$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

3 stars
View map of 1810 Bell Street, Houston, TX 77003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RONNI2012
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Holiday Inn ...Wow!

This hotel was not all that at all. We had no microwave, but the other rooms did. The staff did not even know it. Had to take the food downstairs to the employee microwave. One water bug in my room, the came right up to handle that...Just couldn't get comfortable in this room...This hotel needs a little bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RONNI2012
Business
Houston, TX, USA
May 14, 2012

Mother's Day Get Away

Okay, so my wife and I thought we would check in on Saturday and out on Sunday for a short mother's day get away. Customer Service was great, room was average, there was no microwave in the room which night staff did not know about. There was also a coach roach in our bathroom. Yet overall, everything that had questions about or help with the hotel staff was there with quick customer service. So, overall the hotel was average. Oh, the pool was nice, but too much chemical in the hot tub, exspecially when cutting it on to bubble, OMG!!! I thought my noses was going to fall off.lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WSAnderson
Business
Nacogdoches, TX, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Overall Disappointment

There were two reasons that I spent a little more money to book this hotel rather than a more affordable one. First reason- the indoor pool. I have a 2 year old that loves to swim, and was looking forward to being able to swim without being in the direct 110 degree Texas heat. The first day we went to the pool, it was hot. Not lukewarm.... HOT. I've never been so uncomfortable in a pool. Despite this, we came back the next day... and the pool was drained- I assume to work on whatever the problem was. So the #1 reason i booked this hotel was a complete bust. The second reason was because I thought it was a central location to a lot of kids attractions. It's really not that close to the Aquarium or Children's museum. It is very close to the convention center though, so if that's what you're here for- this is a great location. Also, the hotel is doing some pretty heavy construction... inside and outside. We were woken up at 6:30am every day by workers right outside of our window. They were also doing work in the lobby and breakfast areas that prevented you from walking through them. To get to our car, we had to use the back entrance and walk around the entire hotel because of the lobby being unusable. I feel like these are all temporary issues, but I was here at the wrong time. The pool being so awful really disappointed me- and the construction was just an annoyance. Before you book, call to see if remodeling is done and if the pool is in good shape. IF so, this would be a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, tX
Jul 20, 2011

OK

Found 2 roaches in my room, they charge 10 dollars for parking, and parking is horrible. Key cards are horrible other than that its your typical HIE, staff is nice but not overly out of their way nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Feb 14, 2011

Too far, too close. Cautious stomach.

Attending a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center, I figured myself that the hotel is too close to go driving and too far to have a nice walk. The bedroom is almost OK. I really hate the carpet in the hotels and I am always reluctant to watch TV when the remote is greasy. Now, do not expect having a nice breakfast. The buffet is of poor qulity and really small. Employees are nice but few.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spencer's steakhouse is really nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay with Mary Kay
Business
Willmar, MN
Jan 16, 2011

Great location & customer service!

Great location & clean. Most important - excellent customer service. The staff was friendly & efficient. Enjoyed the breakfast, fitness center & pool. It was a very nice touch to have cookies & milk each day at 4:00, the little candy bars in the room and the little gift bag upon check-in. Thank you - we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A convenient location near the Convention Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Mar 21, 2010

Great 4 Concert @ Toyota Center

I went to Houston for a concert at the Toyota Center and this was a great place to stay for the location and price. They're located only two short blocks away from the Toyota Center. Service was awesome - I forgot toothpaste and the front desk provided a complimentary tube. The free breakfast was awesome--plenty of options and very decent hrs (especially after being out all night!) The only problem I had was finding parking. They have a small lot in front of the hotel. When I checked in, I asked about additional parking and was told there was parking around back and on the side of the hotel, which I learned, after circling around, was limited as well. I ended up having to park in one of the 4 empty handicap spaces in the back but did not get ticketed or towed. In all fairness I did not check in until 6pm and the place seemed booked with people attending the same concert as me. So I can only suggest checking in early if you're there for any special event at the Toyota Center or Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you plan on staying at the Holiday Inn Express to attend a popular event at the Toyota Center or Convention center I would definitely check in early to get a parking space.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Mar 18, 2010

Good Stay

The staff was very nice and helpful to give us directions and some hints to when to go to certain events. The in door pool was nice for the time of the year (March). The rooms were clean, the only thing that I didn't really like was the carpet. It just seemed like it needed to be cleaned. Good locaton for the events at the Toyota Center and Convention center and close to the musemes and the zoo. It was a trip for the kids and they did have a good time. The hotel also has continental breakfest and cookies and milk in the evening. Very nice for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure that you know where you are going to eat because there is not alot of restraunts in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moni323
Business
houston
Feb 19, 2010

great weekend getaway!

Had a great stay and staff very helpful plus the breakfast buffet in the morning was fantastic! Eggs, french toast, sausage, and many other items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites HOUSTON-DWTN CONV CTR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy, TX
Jan 31, 2010

Uncooperative & undertrained customer se

We only stayed for about 10 minutes. We walked into a different room than what we thought we had booked. We went to the front desk to see if we could upgrade to a "suite" but they had none available. I then asked if we could purchase the adjoining room to accomadate our children and we wre told it was "out of order". So with no options left, I asked for extra blankets & pillows to arrange sleeping on the floor. (We were given two thin blue blankets & no pillows.) At this point we went back up to the room, got our kids, gathered our belongings, & returned the room keys and left. I have never experinced such unprofessional & unhelpful staff at a hotel! Why would you not move our entire party to adifferent room with an adjoining room? That would be another room sold, right? More rooms per party, more sales! It doesn't take a genius! Well, it was a blessing in diguise. We ended up at a much nicer hotel with appropriate accomadations in one room for all of us at the price I paid for 2 beds at Holiday Inn Express. Definately, check all your options before choosing this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top