$101 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

3 stars
8686 Kirby Drive, Houston, TX 77054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Nice Night at the Rodeo

This is the place to stay if you need a hotel for the Houston Rodeo! See full review

  • Tara Downs
  • Mar 6, 2014
Excellent experience

The room was fantastic, the pool was great & extremely clean and the staff were friendly. It was a... See full review

  • KaraBear
  • Jul 22, 2013
Full-service Houston hotel within walking distance to Reliant Park
Whether guests are in town for shopping or business, Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center is a comfortable, luxurious haven for any traveler. Located across the street from Reliant Stadium, this newly renovated full-service hotel offers a dazzling array of meeting and event rooms covering a total of 66,000 square feet. Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center gracious guest rooms and suites come with a tempting array of amenities including new beds and free Wi-Fi.
Highlights
  • Newly renovated
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Sleep amenities including eye mask, earplugs and lavender aromatherapy spray
Rooms

Guests of Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center can look forward to a stay of comfort and luxury. In the hotel's rooms and suites, guests receive complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, free weekday newspaper, complimentary parking, free local calls and unlimited access to the 24-hour business center and to the hotel's on-site and state-of-the-art fitness center. 

For a great night's sleep, the hotel's rooms also offer comfortable new beds with Crowne Plaza's 7 Layers of Comfort mattresses, blackout drapes, designated "Quiet Zone" floors – and even professional sleep tips for the bleary-eyed.

Property features

Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center boasts an impressive amount of meeting space. The 60,000 square feet of flexible meeting space can be arranged to host 25 separate meetings ranging in size from an intimate grouping of 16 to as many as 2,000 attendees. All meeting rooms are equipped with Hermann Miller ergonomic chairs so that all attendees can relax in comfort. All meeting rooms are also equipped with free Wi-Fi.

 

Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (25 mi/40 km)

   

Nearby attractions
  • Reliant Arena (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Astrodome (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galleria Shopping Center (7 mi/12 km)
  • Shops at Three Corners (2 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Free business center 
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Free shuttle service (three-mile radius) 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Reliant Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 5.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 5.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 5.8 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 6.1 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 6.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 20.5 mi

Dining

Stetson's
Stetsons is a three meal restaurant featuring continental cuisine and a flavor of the Southwest. Offering full breakfast buffet every morning, lunch from 11am to 2pm and dinner from 5pm to 9pm.
Cattleman's Bar & Grill
Cattleman's Bar and Grill offers comfortable seating in our dining and lounge areas. Join us every day for Happy Hour for your favorite cocktails and appetizers
Cattleman's Bar & Grill
After a busy workday or a full day of shopping, unwind with colleagues, friends or family at the Cattleman's Bar & Grille in our hotel's lobby. Guests in Houston, Texas can easily relax thanks to top-shelf cocktails and the comfortable environment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3PM
Check-out:
11AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 48
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.4

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Lone Flyer
Business
Irvine, California
Jul 14, 2014

Decent for Business Travel

Location was decent since my business site was right across the freeway. The breakfast could really use some work for the amount they are charging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eric Stites
Business
Portsmouth, NH
Feb 7, 2014

NEVER, EVER AGAIN!

This was probably my worst hotel experience in 20 years of business travel. This property is one of the most "tired" hotels I've ever stayed in. Rooms are very dated, plumbing is terrible (showers leak and spray water everywhere!), ventilation system is loud, room / bathroom was dirty, hallways smelled like sewage, food was terrible, very understaffed everywhere... I could go on and on but I won't. Do yourself a BIG favor and stay somewhere else! This place should be torn down! I am shocked that the Crowne Plaza earned an average rating of 3? This place is a big fat 1 at best. Run away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super travaler
Business
Wisconsin
May 16, 2013

Loud Dirty

Hotel sits on the hwy and was load all night. Not that clean needs to be updated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Phil27
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 9, 2013

A lees than impressive stay

My visit was less than optimal - I stayed during rodeo. The staff was completely unable to manage the overflow crowd, there we unending lines at the front desk requiring 10-20 minute waits to ask even simple questions, the parking lot was gated by security guards who stopped every car to make sure it wasn't a rodeo attendee looking for parking. But beyond the rodeo crowd the place not great - sleep was impossble due to rattling pipes, the decor was old an painted over, the restaurant menu was dated and room service was unable to correctly organize even simple orders. There are lots of other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaliMD
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 21, 2012

An ok place to sleep but that's all

If you're in town on business and not planning to spend a lot of time hanging around the hotel, this place is fine. It was right off the freeway, not really close to anything except Reliant Park, which is right across the street. The grounds and pool area are nice but the rooms were awful. Inside it looked like a run down old tenement: old peeling paint, stained carpets, chipped tile, moldy shower, low ceilings, cheap out of date fixtures. The closet was this tiny thing back in the corner with a ricketty folding mirrored door. The one saving grace was the bed, which is good because the room is so small, you can't really be anywhere else but on the bed. Oh and they do have free wifi. Props for that. The staff were very nice. If they did some serious renovation on the rooms, it would help a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cball56
Business
dallas,tx
Oct 4, 2011

stay at crowne plaza,reliant park

hotel and staff was great, nice bar area and dinning room,food was great,sweet location right next to staduim,security was good ,nice pool area for relaxing and chilling out,my only complaint was the staff was just a bit lazying in removing food trays from hallways it sometimes left and odor outside in the hall,very well lighted parking area.theres plenty of places to eat out side the hotel area as well,and right off the freeway so easy access to travel to and from.would stay there again and plan too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoy the short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
May 2, 2010

Never again

I would never stay in this hotel again. The lobby is beautiful and that was where the good stuff ended. The room phones didn't work and the door was warped and wouldn't bolt. I had two rooms and they were both old and dirty. I had to walk down to the front desk to get a wake up call and tell them my phones didn't work. I got a wake up knock instead. They have a policy stating that if you don't get your wake up "call" your room is free. Don't believe it because it's not true. The next night the phones still weren't working and neither were my hotel keys. I walked down to the front desk to get my keys reprogrammed so they would work. I had to go to the front desk three different times because the keys would not work. This is 10:00 at night. They finally got me into my room and 10 minutes later the phone repairman came to fix the phone. They had all day to fix the phones and didn't. When I talked to the hotel night manager about my keys and the phones not working and he assured me the policy of the hotel was to do a wake up "call" and a "knock" every morning. I finally did get a wake up call but no knock. The hotel manager was lying to to my face and I knew he was lying as he was talking. This was the worst hotel stay ever. I will never go back. The rooms were AWFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Texas
Mar 19, 2010

Business Stay

was easily accessible. It was Rodeo night next door at Reliant stadium. Appreciated security staff working parking to make sure customers had places to park. Room was amazingly large (I was in handicapped room - I guess all that was left) that had extremely comfortable and plush bedding. The food (steak) was pricey and not very flavorful and not tender. Knife was dull which added to frustration of cutting steak. margaritas were GREAT though!! Overall pleasant experience - I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would probably go out to a restaurant next time. I was by myself on business and lots of traffic due to rodeo - so I chose to eat in the restaurant. Next time I'd probably eat off site at a nice restaurant in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 13, 2007

Lobby AC

The only real complaint as to the HOuston Grand Plaza hotel was the lobby and restuart area seemed to have been very conservative on the use of air conditioning. Warm all most stuffy. Very convenient to Reliant Park, Astrodome and Medical Center with shuttles running to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top