$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Hilton Houston Southwest

3 stars
6780 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074-2102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Extra-ordinary hospitality!

The hotel is fabulous and fantastic from customer service rep to room-service they are well train... See full review

  • Femmy
  • Oct 8, 2013
Vacation in Houston !

A wonderful hotel with good location and friendly staffs are the major considerations in choosing a... See full review

  • Sky perfect
  • Sep 19, 2013
Stay at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel, only nine miles from the Sugar Land business corridor, and 10 miles from downtown Houston. Located just off Highway 59 and two miles southwest of Loop 610, this Houston Galleria hotel is three miles from the prestigious Houston Galleria area and offers complimentary local transportation. Centrally located to Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium and Minute Maid Park, the hotel is 30 miles from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) and 18 miles from William P Hobby Airport (HOU).During your stay at our Houston Galleria hotel keep in touch with complimentary high-speed internet access in each guest room at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel. Swim laps and enjoy the sunshine at the sparkling outdoor pool and sundeck area. Stay active in the fully equipped fitness center with modern equipment. Relax with a refreshing drink at the Poquito Bar and enjoy casual dining in the warm atmosphere of Desert Rose restaurant.Host business meetings or events in over 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible Houston meeting space at the Hilton Houston Southwest hotel. The Grand Ballroom is perfect for conferences and the Atrium and Regency areas provide a wonderful backdrop for wedding receptions.

Hotel Map

29.7143 -95.5024
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 19.00, MI, NW; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 30.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Houston Southwest also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Symphony: 2.2 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.6 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 5.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 5.8 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 5.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 6.1 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 6.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 6.2 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 6.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 6.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 6.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 6.8 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 2.2 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.9 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.6 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 5.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 5.8 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 5.9 mi
  • Beer Can House: 6.1 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 6.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 6.2 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 6.4 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 6.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 6.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 6.8 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 6.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 6.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 6.8 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 7.1 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 8.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 8.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 8.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 8.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 8.9 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 9 mi
  • Market Square Park: 9.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 9.4 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Houston Southwest

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cam123456
Business
Houston TX
Mar 18, 2013

Decent stay but could of gotten better for the price

Being a well name brand, I was really expecting a great time. I had payed the extra $30 or so when booking to insure that my wife and i would have breakfast included. Upon our arrival, the hotel smelled funky and to top it off I was told "sorry sir, you booked on a concierge floor and they only serve breakfast M-F." I didnt take to this too well to this as it would be Saturday and because i had paid extra just for breakfast and was now being told sorry...after arguing a bit the hotel attendant finally gave me two coupons for us to eat breakfast. We went to our room thinking ok, time to relax opened the door and kept hearing water running in the bathroom...went to go see what the heck was going on only to find out that our toilet was broken. They were pretty quick about coming up to fix the toilet which helped to calm my frustration,but you would think they would check out the room or make sure everything was good before putting guest in them. We got up the next morning to leave and not far from the front door was huge pile of vomit....just what i expect to see when i come in and out of a well named brand hotel. Overall for the money i paid, i was not at all impressed and will not stay at this hotel again...I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria is like 5 miles from hotel and was AMAZING...use your money at one of the hotels closer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NotJennifer
Business
Hartsdale, NY
Jan 14, 2011

Standard - a few perks, a few problems

I had to be in the SW area of Houston for business and this was the closest thing going. It seemed to be mostly full of business travelers like myself and you'll probably have a better time here if you have a car (which can be said for all of Houston; the cabbies are something else and seem to all drive - and potentially live in - gross vehicles). I would recommend it as "not terrible" to someone who HAD to be in the same area. Otherwise, I'd say look for places closer to the Galleria. Good things: great, cheap breakfast buffet; a very hospitable manager and a delightful bar tender; a well-appointed gym; a big room with a flat panel TV; an in-room refrigerator; free wi-fi; Crabtree & Evelyn products; and a shuttle service that will take you anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel. Points for improvement: you have to wait for the restaurant and bar to open at 5; there was lipstick on the coffee mug in my room on day two of my stay (I don't wear lipstick); the clueless concierge; and the shuttle driver that tried to sell me on a limo service that does not exist. Also, there were cracks in the bathroom door, a cracked sink and a gross shower head in a hotel that was allegedly recently renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 24, 2011

BUSINESS STAY

OVERALL, THE HOTEL WAS OKAY, LOCATION IS GOOD, BUT I WAS EXPECTING THE ROOM TO COME WITH A MINIFRIDGE, TOO BAD NOT ALL ROOMS GOT A FRIDGE.... SO THAT WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTMENT FOR STAYING AT HILTON WITH NO FRIDGE, ESPECIALLY WHEN VISITING HOUSTON.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tutwiler
Business
dm birmingham
May 22, 2009

ok but getting better

I liked the hotel. the staff was super friendly. However, when they say "newly renovated" what they mean is "currently under construction". The hotel including the room I stayed in is an odd mix of new and old. New bedding and carpet but everything else is totally worn out. I would stay there again just knowing that they are working on it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Google maps does not get you to this location. You can see it but have to nagivate through bad neighborhoods to find it. If coming from the airport get off one exit early to avoid this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jolly the monkey
Business
Houston,tx
Sep 2, 2014

Short stay at Houston

The amenities need to be updated. The bathroom was pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt2089
Business
Galveston, TX, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Great Birthday Weekend Stay

This was a great hotel and the staff was amazing! They were responsive in a timely manner to all of my needs during my stay and informed me of all of the freest amenities they had to offer at the hotel. It was a great location only about 10 min from the galleria!!! The only bad thing I would say about this hotel is that there is no refrigerator or microwave in the room. I would still recommend this hotel because I had a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria is only 10 mins from the hotel!!! So if you don't mind a short drive don't bother trying to stay at one of the hotels closer to the galleria because you will have to pay for parking daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoli
Business
Wichita Falls, TX, USA
Oct 31, 2011

It was very good.

I didn't spend much time in the room but the bed was very comfortable. I was no refrigerator in the room. I enjoyed my time at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It was close to Lakewood Church. There was a mall close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tanis
Business
Flint, MI, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Nice getaway

the hotel is nice but outside looks could be better but the room was great and so was the food. The only negative thing I could say is that the ice machine didn't work on my floor so had to go the floor below me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to some nice wholesale shopping and very close to the main strip Richmond street which all types of clubs, eatery and more

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lee's Summit, Mo
Mar 10, 2011

February Trip to Houston

Nice comfortable and convience for activities. When checking in, other guests were too close to hear confidential information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Houston Southwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Feb 5, 2011

Houston Trip

While I was there I visited Rice Univ and Univ of Houston. I also ate at a Brazilian Steakhouse nearby that was wonderful. The hotel would have been more enjoyable if the hotel room would have had another fan setting lower than its one setting of high. Based on past experience, though, it was about the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the beautiful Universities of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top