$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

3 stars
View map of 1715 Old Spanish Trail, Houston, TX 77054

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
26 reviews
Fun trip

I arrived at the hotel exhausted. I had a very early morning flight and was nervous driving in the... See full review

  • marie j.
  • Jan 9, 2015
great stay

Love the location close to medical district and great breakfast love the late check out of noon See full review

  • lmg fam
  • Jul 15, 2014
The Hampton Inn & Suites Houston Medical Center-Astrodome hotel is located 1 mile north of Texas Interstate 610 South between the Texas Medical Center and Reliant Stadium (home of the Houston Texans and Annual Houston Rodeo & Cook-off) in Houston, Texas. There are many local attractions close to this Houston, Texas Hampton Inn & Suites hotel that include Six Flags Astroworld/Waterworld, Rice University, University of Houston, NASA Space Center Houston, Kemah Waterfront, Galveston, Hermann Park as well as downtown Houston attractions accessible via the Metro Light Rail System. The Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Houston, Texas features 120 rooms, including king and double rooms with micro/fridges or king or double bedded suites which feature fully-equipped kitchenettes, perfect for extended stay needs. All rooms at the Hampton Inn & suites hotel offer high-speed internet access, voicemail, desk, a large selection of cable channels, complimentary HBO, coffeemaker, hair dryer, full-size irons/ironing boards, and pillow top mattresses for a restful nights stay. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor pool, exercise room, Suite Shop, complimentary local calls, complimentary computer in hotel lobby for guest use, and meeting room space that is perfect for training classes or meetings. Guests of this Houston, Texas Hampton Inn & Suites hotel will also enjoy the complimentary On the House hot breakfast and the On the Run breakfast bags (available Monday-Friday). There are also numerous restaurants within a 5-mile radius of the hotel, to please tastes and budgets. We love having you here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Houston Medical Center-Astrodome hotel in Houston, Texas.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Minute Maid Park: 0.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.2 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.6 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.4 mi
  • Hermann Park: 1.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 1.9 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.2 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 2.9 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 3.9 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 4.4 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.5 mi
  • Toyota Center: 4.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 4.8 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 4.8 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 5 mi
  • Jones Hall: 5 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 5.1 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 5.1 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 5.2 mi
  • Market Square Park: 5.2 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 5.6 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5.7 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 10.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18 mi
  • Wortham Center: 20 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler K.
Business
N/A
Aug 9, 2015

Less than stellar stay

The hotel is not far from a Metro train stop ( that provides a ~35 minute to the downtown area), but it's a bit of a desolate walk to and from the station at night. There is a restaurant next door to the hotel and a private apartment building on the other side. Other than that, there is nothing in walking distance to the hotel. The complimentary breakfast wasn't bad and there was often fruit in the lobby in the evening. The room I had at first had a broken television, a broken phone and a view of the restaurant's truck. The bathroom was also in need of a bit of care. The hotel has a shuttle for short trips but it doesn't go to the airport. The one time I intended to use it, the desk clerk said the driver would be back in five minutes. I told her I would put be heavy bag in my room and come right back. I came right back and she said he was gone (and that people don't always come right back when they say they will). The hotel was filled booked, but more than halfway into my stay, they switched me to a much nicer room. If I had been in that room the entire stay, I would have enjoyed the experience. Being in the first room, however, makes me hesitant to recommend the hotel or consider staying there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marie j.
Friends
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Fun trip

I arrived at the hotel exhausted. I had a very early morning flight and was nervous driving in the Houston traffic. I arrived at the hotel at 11:30 really needing to lie down. I was told that my room was ready, but I would not be allowed in until 1:30 check in time. This did not make any sense. I had to pay for the previous day to get my 2 hour nap. I paid $101 plus tax, etc. for that nap. Otherwise, everything about the hotel is great. Clean, comfy, with a great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jose N.
Couples
Lawton
Dec 23, 2014

family trip

we like the coffe and breakfast.we will visit our son and daughter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daner
Couples
Texas
Oct 8, 2014

Another M.D.Anderson cancer center visit

Clean, friendly staff, secure parking, good hot breakfast. This is our second stay here and we will continue to book this hotel in the future. Very convenient to M.D.Anderson. Next door to Luby's. No complaints here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lubys next door. Pappadeauxs and Pappasitos a short drive away.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stevekenn
Couples
austin texas
Jul 20, 2014

good value

clean, effecient, good amenities and nicely located near MDA. Needs to have fitted sheets and better remote controls in room but overall very good for the money. alarm went off at 3:00 and hotel evacuated but never a reason given nor did the fire dept show up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lmg fam
Family
houston
Jul 15, 2014

great stay

Love the location close to medical district and great breakfast love the late check out of noon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kami's Mommy
Family
Lewisville, TX
May 29, 2014

Wonderful stay!

Our room was updated, clean, and comfortable. For the price, I was very pleased. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was filling and tasty. It is perfect if you need to be close to M.D. Anderson. There are also several restaurants and retail stores close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I enjoyed the retail shops close by. Not high end, but not cheap either.

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica Hodges
Couples
Crockett
Mar 24, 2014

visit for Houston Livestock Show Rodeo

staff was super friendly! Hotel is very clean and great location. breakfast was wonderful and the best bed we ever slept then!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superbowl Bronco Fan
Couples
Colorado
Jan 30, 2014

Game Getaway

Great staff. Breakfast is awesome! Hotel hosted Happy Hour which was enjoyable. Location perfect for Stadium - within walking distance. Close to amenities/Downtown. Free parking. Would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Reliant Stadium

Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Medical Center/Astrodome

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deft Joseph Q DJQ
Business
Bmore
Oct 13, 2013

Nice Hotel

Everything was great except the daytime staff. They made me wait over 2 hours to check in citing that my room was not ready. This really confused me because I saw several people check in during my wait. They also refused to give me have the WiFi password while I waited.Good thing I had my own mobile hotspot. The overnight staff was GREAT. I don't remember her name but she always had a Lovely smile and great conversation. I choose this location and hotel fore several reasons 1) My first reservation with another chain somehow didn't go thru. 2) I needed to go to the convention center everyday and it was 1/2 block away from the light rail (15 min train ride 5 10 min walk or 3 min ride on free green link bust) It is next to a restaurant and the hotel has a pretty decent breakfast The hotel was a little pricey but as they say everything including cost is bigger in Texas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top