$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

3 stars
5353 Westheimer Road, Houston, TX 77056-5474
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
60 reviews
Good Stay!

Great stay ! Comfortable bed & very spacious room! We got the king kitchen suite w/ living room... See full review

  • TheMrs.Mc
  • Feb 23, 2014
Very large and comfortable suite

Is located just two blocks from the Galleria and it's shops, restaurants and bars. Several of the... See full review

  • Surfbum
  • Dec 26, 2013
Luxury and comfort abound in this Houston hotel near the Galleria area

DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria provides comfort and elegance in the heart of Houston's thriving Uptown/Galleria area. The hotel's modern, sleek lobby area sets the tone for a luxury experience. Recent renovations to suites created spacious, richly furnished rooms that provide tranquility and relaxation after a busy day in the city. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, guests enjoy DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria's signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in, starting every stay with a symbol of welcome.

  • Located in Houston's popular Uptown/Galleria
  • Recent renovations to suites
  • Elegant, modern lobby

The hotel is close to The Galleria Shopping Center, a top Houston attraction comprised of 375 stores, indoor ice rink, a variety of restaurants and spectacular glass atriums. With an expansion in 2003, the mall became the fourth largest in the nation, highlighted by nine types of stone, suspended glass balconies and plush leather seating. The shopping center is home to numerous upscale retailers, including Cartier, Tiffany & Co., Gucci, Saks Fifth Avenue and Louis Vuitton.

DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria guest rooms offer comfort and luxury. Rich, warm colors and soft lighting pair with dark wood and granite bathroom counters to create an inviting atmosphere. Every room features a work station, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), alarm clock with MP3 connectivity, coffee maker, ergonomic work chair, 300 thread-count sheets and signature bedding. Children enjoy in-room kids' movies and on-demand games. Recently renovated king suites boast additional living area, marble vanity and Neutrogena bath amenities.

DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria serves a wide range of regional dishes, American classics and international cuisine at the hotel's signature restaurant, McKinley's Bar and Grille. The sophisticated, friendly bistro is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers buffet-style dining. 

An outdoor pool allows guests to relax in the Texas sunshine, and the fitness center features treadmills, free weights and stationary bicycles.

  • William P. Hobby Airport (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (18.8 mi/30.3 km)

  • Houston museum district (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Minute Maid Park (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Houston Chinatown (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Toyota Center (6.5 mi/10.4 km)

  • Business center
  • Meeting facilities
  • Audio visual equipment rental
  • Complimentary printing service
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

 

Policies and Fees

  • Self-parking fee is $20 USD.
  • Valet parking fee is $26 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7389 -95.4689
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 23.00, MI, SW; William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 17.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.2 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.2 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 5.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5.1 mi
  • Water Wall: 0.5 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 2.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 3.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 4.2 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.2 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 4.8 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 4.9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 5 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 5.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 5.1 mi
  • Hermann Park: 5.1 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 5.2 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5.2 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 6.2 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 6.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.4 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 6.5 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 7.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 7.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 7.3 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 7.4 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.1 mi
  • Wortham Center: 15.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahrain Grandpa
Bahrain
Apr 13, 2013

Great location for business in the Galleria area

Next to Galleria, close to freeways. Staff was efficient and helpful. Easy and reliable wifi. Room was clean and spacious and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LoadEmUp
Texas
Jul 9, 2014

Problem

17th Floor, Room 1714. Was supposed to be a Romantic Get Away. 4th of July Weekend. First of all they charge $20 for parking and charge for internet. Breakfast for one cost $28.00. The Room was outdated with brown colors. The toilet, shower and sink had disgusting mold on them. (Have Photos) The Hotel carpets through out were dirty and stayed that way the whole weekend. Not sure as to why the cleaning staff do not take notice??? I phoned the hotel to speak with staff about this. I was transferred to Billy and then placed on hold for 30 minutes until I gave up. Billy never picked the phone back up to speak with me. Want a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to pay extra for everything that should be included already. Internet, parking and breakfast.

Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheMrs.Mc
Houston Texas
Feb 23, 2014

Good Stay!

Great stay ! Comfortable bed & very spacious room! We got the king kitchen suite w/ living room ! The only thing I didn't like was the mobile shower water was pretty much all over the floor but overall I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice little walk to the galleria !

Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surfbum
Baton Rouge, LA
Dec 26, 2013

Very large and comfortable suite

Is located just two blocks from the Galleria and it's shops, restaurants and bars. Several of the best restaurants in the area are located within walking distance from the Hotel. Staff is always very pleasant and will to help. Rooms are quite and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital Grill or Trulucks are within less than a block of the hotel. Both are excellent.

Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahrain Grandpa
Bahrain
Apr 13, 2013

Great location for business in the Galleria area

Next to Galleria, close to freeways. Staff was efficient and helpful. Easy and reliable wifi. Room was clean and spacious and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy19IL
Austin, TX
Mar 27, 2013

Renovations underway

Renovations were underway when we were there, but it wasn't really in the way. Rooms not terribly quiet, but nice showers and and we clearly got one of the updated rooms. We stayed right next to the elevator and couldn't hear that at least. The valet service was super friendly and the interactions with the staff were polite & minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you check Google Maps before driving anywhere. A bit weird to get out and about with all the one way streets and odd turns.

Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wingwah
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Little pricey

great location. but not a special deals by far, for 1 night stay. - $168 total. + tax and all. Must book in advance next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great bar by the galleria

Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angilica
Mexico City,Mexico
Jan 7, 2012

Heating Problems

The first day of our arrival we had no heating system. We were changed three times until they found a room that had heating. We were told by staff that they would change us but we had to constantly call them. Our room was not even cleaned one day!It was very upsetting and had to talk to security manager so when we returned after leaving for a couple of days they changed us to basically the same room but at a top floor calling it an upgrade to "Executive Suites". There we were changed again to another room because that rooms heating didn´t work either. We got free breakfast cupons but we had already bought food at the supermarket so those were useless.Overall it was a terrible and extremely disappointing stay at the Doubletree Suites Hotel in Houston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
onthegoPM
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Overall - I'd stay here again BUT...

So I arrived on a Tuesday evening and received Room 416. Room 416 appears to be next to a mechanical room, but I must admit it did not cause me to loose sleep. The next morning I go to take a shower, and no matter what I did I got not get adequate hot water - so I took a cold shower. I went to the front desk and requested someone come look at it. The desk staff was very friendly and apologetic, but no one looked the issue while I was out. That evening an engineer did come by and he fixed the faucet handel, but did not fix the hot water issue. The next day - again I approach the front desk and again they were very polite and apologetic, but the issue was still not resolved. For a third time I made a request for the issue to be resolved, and it still was not. I could have demanded another room, but I figured they should offer. I never did get adequate hot water, but the front desk was nice about leaving me in the cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Diva
Galveston, TX, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Weekend Getaway

My husband and I went on a brief, yet very deserving weeking getaway this past weekend . Our stay was outstanding, Galleria was very close and we practically walked a few steps to a near by shopping center . The Hotel staff greeted us with warm chocolate cookies, ( chocolate is always a nice perk) , our room was great, clean, and spacius, an devreything that we needed! Will definately stay there again . Lots of great restaurants ( Fogo de Chao) where we had dinner was only a few miles down the road, ! Great stay, and look forward to my next stay ! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The nearest movie theatre is outside of the Galleria area, about 15 minutes, so, think of another option if your trying to catch a movie, you might as well stay in your room ! and catch some room service, Once you find the theatre , parking is such a hassle,and poor light on area, valet parking is $9 !!

Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Houston by the Galleria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Diva
Galveston, TX, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Weekend Getaway

My husband and I went on a brief, yet very deserving weeking getaway this past weekend . Our stay was outstanding, Galleria was very close and we practically walked a few steps to a near by shopping center . The Hotel staff greeted us with warm chocolate cookies, ( chocolate is always a nice perk) , our room was great, clean, and spacius, an devreything that we needed! Will definately stay there again . Lots of great restaurants ( Fogo de Chao) where we had dinner was only a few miles down the road, ! Great stay, and look forward to my next stay ! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The nearest movie theatre is outside of the Galleria area, about 15 minutes, so, think of another option if your trying to catch a movie, you might as well stay in your room ! and catch some room service, Once you find the theatre , parking is such a hassle,and poor light on area, valet parking is $9 !!

Back to menu Return to top