$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

4 stars
9090 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
36 reviews
Wonderful Experience

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and the staff were very accommodating to my needs. I had a 7 pm... See full review

  • atoniz
  • Aug 12, 2014
Exellent family stay

We liked the location as the places and people we wanted to visit were closeby but the attractions... See full review

  • Hanif
  • Jul 21, 2014
Conveniently located Houston hotel with access to convention center

Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Sugar Land isn't technically a new hotel, but it feels like one. Fresh from a $7 million dollar renovation, the hotel offers guests a great value for premium oversized luxury suite accommodations. Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Sugar Land is perfectly set up for work or relaxation, with a number of business amenities alongside relaxing touches such as a pool, a poolside fitness center as well as an on-site restaurant and cocktail lounge for after-hours fun.

Highlights
  • Free parking for guests
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Newly renovated
Rooms

The nine-floor Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Sugar Land contains 243 suites, all appointed with comfortable, luxurious touches that guests will love. All 440-square-foot suites include two 32-inch flat-screen TVs, luxury linens, plush bedding, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, marble and granite countertops, balconies and modern furniture and fixtures.

Property features

Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Sugar Land is ideally located for a number of exciting Houston activities. The hotel is situated minutes from downtown Houston, Reliant Stadium, Galleria Mall and the George R. Brown Convention Center.

 

A variety of comfort foods with southwest cuisine flavors are available at the hotel's Sierra Grill, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Rendezvous Lounge offers cocktails for a perfect evening's relaxation.

 

The hotel is minutes from the Houston Museum District, Texas Medical Center and downtown Houston dining, shopping and nightlife. Guests can catch the Metro Light Rail, located a mile from the hotel, for easy access to downtown Houston's entertainment areas.

 

Recreation

The hotel's poolside fitness center is equipped with two executive trainer treadmills and a semi-recumbent bike. To cool off after a hard work out, guests can take a dip in the indoor pool and hot tub.

Transportation
  • Hobby Airport (25 mi/40 km)

 

 

Nearby attractions
  • Crain Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • African American Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Houston Arena Theatre (3 mi/5 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (6 mi/10 km)
  • George Brown Convention Center (10 mi/18 km)
     
Business
  • Three meeting rooms available
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Limousine service available (fees apply)

      

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Houston Chinatown: 3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.6 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 7.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 7.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 7.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 8.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 8.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 8.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 8.9 mi
  • Hermann Park: 9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 3 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 5 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.6 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 6.7 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 7.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 7.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 7.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 7.8 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 8.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 8.5 mi
  • Beer Can House: 8.8 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 8.9 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 8.9 mi
  • Hermann Park: 9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 9 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 9.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 9.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 9.3 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 9.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 11 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 11.2 mi
  • Toyota Center: 11.3 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 11.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 11.3 mi
  • Jones Hall: 11.4 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 11.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 11.5 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 11.6 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 11.6 mi
  • Market Square Park: 11.6 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 11.8 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 13.8 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17 mi

Dining

Sierra Grille
At the Sierra Grille, guests can treat themselves to a savory selection of southwest which inspired meals that are sure to satisfy every tastebud. Whether it's a fresh salad , a juicy burger, or a hearty rack of ribs that you prefer, there are breakfast
Sierra Grille Bar and Lounge
Meet with friends and co-workers at the Sierra Bar and Lounge, featuring casual dining, cocktails and entertainment. A full food and and seperate specialty drink menu is also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shower power
Business
grand prairie texas
Jul 22, 2010

Crowne Plaza

Everything was nice the only thing was when i ordered food i didnt get everything i ordered. Once i called and told them they said they would bring the missing stuff up, it never came. Also took a while to get towels had to call two times then they came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 20, 2010

Disapointed

Thought this was going to be a better hotel when I saw the picture of the indoor pool. What a rip, Gym was being remodeled and is connected to pool. So no one wanted to swim. Every door I tried to use stuck. Was on the top floor, which was hot, until you got the A/C going. TV in the living area didn't work. Might as well had a room with just a bed and TV in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria is pretty close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jvillalo
Business
San antonio, TX
Jun 27, 2010

Fantastic place to relax in a city.

Went to the city for a weekend getaway to go see a show. Took a chance to stay at this hotel based on other reviews. I'm glad I did, the rooms are great, the bed is really comfy and overall it's in the heart of the city where everything is minutes away from it all. I would definatly come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans
Jun 24, 2010

crowne Plaza/houston sugarland

rooms (suite)and inside pool were nice .....[...]....a little noisy at breakfast when restaurant opens....breakfast was a little pricey....all in all... good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
May 12, 2010

Clean, convienent, and wonderful hotel

Firstly, this was a wonderful hotel. The rooms were clean, roomy, and we were able to get it for a great price. The hotel is situated directly off of route 59. The area is safe and convenient. Right next door to the hotel is Saltgrass, which is I assume a chain steak house and an Olive Garden. However, if you walk pass the Olive Garden, there is a cool Taqueria named Ruchies which serves up wonderful mexican 24/7. It is also near a CVS drug store, Best buy, and a Shoe Carnival where there are great shoe deals. We honestly did not use any of the facilities but the room itself was clean and the beds were wonderful. Honestly, Crowne Plaza probably has some of the most comfortable beds of any chain hotels. There is nothing I would change about my stay or about anything about the place. I guess maybe the restaurant and bar in the hotel probably should stay open later, but other than that suggestion I wouldn't change a thing. The hotel is about 15 minutes to the Galleria mall. It has a skating rink inside as well as top name shops. (Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Coach to name a few) Also, you are about 45 minutes north of Kemah, which is a boardwalks with cool little stores and restaurants and amusement park rides. In the area is also a space museum. Kemah and the space museum are definitely places the kids would probably enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruchie's Taqueria is a great place to get great, filling, quality, and cheap Mexican food. I think you would have to go to Mexico or pay in Pesos to get something more authentic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 3, 2010

Great Stay

Concierge opened front door for us. He some how knew us by name, that was special. Check in was fast and flawless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cptncoolguy
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 8, 2010

First Class

This was a weekend getaway for my son and me. It should be noted that the hotel is located more in Southwest Houston and not really close to Sugar Land. Besides the hotel restaurant, there were two other restaurants next door: Saltgrass Steakhouse and Olive Garden. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. I asked for a room higher up and there was no hesitation. Although I did not dine at the hotel, the food smelled good in the morning as it wafted up to the 9th floor and there were even complimentary cookies on the way out. Good job, Crowne Plaza!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lack of sleep
Business
Ventura, Ca
Mar 6, 2010

Can't sleep at this hotel

This hotel is next to a main highway so trying to sleep in the bedroom was a nightmare, and the hotel has an open floor plan so from the 6th floor I could hear the people in the cafe below when trying to sleep in the living room. I changed rooms midway thru the trip so the staff attempted to charge me for a breakfast the guest before me ordered from that room upon check out. I will not stay at this hotel again. Oh and the location sucks its in an industrial area so I had to take highways to get to anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Luna's
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 8, 2009

Great place for a small get together!!

Always loved the Crown plaza and this one did not let down. Here to celebrate my sweetie's birthday. He loved the place with the two flat screen tvs, him and his friends played their favorite video games. Had plenty of room. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites HOUSTON - NEAR SUGAR LAND

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Sep 6, 2009

this hotel was very nice and big..

the hotel was very nice. And the people working there were very friendly....but the only thing i didnt like was that the pool was small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top