$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

3 stars
View map of 8686 Kirby Drive, Houston, TX 77054

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel'n Grandma
Couples
Hobbs, NM
May 7, 2012

Great location

Great value for the price. Bathroom was small with low ceiling and bed not the most comfortable; however, the appointments were very nice. Staff was nice and location great near Reliant Center, Medical Center, and Rice University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kstark3
Couples
Texas
Mar 15, 2012

Price Too High

Stayed here more than 30 years ago for honeymoon and it was nice. It is now a overpriced dump. We paid $236 for 1 night and the rooms were TERRIBLE. They also charged $30 a night for our guest for parking their car on site. They did not allow refunds once reserved. I will never stay here again. I am embarrased that this was were I honeymooned years ago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas956
Friends
Edinburg, TX, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Texans game trip

Our first room was horrible because the a/c was not cooling the room. It also had a strange smell that didnt seem to go away. We had to switch rooms to a more decent one. Overall the hotel was okay because it was walking distance to the Reliant stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary wife
Couples
RGV
Nov 7, 2011

Texans Game

The hotel was an excellent value for the price, and and the best location for the game. Although the staff was very friendly and the room was clean, I still feel that it did not meet my expectations for a Crown Plaza Hotel. The rooms in my opinion were very out dated, the room still had one of those old model TV's, the bathroom had a constant running of the toilet water,(we had to close door to bathroom due to noise.) the ac, although worked well made alot of noise. Then at 4;00 am trash truck or delivary truck right outside the window was making increditable noise. Oh and walking through building 3 oh my gosh the ugliest odor through the hall, smelled like really old mold. DO NOT STAY in building 3. OH and 1 more thing no where on their site did I see they charge for parking. Apperently if there is a function at Reliant there is a $20 parking charge. Oh and another thing although they do have a curtesy shuttle it only does a 5 mile redius.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are attending a function at Reliant Park this is the best place to stay. Across the street.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
México
Oct 5, 2011

Needs renovation

If you are going to Reliant Stadium, it is the best location available... If you are not going to the stadium, keep away from this hotel you can find much better/newer hotels for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Reliant Stadium

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cball56
Business
dallas,tx
Oct 4, 2011

stay at crowne plaza,reliant park

hotel and staff was great, nice bar area and dinning room,food was great,sweet location right next to staduim,security was good ,nice pool area for relaxing and chilling out,my only complaint was the staff was just a bit lazying in removing food trays from hallways it sometimes left and odor outside in the hall,very well lighted parking area.theres plenty of places to eat out side the hotel area as well,and right off the freeway so easy access to travel to and from.would stay there again and plan too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoy the short walk

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel junky
Couples
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Happy in Houston

My boyfriend & I (33, & 24) wanted a vacation for a few days, & I found out the American Idol auditions were in Houston at the Reliant Stadium (Home of the Texans, NFL). Obviously, the location of the hotel was perfect--just down the street from Reliant Stadium, & just off the highway exit for a 10 minute drive to just about anywhere in Houston. The room was nice & clean- & the Hotel Lobby was Beautiful! There were a couple restaurants, a gym, a hair studio, a swimming pool etc. The only complaint I have was, being in the Gulf rooms, the walk from the lobby was quite a ways. There is a side entrance where our rooms were that closed at 9, but we usually got home later. I only bring this up because I am an amputee & it was a tiring walk for me, but for people able to walk it wouldn't be a problem. I'm sure if we wanted a room closer to the entrance, they would have given it to us, I just didn't want to complain :) In all it was a great, safe, relaxing hotel. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many awesome places to eat in Houston! We watched a few Youtube videos of Houston places to eat on shows like "Man vs. Food" & "Diners, Drive-ins, Dives." We chose 'Kenny & Ziggy's', & 'The Blue Fish,' & 'Tom's Steakhouse.' Not only was the food good, but it was cool being in a 'Famous' restaurant! A simple internet search & you can find SO many more places :)

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CatCat
Family
Knoxville, TN, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Great room for the $!

The value for the price paid was worth every penny. Very close to MD Anderson hospitals and free shuttle back and forth was great.. The package with hotel and airfare saved lots of bucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rice Village was a few miles away with great shopping and dining and free shuttle from the hotel.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CatCat
Family
Knoxville, TN, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Great place for the money!

comfortable rooms , cool and quiet. Attentive staff. Great food and drink in the cafe/bar. Shuttle drivers were accommodating and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rice village had great shopping and restaurants very close to the hotel as wel as several museums.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT- MEDICAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Basketball visitor
Couples
Indianapolis
Apr 6, 2011

Walk to reliant stadium but poor ameniti

was in town for the final four men's NCAA basketball game. Easy to get to reliant stadium and the tram to go into the city. The room was nice but the amenities were poor. The building facade was dated and worn as was the hallways and elevators. One elevator was broken and the ice machines on our floor were all out of order I would only recommend staying here if you want to walk to the stadium

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top