$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

3 stars
View map of 8686 Kirby Drive, Houston, TX 77054

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Nice Night at the Rodeo

This is the place to stay if you need a hotel for the Houston Rodeo! See full review

  • Tara Downs
  • Mar 6, 2014
small getaway

It was really nice ..the pool area was nice and clean. Our room was near rhe pool area. Clean room.... See full review

  • lucy7
  • Jul 27, 2014
Whether guests are in town for shopping or business, Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center is a comfortable, luxurious haven for any traveler. Located across the street from Reliant Stadium, this newly renovated full-service hotel offers a dazzling array of meeting and event rooms covering a total of 66,000 square feet. Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center gracious guest rooms and suites come with a tempting array of amenities including new beds and free Wi-Fi.
Rooms

Guests of Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center can look forward to a stay of comfort and luxury. In the hotel's rooms and suites, guests receive complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, free weekday newspaper, complimentary parking, free local calls and unlimited access to the 24-hour business center and to the hotel's on-site and state-of-the-art fitness center. 

For a great night's sleep, the hotel's rooms also offer comfortable new beds with Crowne Plaza's 7 Layers of Comfort mattresses, blackout drapes, designated "Quiet Zone" floors – and even professional sleep tips for the bleary-eyed.

Property features

Crowne Plaza Houston Hotel Near Reliant Park/Medical Center boasts an impressive amount of meeting space. The 60,000 square feet of flexible meeting space can be arranged to host 25 separate meetings ranging in size from an intimate grouping of 16 to as many as 2,000 attendees. All meeting rooms are equipped with Hermann Miller ergonomic chairs so that all attendees can relax in comfort. All meeting rooms are also equipped with free Wi-Fi.

 

Highlights
  • Newly renovated
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Sleep amenities including eye mask, earplugs and lavender aromatherapy spray
Nearby attractions
  • Reliant Arena (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Astrodome (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galleria Shopping Center (7 mi/12 km)
  • Shops at Three Corners (2 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Free business center 
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Free shuttle service (three-mile radius) 
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (25 mi/40 km)

   

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Reliant Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 2.5 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 2.6 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.8 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 3.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 3.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 3.5 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 3.5 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 4.1 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.8 mi
  • Water Wall: 4.9 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 5.1 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 5.4 mi
  • Toyota Center: 5.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 5.8 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 6 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 6.1 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 6.2 mi
  • Jones Hall: 6.3 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 6.3 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 6.3 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 6.4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 6.4 mi
  • Market Square Park: 6.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9.7 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 11.9 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 18.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 20.5 mi

Dining

Stetson's
Stetsons is a three meal restaurant featuring continental cuisine and a flavor of the Southwest. Offering full breakfast buffet or A La Carte every morning from 6:30am to 10:30am , lunch from 11am to 2pm and dinner from 5pm to10pm.
Cattleman's Bar & Grill
Cattleman's Bar and Grill offers comfortable seating in our dining and lounge areas. Join us every day for Happy Hour for your favorite cocktails and appetizers open daily from 2pm to 11pm
Cattleman's Bar & Grill
After a busy workday or a full day of shopping, unwind with colleagues, friends or family at the Cattleman's Bar & Grille in our hotel's lobby. Guests in Houston, Texas can easily relax thanks to top-shelf cocktails and the comfortable environment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3PM
Check-out:
11AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eric Stites
Business
Portsmouth, NH
Feb 7, 2014

NEVER, EVER AGAIN!

This was probably my worst hotel experience in 20 years of business travel. This property is one of the most "tired" hotels I've ever stayed in. Rooms are very dated, plumbing is terrible (showers leak and spray water everywhere!), ventilation system is loud, room / bathroom was dirty, hallways smelled like sewage, food was terrible, very understaffed everywhere... I could go on and on but I won't. Do yourself a BIG favor and stay somewhere else! This place should be torn down! I am shocked that the Crowne Plaza earned an average rating of 3? This place is a big fat 1 at best. Run away!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angela Astros
Friends
Lafayette La
Apr 3, 2014

Opening day Astros vs Yankees

Room was ok. Bathroom was disgusting found someone's hair in the bath tub. Staff was no help in getting us transportation. Will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
parents of a special kids
Family
Lufkin, texas
Sep 20, 2013

NEVER AGAIN

Directions to the room were non existent. We wandered around til we just happened upon it. The room smelled like smoke even though it was a non smoking room, so did the towels. The fridge was not plugged in and all the plugs in the room were so loose that we couldnt get any of the phone chargers to work. And talk about sweltering heat. The ac was off when we got to the room. We turned it on and it smelled like a dirty bathroom. At about midnight the room next door came home. Yelling, screaming, playing loud music and setting out on the balcony drinking. Then they started walking around on the roof. We called the front desk and they sent security which only made them make even more noise. I guess at 130 am another room called and security came back and banged on the door and they finally stopped being so loud around 2am. Beer cans all over the place. We wont be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Texas
Mar 12, 2010

Never go there again

For the money it cost we could have done better with a motel 6 or something. Only had one bath towel and no hair dryer. Had to call the front desk twice to get a hair dryer. No refrigerator, no microwave, noisy air conditioner so loud couldnt hear the TV. The bed was so uncomfortable we didnt get any sleep and had sore back the next day. The elevator was filthy and the back door didnt have a security lock on it. For the same trip we will certainly book a different hotel next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
May 2, 2010

Never again

I would never stay in this hotel again. The lobby is beautiful and that was where the good stuff ended. The room phones didn't work and the door was warped and wouldn't bolt. I had two rooms and they were both old and dirty. I had to walk down to the front desk to get a wake up call and tell them my phones didn't work. I got a wake up knock instead. They have a policy stating that if you don't get your wake up "call" your room is free. Don't believe it because it's not true. The next night the phones still weren't working and neither were my hotel keys. I walked down to the front desk to get my keys reprogrammed so they would work. I had to go to the front desk three different times because the keys would not work. This is 10:00 at night. They finally got me into my room and 10 minutes later the phone repairman came to fix the phone. They had all day to fix the phones and didn't. When I talked to the hotel night manager about my keys and the phones not working and he assured me the policy of the hotel was to do a wake up "call" and a "knock" every morning. I finally did get a wake up call but no knock. The hotel manager was lying to to my face and I knew he was lying as he was talking. This was the worst hotel stay ever. I will never go back. The rooms were AWFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
njp
Family
N/A
Aug 25, 2015

poorly kept hotel

Wouldn't recommend--poorly kept hotel. Run down look with non-existent customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rodeo Lover
Family
Austin, Texas
Mar 26, 2014

Rodeo trip

I've stayed in this hotel before 2 times. This was our third time. We enjoy coming to the rodeo each year. This hotel is the perfect location for attending the rodeo because it's a short walk. However, the hotel is nothing special-it's been here for quite awhile. The first time we stayed our room was in one of the outer sections. It was horrible. There was water trapped under the tub liner so it was quite dangerous to stand in the tub. We reported it upon checkout thinking they might compensate in some way. Response was-OK, we're sorry. The next time we requested a tower room. It was much better. This is the only type of room I would recommend. However, this time the room was dirty (pieces of toe nail on carpet). Also, the bathroom ceiling was about to fall in. For a hotel in this great location that benefits from guaranteed Houston Texans Football & Houston Rodeo business, major upgrades and renovations should be completed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas956
Friends
Edinburg, TX, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Texans game trip

Our first room was horrible because the a/c was not cooling the room. It also had a strange smell that didnt seem to go away. We had to switch rooms to a more decent one. Overall the hotel was okay because it was walking distance to the Reliant stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kstark3
Couples
Texas
Mar 15, 2012

Price Too High

Stayed here more than 30 years ago for honeymoon and it was nice. It is now a overpriced dump. We paid $236 for 1 night and the rooms were TERRIBLE. They also charged $30 a night for our guest for parking their car on site. They did not allow refunds once reserved. I will never stay here again. I am embarrased that this was were I honeymooned years ago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Phil27
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 9, 2013

A lees than impressive stay

My visit was less than optimal - I stayed during rodeo. The staff was completely unable to manage the overflow crowd, there we unending lines at the front desk requiring 10-20 minute waits to ask even simple questions, the parking lot was gated by security guards who stopped every car to make sure it wasn't a rodeo attendee looking for parking. But beyond the rodeo crowd the place not great - sleep was impossble due to rattling pipes, the decor was old an painted over, the restaurant menu was dated and room service was unable to correctly organize even simple orders. There are lots of other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top