$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

3 stars
1810 Bell Street, Houston, TX 77003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
32 reviews
Fantastic Stay

The staff there were pretty nice, and the room was clean. Recommended. See full review

  • Heisenburg
  • Nov 23, 2014
Mustafa

stayed for a day, and it was OK, may be price was little higher, but OK See full review

  • mdmust4u
  • Jan 28, 2014
On behalf of the Management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown / Convention Center I want to express our gratitude for choosing us in Houston. We are always looking for ways to improve our service to you, our valued guest. We appreciate the fact that you want to stay with us, and if there is anything we can do better to serve your needs or make your stay more enjoyable, please feel free to inform us of how we can help.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Toyota Center: 0.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 1.1 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 1.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.2 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 1 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 1.1 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 1.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.5 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.4 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.3 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.2 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.3 mi

Dining

Kim Son
A great Chinese and Vietnamese restaurant located just a couple of blocks away from the hotel that does offer delivery as well.
Vic & Anthony's
The best steakhouse in town!
Pappas Bar-B-Q
The finest Bar B Q Texas has to offer
Josephines
Pasta, chicken parmasean, you'll think you've died and gone to Little Italy!
China Garden
Delicious chinese food and walking distance!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, tX
Jul 20, 2011

OK

Found 2 roaches in my room, they charge 10 dollars for parking, and parking is horrible. Key cards are horrible other than that its your typical HIE, staff is nice but not overly out of their way nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Feb 14, 2011

Too far, too close. Cautious stomach.

Attending a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center, I figured myself that the hotel is too close to go driving and too far to have a nice walk. The bedroom is almost OK. I really hate the carpet in the hotels and I am always reluctant to watch TV when the remote is greasy. Now, do not expect having a nice breakfast. The buffet is of poor qulity and really small. Employees are nice but few.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spencer's steakhouse is really nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay with Mary Kay
Business
Willmar, MN
Jan 16, 2011

Great location & customer service!

Great location & clean. Most important - excellent customer service. The staff was friendly & efficient. Enjoyed the breakfast, fitness center & pool. It was a very nice touch to have cookies & milk each day at 4:00, the little candy bars in the room and the little gift bag upon check-in. Thank you - we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A convenient location near the Convention Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 21, 2010

Great 4 Concert @ Toyota Center

I went to Houston for a concert at the Toyota Center and this was a great place to stay for the location and price. They're located only two short blocks away from the Toyota Center. Service was awesome - I forgot toothpaste and the front desk provided a complimentary tube. The free breakfast was awesome--plenty of options and very decent hrs (especially after being out all night!) The only problem I had was finding parking. They have a small lot in front of the hotel. When I checked in, I asked about additional parking and was told there was parking around back and on the side of the hotel, which I learned, after circling around, was limited as well. I ended up having to park in one of the 4 empty handicap spaces in the back but did not get ticketed or towed. In all fairness I did not check in until 6pm and the place seemed booked with people attending the same concert as me. So I can only suggest checking in early if you're there for any special event at the Toyota Center or Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you plan on staying at the Holiday Inn Express to attend a popular event at the Toyota Center or Convention center I would definitely check in early to get a parking space.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 18, 2010

Good Stay

The staff was very nice and helpful to give us directions and some hints to when to go to certain events. The in door pool was nice for the time of the year (March). The rooms were clean, the only thing that I didn't really like was the carpet. It just seemed like it needed to be cleaned. Good locaton for the events at the Toyota Center and Convention center and close to the musemes and the zoo. It was a trip for the kids and they did have a good time. The hotel also has continental breakfest and cookies and milk in the evening. Very nice for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure that you know where you are going to eat because there is not alot of restraunts in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moni323
Business
houston
Feb 19, 2010

great weekend getaway!

Had a great stay and staff very helpful plus the breakfast buffet in the morning was fantastic! Eggs, french toast, sausage, and many other items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy, TX
Jan 31, 2010

Uncooperative & undertrained customer se

We only stayed for about 10 minutes. We walked into a different room than what we thought we had booked. We went to the front desk to see if we could upgrade to a "suite" but they had none available. I then asked if we could purchase the adjoining room to accomadate our children and we wre told it was "out of order". So with no options left, I asked for extra blankets & pillows to arrange sleeping on the floor. (We were given two thin blue blankets & no pillows.) At this point we went back up to the room, got our kids, gathered our belongings, & returned the room keys and left. I have never experinced such unprofessional & unhelpful staff at a hotel! Why would you not move our entire party to adifferent room with an adjoining room? That would be another room sold, right? More rooms per party, more sales! It doesn't take a genius! Well, it was a blessing in diguise. We ended up at a much nicer hotel with appropriate accomadations in one room for all of us at the price I paid for 2 beds at Holiday Inn Express. Definately, check all your options before choosing this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 18, 2009

Great location near Conference Center

Came to Houston for a business meeting at the Brown Conference Center. The Holiday Inn was just two blocks away. Continental breakfast was included. Hotel is on the edge of the downtown district. Hotel was quite, free internet access. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frigab02
Business
De Queen, AR
Oct 14, 2009

great place to stay

The hotel had great service and it's location was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Many, La
Sep 22, 2009

close to ballpark

hotel is overpriced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

close to minute maid park & convention center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top