$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

4 stars
View map of 400 Dallas Street, Houston, TX 77002-4777

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mcsimo68
Business
Hove
Jun 15, 2011

Good value hotel in central location

This was our first visit to Houston and we booked this hotel based on price and some good reviews. We arrived tired after a long flight from London and found the check-in very quick and efficient and the staff very friendly and helpful. The warm chocolate chip cookie was very welcome! Our room was pretty spacious and well equipped with tea & coffee maker, Neutrogena toiletries etc. We had breakfast included in our room rate and this was great - loads of choice and good service. We even took some food away with us and the staff gave us boxes and cutlery to take away too. The hotel is not in a bad position with some restaurants and bars close enough to walk to and buses are within easy reach to enable you to get to the museum quarter. There were a few homeless people in the area around late at night and we were approached for money on more than one occasion. This didn't bother us but might bother some people. A homeless guy also came into the breakfast room and helped himself to a lot of food which went unnoticed by the staff and we had to point him out to the waitress. Security did come and eject him eventually! Overall though the staff were very friendly and the hotel was very comfortable with good facilities. I would stay there again if I was in Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch the tram or bus to the museum district - the art galleries and museums are outstanding and worth visiting while in Houston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Apr 25, 2011

Great room - Great Price

Comfortable Bed, Nice view, Great location -- Great Stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
berivian
Business
detroit
Dec 13, 2010

Doubleteee Allen Center

The staff is super friendly and the hotel is very very clean. Food is a bit pricey at the hotel but the wait staff, especially Duprece made the price worth it. She is a tireless selfless individual with the customer at the center of everything she does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tunnels everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aunt angie
Business
panama city,fl
Aug 12, 2010

not much to do downtown

it was a good stay, boring part of town , no shopping either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

try the fish tacos at cabo, the best i have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aunt angie
Business
panama city,fl
Aug 12, 2010

not much to do downtown

it was a good stay, boring part of town , no shopping either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

try the fish tacos at cabo, the best i have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McAllen, TX
Aug 2, 2010

Perfect Location, Perfect Room

Check in was quick and easy. Room service was great. The only thing that would add a nice touch to the hotel was a swimming pool and a small refrigerator in the room. I would definitely stay there again. For a hotel in downtown Houston, you couldn't beat the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 19, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

The hotel was great and next to many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 14, 2010

Great Holiday Location

We traveled to Houston for the 4th of July celebrations, and to see Wicked at the Hobby Center. The hotel's location is perfect, within walking distance to all the local venues. The hotel also provides free shuttle service in a 3-mile radius. The city rail service is available just a few blocks away and travels directly to the museum district and beyond for about 1 dollar. Our only complaints were minor (radio in room was broken, as was a treadmill in the fitness center, and on weekends virtually all of the restaurants and businesses downtown are closed). The wise traveler will bring some snacks and food with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

During the week, there is a whole food court with a variety of foods just next door in the Allen Center, but during the weekend it is closed, so bring your own food. The foot at the hotel is, as usual, expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
astros2005
Business
Beaumont, Tx
Jun 1, 2010

lackluster

We were in town for a car show and figured this Doubletree would be closer to the event. I stayed at the Doubletree next to the Galleria and it was great so I expected the same experience. But not having a pool was a huge disappointment and to have mandatory valet is ridiculous. Don't get me wrong the hotel was nice, but for the price of $90 I expect more for my stay and not to be charged extra to have someone park my car which I am more than capable of doing myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Houston Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
May 17, 2010

Great hotel

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top