$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

3 stars
View map of 1810 Bell Street, Houston, TX 77003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frigab02
Family
De Queen, AR
Oct 14, 2009

great place to stay

The hotel had great service and it's location was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Many, La
Sep 22, 2009

close to ballpark

hotel is overpriced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

close to minute maid park & convention center

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt J
Family
Victoria, Tx
Sep 7, 2009

Great location for Astros Games

Hotel was about 6 blocks away from Minute Maid Park, clerk suggested a Taxi ride for only $6.00 to park. We passed several guest that had chosen to walk the six long blocks (1 block alone was around the Toyota Center) we were dropped off at the entrance & return trip was just as easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happimommy
Family
Texas
Aug 15, 2009

Nice and Simple, Great Downtown location

Great no frills hotel. Basic rooms, comfortable beds. No restaurant or gift shop. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely the place to stay if your going to the Toyota Center!

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 27, 2009

Good business hotel; not a vacation spot

We were in town for a week-long seminar and booked through Orbitz. I am usually not terribly optimistic that preferences entered on web-based reservation systems will be noted, but right at check-in, all our preferences--late check-in, double beds, non-smoking, adjacent rooms, etc. were honored. The staff were responsive and professional. When I complained that the fitness room temperature was too hot, they worked to remedy the problem, even finding a fan to circulate air until they could get the thermostat working. The daily breakfast bar was plentiful, with several healthy options. The rooms were clean, and the beds and linens were comfortable, even luxurious. It was really nice to have free wifi in our rooms, too! My biggest concern about the hotel was that its location made me feel uncomfortable. When we arrived, there were Houston bicycle police in the parking lot, and we saw them there regularly, which was nice, because there were many signs posted -- every 8-10 feet in a small front parking lot--advising guests not to leave valuables in the car. While the Toyota Center is one block to the north, the Salvation Army and a men's shelter are one block in the other directions. Needless to say, the three women in my group were glad we had rented a car to get to restaurants and sights in the evenings during the week. When the fitness room thermostat was on the fritz, I didn't feel as though running through the "neighborhood" was a viable alternative, for safety reasons. There is also considerable background highway noise throughout the night from Rte. 59, which runs right by the hotel. Having said that, it was an affordable, clean, and professional option in an urban setting. I wouldn't stay there for a vacation, but it was a good option for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I'm not sure that "entertainment" is the best category for this suggestion, but our seminar was at the Houston Holocaust Museum, which is a powerful afternoon trip.

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wushu27
Business
Memphis
May 13, 2009

Very Nice

The room was comfortable and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. I just wish there were a restaurant in the hotel itself, although there were several area restaurants that delivered directly to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The George R. Brown Convention center is 2 short blocks away!

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry G
Couples
Fond du Lac, WI
Apr 22, 2009

Great deal, great place, in Houston

Room was recently redone--very clean, even smelled clean; quiet; extremely comfortable, large beds; nicely appointed; plans to install flat-screen televisions in 2009; bathroom was nice, spotless, and plenty large; in-room bottles of water were free, as were fresh cookies in the lobby; breakfast was very nice--reasonable hours, plenty of food, and coffee wasn't too weak as often happens at hotels that provide free breakfast; front desk staff was extraordinarily friendly and attentive. The hotel is being kept up very nicely. Hotel was close enough (walkable) to the heart of downtown without being right in it. (I would have given this hotel five stars, but as we also stayed at the Four Seasons, and that is about as 5-star as you can get, giving 5 to the Holiday Inn Express would have been a bit of "grade inflation.")

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple of Chinese restaurants are within an easy 2-block walk. Probably about a mile walk to other nice restaurants downtown (like Massa's Seafood Grill, on Lamar across from the Four Seasons, which is a GREAT restaurant.)

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Oct 15, 2008

Very Impressive Hotel

The Holiday Inn in Downtown Houston turned out to be perfect for my needs...it was right across the street from the Toyota Center where I was attending a concert. The staff were extremely nice and helpful (even gave me a bandaid when I needed one!) I loved the amenities including toiletries and water and coffee in my room. The bed was awesome and I appreciated the candies that were left behind for me! The breakfast buffet in the morning was quite impressive and I was satisfied. They even had a workout room which I did not get to use, but it looked wonderful. I especially appreciated the use of a computer in the foyer that was available for guests to use for online access. The afternoon I arrived, I was able to walk to nearby shopping and a wine bar, so that was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Toyota Center is directly across the street from the hotel. All the conference center is nearby with lots of activities. Not far, within a short walk, is a shopping mall too.

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Jun 16, 2008

Very Nice

I have stayed in the Holiday Inn Express on Bell St. twice. I plan on staying there everytime I travel to Houston, as long as it is fairly near what I am taking the trip for. It was very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a concert venue, Warehouse Live in walking distance. Lucky's Pub, which is very nice, is next door to Warehouse Live. China Garden, a really good Chinese restaurant is in walking distance from the hotel also.

Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Dec 5, 2007

Convient location

The Holiday Inn Express was very convient to the Toyota Center. It was great to be able to walk to the event to avoid traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Convention Center

Back to menu Return to top