$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Hilton Americas-Houston

4 stars
1600 Lamar, Houston, TX 77010
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
48 reviews
Go rockets

Great hotel at great price I'd highly recommend this hotel! Nice pool and awesome room... See full review

  • Libby Go Rockets
  • Nov 30, 2014
Rockets game visit

In town for rockets game which was literally across the street from hotel which was awesome! Very... See full review

  • Libby Go Rockets
  • Nov 30, 2014
The Hilton Americas Hotel Houston is a top choice for events, with the city's largest column-free ballrooms and 91,500-square-feet of meeting space. A sparkling lobby features Venetian glass chandeliers, tile mosaics and Texan art, while the lounge will get you in the mood for relaxation with the sound of water flowing across the feature wall. Pampering is very much on the menu at the lavish Skyline Spa & Health Club, which boasts deep tissue and signature massages, facials, manicures and much more. After a morning exploring the city, head to the Java Jive @ 1600 for a reviving Starbucks' cappuccino, sandwiches and snacks. Hilton Americas-Houston also houses a Pappasito's Cantina - get into the Texan spirit with margaritas, tequilas and fajitas.
Key facts
  • Environmentally friendly: Green Seal-certified
  • 24-hour room service for all 1,200 rooms
  • Spa and health club with updated equipment
  • Lobby-level venues offer snacks, refreshments and meals
  • On-site convenience store
  • Rental business offices and equipment
  • Rooms, suites, and executive rooms available
  • Flat-screen HDTVs in guest rooms
  • Premium, allergen-free bed linens
  • Spacious rooms with spectacular city views

Neighborhood
Two sky bridges raise you above the twinkling metropolitan landscape at the core of Houston's downtown district, letting you stroll to the George R. Brown Convention Center for business functions and events. The Hilton Americas is also not far from the Toyota Center - where you can enjoy a behind-the-scenes tour, or enjoy the action of a Rockets game. Within the immediate vicinity, Discovery Green nurtures 12 acres of green space, featuring a lake, plus activities ranging from yoga to kayaking, to film exhibitions and live music. Once you get tired, head to Green Street for lunch or dinner - Houston's iconic foodie district is studded with al fresco spots to satisfy your appetite.
Hints and tips
For a truly plush experience, choose an Executive Room, which offers free high-speed Internet, refreshments, and the most comfortable amenities in the hotel.

Additionally, such rooms provide exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, featuring evening hors d' oeuvres and continental breakfast in the morning.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Americas-Houston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Toyota Center: 0.1 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.1 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.9 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.4 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.5 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.7 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 3.1 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.6 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.6 mi
  • Water Wall: 6.1 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.8 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 13.3 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.1 mi
  • Wortham Center: 19.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Americas-Houston

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lilwootie
Business
Houston
May 12, 2013

Great Getaway

Great getaway for me! started my weekend off right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Great Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul2013
Business
Louisiana
Apr 1, 2013

Nice hotel

Clean room, nice staff, convenient location. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CathN
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Busy Conference

Everything at this hotel was great with 3 glaring exceptions: 1. It took _1 HOUR_ to check in! Airport security doesn't normally take this long! A large conference hotel should be able to handle a large influx of guests much more quickly, even if they all have special tax forms or whatever it was. 2. There was hair on the shower wall. Ick. Everything else was spotlessly clean. 3. The alarm clock functioned as a clock, but not as an alarm - I was unable to set the alarm and had to rely on my not so trusty cell phone to wake me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IUSM visitor
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

4 day conference in houston

The conference was held in the hotel, so that was convenient. The location is good for business, bad for entertainment. All the spots that people seem to hang out at are all a cab ride away, and I usually like to explore a city on foot. I didn't get a chance to check out the gym/spa, but the restaurant (Spencer's) was not bad, maybe a tad pricey for what it is. There are a few other choices for dining in the immediate area, though, some average, some good. I would have to say the best point to the hotel was the super friendly staff - maybe I'm just used to rude people having lived in the NE for over half my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hecti
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Excellent location and facilities

Great experience. Good facilities and it was closed (walking distance) to main attractions and restaurants. Internet cost was too high. It should be included as part of the lodging cost. The connection (bridge) to the Convention Center is another plus for this hotel. Definitely, I will stay there next time I visit Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Maiden Park and the Toyota Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat Bailey
Business
Delaware, USA
Dec 9, 2011

conference for public safety employees

I have stayed in hotels throughout the USA, and noted for being a split image of "Monk" (the t.v. series), and after my stay at this Hilton, I must conclude, "NO COMPLAINTS". I shall return!!!!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always tip your hotel transportation and staff workers, they do an excellent job taking care of the needs of the Hiltons' patrons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well Pleased
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Glad I stayed!

I found the staff, service, comfort and what they offered to be top notch. I went out of my way and maybe paid a little more than I would have liked, but was very happy I chose to stay at the Hilton Americas-Houston. I was there for a conference so I didn't take advantage of all the city of Houston has to offer, but between the pool, hot tub, with the outside 23'rd floor observation deck view and a lovely time at the spa besides having delicious food available right there? I had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Astros2081
Business
Minden, La.
Aug 23, 2011

Extremely Satisfied

Me and my friends took a midweek trip to watch the astros and cubbies play a few games. I got an insanely great deal using orbitz and because of going during the week. Hotel was awesome and close enough to walk everywhere I wanted to go. I had no problems with the hotel and the deal I got, helped make it one of the cheapest and easiest trips I have ever taken to Houston. It was right off the Highway and easy to get to. Staff was great and room was too. Whether you're going to watch the astros or going to something at the toyota center, you couldn't ask for a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
college station, TX
Mar 13, 2011

excellent stay

Hotel room was absolutely amazing. Great view, within walking distance to the Toyota Center (we were visiting to see the Rockets game). Concierge was very helpful in locating excellent restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the pavillion

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Americas-Houston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baytown tx
Mar 1, 2011

"wonderful evening with my husband"

we went to the House of Blues. Better foodwith the room service wouldve made my stay better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top