$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 15, 2015

Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

3 stars
View map of 8686 Kirby Drive, Houston, TX 77054

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean City, MD
Jan 28, 2011

Lack of attention to detail

My bathroom was tinny tiney, the cookie they left as a check in gift was wrapped and stale, there was a trash can in my hallway the whole time I was there with medical waste spilling out of it and it was very noisy around the clock. I let the front desk know twice about the trash. It was still there when I checked out days later. My flight home was cancelled and opted to check in somewhere else. The General manager needs to walk every inch of the property with fresh eyes. Oddly enough the grounds were very well maintained. The staff, especially the shuttle drivers were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the shuttle to Pappaduex's Seafood across the street for lunch or dinner. Also you can walk to the light rail and take a roundtrip tour of the city for $2.50.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DeKalb, IL
Dec 31, 2010

Good Location, Ample Parking, Nice Rooms

Visited for the Texas Bowl at Reliant Stadium. Great location with a short walk to the stadium. Clean rooms and great service. I would definitely stay there again if I was coming to any attraction at Reliant Stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tx
Aug 29, 2010

Great location for Reliant Stadium event

Enjoyed the convenience of being close to Reliant Stadium. Bed wasn't terribly comfy. Water pressure in shower was low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
E.F.L.
Business
Shamokin, PA
May 25, 2010

Large room, with a very comfortable bed

My wife and I came to Houston for our daughter's graduation from Rice University. The city has great restaurants with many ethnic foods available. It was a great trip for both of us and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LAREDO TX.
May 17, 2010

TRIP TO A SOCCER GAME

MY SON INVITE ME TO HOUSTON FOR A SOCCER GAME, THAT'S WHY WE CHOOSE THIS HOTEL , FOR THE LOCATION, WHICH IT'S GREAT, BUT FOR THE PRICE WE WERE EXPECTING A BETTER ROOM IT WAS SO SMALL, WE DECIDED TO EAT AT THE HOTEL BECAUSE OF THE TRAFFIC AND THE FOOD WASN'T THAT GOOD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THIS HOTEL IT'S SHORT WALK TO THE RELIANT PARK.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
May 2, 2010

Never again

I would never stay in this hotel again. The lobby is beautiful and that was where the good stuff ended. The room phones didn't work and the door was warped and wouldn't bolt. I had two rooms and they were both old and dirty. I had to walk down to the front desk to get a wake up call and tell them my phones didn't work. I got a wake up knock instead. They have a policy stating that if you don't get your wake up "call" your room is free. Don't believe it because it's not true. The next night the phones still weren't working and neither were my hotel keys. I walked down to the front desk to get my keys reprogrammed so they would work. I had to go to the front desk three different times because the keys would not work. This is 10:00 at night. They finally got me into my room and 10 minutes later the phone repairman came to fix the phone. They had all day to fix the phones and didn't. When I talked to the hotel night manager about my keys and the phones not working and he assured me the policy of the hotel was to do a wake up "call" and a "knock" every morning. I finally did get a wake up call but no knock. The hotel manager was lying to to my face and I knew he was lying as he was talking. This was the worst hotel stay ever. I will never go back. The rooms were AWFUL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Apr 12, 2010

Ideal Stay

Overall very nice! Location was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rayne, LA
Mar 21, 2010

convenient

we attended the houston livestock show and rodeo. we enjoyed the convenience mostly. not much different than other economy motels except a little more expensive I guess because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 20, 2010

Great location near all to do!

Went to Houston Medical Center for Dr. appointment. Proximity to hospital was the reason we chose this hotel. It was only 3 miles away and all on local roads. During our stay the Rodeo was at Reliant Stadium(across the street) and the parking was tight but manageable. The noise from the hallways was loud but that can be expected. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The television was an older model picture tube and not a flat screen. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you attend any event at Reliant Stadium yo just have to walk across the street. No need to drive and you save on parking.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston Texas
Mar 19, 2010

Business Stay

was easily accessible. It was Rodeo night next door at Reliant stadium. Appreciated security staff working parking to make sure customers had places to park. Room was amazingly large (I was in handicapped room - I guess all that was left) that had extremely comfortable and plush bedding. The food (steak) was pricey and not very flavorful and not tender. Knife was dull which added to frustration of cutting steak. margaritas were GREAT though!! Overall pleasant experience - I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would probably go out to a restaurant next time. I was by myself on business and lots of traffic due to rodeo - so I chose to eat in the restaurant. Next time I'd probably eat off site at a nice restaurant in town.

Back to menu Return to top