$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

4 stars
View map of 9090 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
53 reviews
Best Hotel in Houston!

Very amazing people, very comfortable, i come here alot to clear my head and the staff is wonderful! See full review

  • cinnamon b.
  • Jul 3, 2015
Awesome family trip

Always wonderful , the view, the staff and my baby girl is always ecstatic to come here, we live in... See full review

  • cinnamon b.
  • Jul 3, 2015

Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Sugar Land isn't technically a new hotel, but it feels like one. Fresh from a $7 million dollar renovation, the hotel offers guests a great value for premium oversized luxury suite accommodations. Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Sugar Land is perfectly set up for work or relaxation, with a number of business amenities alongside relaxing touches such as a pool, a poolside fitness center as well as an on-site restaurant and cocktail lounge for after-hours fun.

Rooms

The nine-floor Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Sugar Land contains 243 suites, all appointed with comfortable, luxurious touches that guests will love. All 440-square-foot suites include two 32-inch flat-screen TVs, luxury linens, plush bedding, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, marble and granite countertops, balconies and modern furniture and fixtures.

Property features

Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Sugar Land is ideally located for a number of exciting Houston activities. The hotel is situated minutes from downtown Houston, Reliant Stadium, Galleria Mall and the George R. Brown Convention Center.

 

A variety of comfort foods with southwest cuisine flavors are available at the hotel's Sierra Grill, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Rendezvous Lounge offers cocktails for a perfect evening's relaxation.

 

The hotel is minutes from the Houston Museum District, Texas Medical Center and downtown Houston dining, shopping and nightlife. Guests can catch the Metro Light Rail, located a mile from the hotel, for easy access to downtown Houston's entertainment areas.

 

Highlights
  • Free parking for guests
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Newly renovated
Nearby attractions
  • Crain Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • African American Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Houston Arena Theatre (3 mi/5 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • George Brown Convention Center (10 mi/18 km)
     
Business
  • Three meeting rooms available
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Limousine service available (fees apply)

      

Transportation
  • Hobby Airport (25 mi/40 km)

 

 

Recreation

The hotel's poolside fitness center is equipped with two executive trainer treadmills and a semi-recumbent bike. To cool off after a hard work out, guests can take a dip in the indoor pool and hot tub.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Chinatown: 3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.6 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 7.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 7.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 7.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 8.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 8.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 8.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 8.9 mi
  • Hermann Park: 9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.6 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 7.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 7.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 7.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 8.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 8.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 8.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 8.9 mi
  • Hermann Park: 9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 11 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 11.2 mi
  • Toyota Center: 11.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 11.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 11.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 11.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 11.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 11.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 11.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 11.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 11.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 11.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17 mi

Dining

Sierra Grille
At the Sierra Grille, guests can treat themselves to a savory selection of southwest which inspired meals that are sure to satisfy every tastebud. Whether it's a fresh salad , a juicy burger, or a hearty rack of ribs that you prefer, there are breakfast
Sierra Grille Bar and Lounge
Meet with friends and co-workers at the Sierra Bar and Lounge, featuring casual dining, cocktails and entertainment. A full food and and seperate specialty drink menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Van Akers
Business
Humble, TX
Apr 14, 2014

Bad Experience

I would rate the things above lower than 1 star if that option was available. The first night we did not get the room that we had reserved. I contaced you and a refund was issued. The second day, the hotel was supposed to move our things into the correct room. We came late to the hotel and our things had not been moved. Had to work with the front desk to exchange rooms, etc. Once that got corrected there were several outlets that did not work in the room which were needed for charging phone's, laptops, etc. A VERY BAD hotel expreience. You should not recommend this hotel. I never complain when I am mistreated but I just couldn't let this go. Thank you for the opportunity to respond. Van Akers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Aug 14, 2010

The good and the bad

The hotel was old fashion and without maintenance The staff was really unfriendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Perry77
Business
Florida
Aug 18, 2013

Needs Improvement

The hotel is affordable and has helpful, friendly staff members. However the building is old and it smells old. It is my understanding that the rooms have been remodeled but I'm not sure if the carpet was ever changed in the suites or in the lobby area leading to the suites. For me the odor in the building overshadowed any enjoyment of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mansfield, TX
Nov 9, 2010

Not fully satisfied

Granted that the hotel looks every nice from the outside and lobby area; however, they ran out of 2 queen bed room and gave me a king bed. When I booked through [...] 2 weeks before, I could have chosen a king bed option if I wanted it to. However, that wasn't the option that I picked. They did give me a roller bed though. Next, the water in the shower didn't drain fast enough so we basically took a shower in a puddle of water. Third, there was hair left behind from the previous guest in the tub. That was just right out gross. We don't want to come back to this hotel ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lack of sleep
Business
Ventura, Ca
Mar 6, 2010

Can't sleep at this hotel

This hotel is next to a main highway so trying to sleep in the bedroom was a nightmare, and the hotel has an open floor plan so from the 6th floor I could hear the people in the cafe below when trying to sleep in the living room. I changed rooms midway thru the trip so the staff attempted to charge me for a breakfast the guest before me ordered from that room upon check out. I will not stay at this hotel again. Oh and the location sucks its in an industrial area so I had to take highways to get to anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 20, 2010

Disapointed

Thought this was going to be a better hotel when I saw the picture of the indoor pool. What a rip, Gym was being remodeled and is connected to pool. So no one wanted to swim. Every door I tried to use stuck. Was on the top floor, which was hot, until you got the A/C going. TV in the living area didn't work. Might as well had a room with just a bed and TV in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria is pretty close.

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HectorUNO
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jan 28, 2014

Great location...Good room

I stayed one night here, it is a great hotel but when I opened the water faucets...well, it came out yellowish like if the pipes were never one...yuck !!! I let the water run for about 10 minutes, and then it cleared up. Another issue would be the shampoo/conditioner bottles had small amount because the bottles were really small... I do recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shower power
Business
grand prairie texas
Jul 22, 2010

Crowne Plaza

Everything was nice the only thing was when i ordered food i didnt get everything i ordered. Once i called and told them they said they would bring the missing stuff up, it never came. Also took a while to get towels had to call two times then they came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler
Business
laredo
Dec 23, 2014

indifferent front desk staff

indifferent, impolite front desk staff. only $60+ showed in chech-in paper for one night. but paid much higher than that when booked room. room is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christina L.
Business
San Francisco
Jan 22, 2015

Decent, nothing special

I traveled to Houston on business. This hotel was clean and convenient for me, but the facilities and design are a little dated. That said, my room was spacious and the transfer service was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top