are always looking for ways to improve our service to you, our valued guest. We appreciate the fact that you want to stay with us, and if there is anything we can do better to serve your needs or make your stay more enjoyable, please feel free to inform us of how we can help.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Toyota Center: 0.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 1.1 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 1.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 1.1 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 1.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.5 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

Kim Son
A great Chinese and Vietnamese restaurant located just a couple of blocks away from the hotel that does offer delivery as well.
Vic & Anthony's
The best steakhouse in town!
Pappas Bar-B-Q
The finest Bar B Q Texas has to offer
Josephines
Pasta, chicken parmasean, you'll think you've died and gone to Little Italy!
China Garden
Delicious chinese food and walking distance!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Won't be back
Business
Michigan
Aug 31, 2012

Dirty

I was not impressed by this hotel, and I would not recommend it, nor stay at the hotel again. It was right on the freeway and very loud. Even at night. I didn't feel safe in the hotel. The back doors were always open, and it wasn't in a very safe area. I was uncomfortable coming in late in the evening. The parking was dimly lit. My room and bed were clean, but the rest of the hotel looked rather tired and unclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RONNI2012
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Holiday Inn ...Wow!

This hotel was not all that at all. We had no microwave, but the other rooms did. The staff did not even know it. Had to take the food downstairs to the employee microwave. One water bug in my room, the came right up to handle that...Just couldn't get comfortable in this room...This hotel needs a little bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Feb 14, 2011

Too far, too close. Cautious stomach.

Attending a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center, I figured myself that the hotel is too close to go driving and too far to have a nice walk. The bedroom is almost OK. I really hate the carpet in the hotels and I am always reluctant to watch TV when the remote is greasy. Now, do not expect having a nice breakfast. The buffet is of poor qulity and really small. Employees are nice but few.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spencer's steakhouse is really nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy, TX
Jan 31, 2010

Uncooperative & undertrained customer se

We only stayed for about 10 minutes. We walked into a different room than what we thought we had booked. We went to the front desk to see if we could upgrade to a "suite" but they had none available. I then asked if we could purchase the adjoining room to accomadate our children and we wre told it was "out of order". So with no options left, I asked for extra blankets & pillows to arrange sleeping on the floor. (We were given two thin blue blankets & no pillows.) At this point we went back up to the room, got our kids, gathered our belongings, & returned the room keys and left. I have never experinced such unprofessional & unhelpful staff at a hotel! Why would you not move our entire party to adifferent room with an adjoining room? That would be another room sold, right? More rooms per party, more sales! It doesn't take a genius! Well, it was a blessing in diguise. We ended up at a much nicer hotel with appropriate accomadations in one room for all of us at the price I paid for 2 beds at Holiday Inn Express. Definately, check all your options before choosing this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WSAnderson
Business
Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Overall Disappointment

There were two reasons that I spent a little more money to book this hotel rather than a more affordable one. First reason- the indoor pool. I have a 2 year old that loves to swim, and was looking forward to being able to swim without being in the direct 110 degree Texas heat. The first day we went to the pool, it was hot. Not lukewarm.... HOT. I've never been so uncomfortable in a pool. Despite this, we came back the next day... and the pool was drained- I assume to work on whatever the problem was. So the #1 reason i booked this hotel was a complete bust. The second reason was because I thought it was a central location to a lot of kids attractions. It's really not that close to the Aquarium or Children's museum. It is very close to the convention center though, so if that's what you're here for- this is a great location. Also, the hotel is doing some pretty heavy construction... inside and outside. We were woken up at 6:30am every day by workers right outside of our window. They were also doing work in the lobby and breakfast areas that prevented you from walking through them. To get to our car, we had to use the back entrance and walk around the entire hotel because of the lobby being unusable. I feel like these are all temporary issues, but I was here at the wrong time. The pool being so awful really disappointed me- and the construction was just an annoyance. Before you book, call to see if remodeling is done and if the pool is in good shape. IF so, this would be a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RONNI2012
Business
Houston, TX, USA
May 14, 2012

Mother's Day Get Away

Okay, so my wife and I thought we would check in on Saturday and out on Sunday for a short mother's day get away. Customer Service was great, room was average, there was no microwave in the room which night staff did not know about. There was also a coach roach in our bathroom. Yet overall, everything that had questions about or help with the hotel staff was there with quick customer service. So, overall the hotel was average. Oh, the pool was nice, but too much chemical in the hot tub, exspecially when cutting it on to bubble, OMG!!! I thought my noses was going to fall off.lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happimommy
Business
Texas
Aug 15, 2009

Nice and Simple, Great Downtown location

Great no frills hotel. Basic rooms, comfortable beds. No restaurant or gift shop. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely the place to stay if your going to the Toyota Center!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, tX
Jul 20, 2011

OK

Found 2 roaches in my room, they charge 10 dollars for parking, and parking is horrible. Key cards are horrible other than that its your typical HIE, staff is nice but not overly out of their way nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Many, La
Sep 22, 2009

close to ballpark

hotel is overpriced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

close to minute maid park & convention center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 18, 2010

Good Stay

The staff was very nice and helpful to give us directions and some hints to when to go to certain events. The in door pool was nice for the time of the year (March). The rooms were clean, the only thing that I didn't really like was the carpet. It just seemed like it needed to be cleaned. Good locaton for the events at the Toyota Center and Convention center and close to the musemes and the zoo. It was a trip for the kids and they did have a good time. The hotel also has continental breakfest and cookies and milk in the evening. Very nice for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure that you know where you are going to eat because there is not alot of restraunts in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top