$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

3 stars
8686 Kirby Drive, Houston, TX 77054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
49 reviews
Nice Night at the Rodeo

This is the place to stay if you need a hotel for the Houston Rodeo! See full review

  • Tara Downs
  • Mar 6, 2014
small getaway

It was really nice ..the pool area was nice and clean. Our room was near rhe pool area. Clean room.... See full review

  • lucy7
  • Jul 27, 2014
Full-service Houston hotel within walking distance to Reliant Park
Whether guests are in town for shopping or business, Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center is a comfortable, luxurious haven for any traveler. Located across the street from Reliant Stadium, this newly renovated full-service hotel offers a dazzling array of meeting and event rooms covering a total of 66,000 square feet. Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center gracious guest rooms and suites come with a tempting array of amenities including new beds and free Wi-Fi.
Highlights
  • Newly renovated
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Sleep amenities including eye mask, earplugs and lavender aromatherapy spray
Rooms

Guests of Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center can look forward to a stay of comfort and luxury. In the hotel's rooms and suites, guests receive complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, free weekday newspaper, complimentary parking, free local calls and unlimited access to the 24-hour business center and to the hotel's on-site and state-of-the-art fitness center. 

For a great night's sleep, the hotel's rooms also offer comfortable new beds with Crowne Plaza's 7 Layers of Comfort mattresses, blackout drapes, designated "Quiet Zone" floors – and even professional sleep tips for the bleary-eyed.

Property features

Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center boasts an impressive amount of meeting space. The 60,000 square feet of flexible meeting space can be arranged to host 25 separate meetings ranging in size from an intimate grouping of 16 to as many as 2,000 attendees. All meeting rooms are equipped with Hermann Miller ergonomic chairs so that all attendees can relax in comfort. All meeting rooms are also equipped with free Wi-Fi.

 

Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (25 mi/40 km)

   

Nearby attractions
  • Reliant Arena (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Astrodome (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galleria Shopping Center (7 mi/12 km)
  • Shops at Three Corners (2 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Free business center 
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Free shuttle service (three-mile radius) 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Reliant Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 5.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 5.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 5.8 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 6.1 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 6.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 20.5 mi

Dining

Stetson's
Stetsons is a three meal restaurant featuring continental cuisine and a flavor of the Southwest. Offering full breakfast buffet every morning, lunch from 11am to 2pm and dinner from 5pm to 9pm.
Cattleman's Bar & Grill
Cattleman's Bar and Grill offers comfortable seating in our dining and lounge areas. Join us every day for Happy Hour for your favorite cocktails and appetizers
Cattleman's Bar & Grill
After a busy workday or a full day of shopping, unwind with colleagues, friends or family at the Cattleman's Bar & Grille in our hotel's lobby. Guests in Houston, Texas can easily relax thanks to top-shelf cocktails and the comfortable environment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3PM
Check-out:
11AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 49
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara Downs
Business
Texas
Mar 6, 2014

Nice Night at the Rodeo

This is the place to stay if you need a hotel for the Houston Rodeo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel'n Grandma
Business
Hobbs, NM
May 7, 2012

Great location

Great value for the price. Bathroom was small with low ceiling and bed not the most comfortable; however, the appointments were very nice. Staff was nice and location great near Reliant Center, Medical Center, and Rice University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kstark3
Business
Texas
Mar 15, 2012

Price Too High

Stayed here more than 30 years ago for honeymoon and it was nice. It is now a overpriced dump. We paid $236 for 1 night and the rooms were TERRIBLE. They also charged $30 a night for our guest for parking their car on site. They did not allow refunds once reserved. I will never stay here again. I am embarrased that this was were I honeymooned years ago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary wife
Business
RGV
Nov 7, 2011

Texans Game

The hotel was an excellent value for the price, and and the best location for the game. Although the staff was very friendly and the room was clean, I still feel that it did not meet my expectations for a Crown Plaza Hotel. The rooms in my opinion were very out dated, the room still had one of those old model TV's, the bathroom had a constant running of the toilet water,(we had to close door to bathroom due to noise.) the ac, although worked well made alot of noise. Then at 4;00 am trash truck or delivary truck right outside the window was making increditable noise. Oh and walking through building 3 oh my gosh the ugliest odor through the hall, smelled like really old mold. DO NOT STAY in building 3. OH and 1 more thing no where on their site did I see they charge for parking. Apperently if there is a function at Reliant there is a $20 parking charge. Oh and another thing although they do have a curtesy shuttle it only does a 5 mile redius.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are attending a function at Reliant Park this is the best place to stay. Across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel junky
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Happy in Houston

My boyfriend & I (33, & 24) wanted a vacation for a few days, & I found out the American Idol auditions were in Houston at the Reliant Stadium (Home of the Texans, NFL). Obviously, the location of the hotel was perfect--just down the street from Reliant Stadium, & just off the highway exit for a 10 minute drive to just about anywhere in Houston. The room was nice & clean- & the Hotel Lobby was Beautiful! There were a couple restaurants, a gym, a hair studio, a swimming pool etc. The only complaint I have was, being in the Gulf rooms, the walk from the lobby was quite a ways. There is a side entrance where our rooms were that closed at 9, but we usually got home later. I only bring this up because I am an amputee & it was a tiring walk for me, but for people able to walk it wouldn't be a problem. I'm sure if we wanted a room closer to the entrance, they would have given it to us, I just didn't want to complain :) In all it was a great, safe, relaxing hotel. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many awesome places to eat in Houston! We watched a few Youtube videos of Houston places to eat on shows like "Man vs. Food" & "Diners, Drive-ins, Dives." We chose 'Kenny & Ziggy's', & 'The Blue Fish,' & 'Tom's Steakhouse.' Not only was the food good, but it was cool being in a 'Famous' restaurant! A simple internet search & you can find SO many more places :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Basketball visitor
Business
Indianapolis
Apr 6, 2011

Walk to reliant stadium but poor ameniti

was in town for the final four men's NCAA basketball game. Easy to get to reliant stadium and the tram to go into the city. The room was nice but the amenities were poor. The building facade was dated and worn as was the hallways and elevators. One elevator was broken and the ice machines on our floor were all out of order I would only recommend staying here if you want to walk to the stadium

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tx
Aug 29, 2010

Great location for Reliant Stadium event

Enjoyed the convenience of being close to Reliant Stadium. Bed wasn't terribly comfy. Water pressure in shower was low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E.F.L.
Business
Shamokin, PA
May 25, 2010

Large room, with a very comfortable bed

My wife and I came to Houston for our daughter's graduation from Rice University. The city has great restaurants with many ethnic foods available. It was a great trip for both of us and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rayne, LA
Mar 21, 2010

convenient

we attended the houston livestock show and rodeo. we enjoyed the convenience mostly. not much different than other economy motels except a little more expensive I guess because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 20, 2010

Great location near all to do!

Went to Houston Medical Center for Dr. appointment. Proximity to hospital was the reason we chose this hotel. It was only 3 miles away and all on local roads. During our stay the Rodeo was at Reliant Stadium(across the street) and the parking was tight but manageable. The noise from the hallways was loud but that can be expected. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The television was an older model picture tube and not a flat screen. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you attend any event at Reliant Stadium yo just have to walk across the street. No need to drive and you save on parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top