$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
2712 SOUTHWEST FREEWAY, HOUSTON, TX 77098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
107 reviews
Great Stay

Great bang for your buck. Staff is great and the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. See full review

  • EDHRF
  • Jun 9, 2014
We love this place

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years when we travel to houston and we always... See full review

  • Phillip the filmmaker
  • May 5, 2014
Welcome to Our Houston - River Oaks Hotel Located halfway between the Galleria Mall and downtown Houston, our hotel is perfectly suited for both business and leisure travelers. By day you can attend meetings and conferences, and by night you can enjoy the many shops, restaurants and attractions around the city. The Crowne Plaza® Hotel Houston - River Oaks is 100% non-smoking and is situated on the Southwest Freeway near Greenway Plaza and companies like Koch Industries, Occidental and Chevron. You can also easily get to the Texas Medical Center, Rice University and University of Houston. If you need to host a special event or meeting, take advantage of our reputation as "The Place to Meet" in River Oaks. Our hotel offers more than 12,000 sq ft of space, a 24-hour business center, 2-hour RFP response and a personal Crowne Meeting Director. Are you visiting for fun? Staying at the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Houston - River Oaks means easy access to attractions such as Houston Zoo, the Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park and the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. Our complimentary shuttle can also take you to the immense Houston - Galleria Mall if you prefer shopping to sports games. Whether you're vacationing or attending a meeting, we're the best place to stay near downtown Houston. Hotel amenities you are sure to enjoy include an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center and the on-site Reeds Restaurant and Bar & Lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7313 -95.4212
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 27.00, MI; HOUSTON, (HOU), 13.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 3.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 3.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 3.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17.5 mi

Dining

Reeds Restaurant
Reeds Restaurant has brand new menus featuring buffet style dining for breakfast and menu dining for lunch and dinner. We also have a full bar service and room service is available. Located off of the lobby with a Breakfast buffet daily from 10.99. Lunc
Hillstone
Serves a complete American menu with a full bar
Goode Company Seafood - Houston
Serving fresh Gulf seafood fried, broiled, boiled or sauteed. Full bar.
Reeds Bar & Lounge
You can easily relax in front of the flat panel TVs while sipping cocktails with friends, family or clients at Reeds Bar & Lounge. Try one of our fine wines - we have a great wine list. Order appetizers or dinner from our Houston, TX hotel bar menu!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 107
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rchan11
Saskatoon, SK
Jan 20, 2014

Very affordable hotel only 10 minutes away from downtown

This hotel was a great value. Self parking was only $9. Rooms were large and clean. The sheets were coarse. Location was right by the interstate so restaurants weren't difficult to find. Nothing really close by walking standards though. Toyota Center was only 10-15 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short 10-15 drive to Toyota Center even in rush hour.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sotxguy
corpus christi
Sep 22, 2013

Time to find a new hotel in the area

Ive stayed here many times and something is always wrong. the last two visits the elevator from the ground floor to the various garage levels was not working. you have to bring your bags to the lobby and then carry them up the stairs to your floor. the hot water was luke warm at best and the tub practially fills up while showering. ill be looking for a new hotel in the area. this is definately NOT a crown plaza caliber property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danma
Newton, MA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Will stay again!

We paid a reasonable price to stay here for a week. Good location to access different places. A minute to freeway. Many thanks to receptionist Shaila who was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our quiet and clean room with satisfaction. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danma
Newton, MA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Will stay again!

We paid a reasonable price to stay here for a week. Good location to access different places. A minute to freeway. Many thanks to receptionist Shaila who was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our quiet and clean room with satisfaction. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Nov 23, 2009

review

We traveled to Houston for a college sporting event. When a group of families get together it is nice to have a spot to sit and visit in the evenings. The bar closed at 11:00 and there was no entertainment. We also did not get told about the location of the business center that held the free coffee, computers and the brochures of the places to visit. I wish the hotel had more for us to do in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntsville,
Nov 18, 2009

The night I was ripped off!!!!!

My family and I had a venue to attend in Houston at the reliant stadium. When we arrived the location fantastic. When checking in I ask where should I park the parking garage is what they told me I said ok they then said that will be eight dollars. They made me pay eight dollars to park I asked is there any where else I could park that's free they said no I ask what do I do with my truck they said pay eight doallars to park on our parking garage. Rude is the only way I could describe their attitude. The room was small but useable the battteries to the remote were dead floors dirty glasses dirty. The fridge didn't work. All in all one of the worst hotels I've attended. I would not recommend to anyone I even became sick after the stay. This hotel or should I say motel is off my potential stays I would go to motel six before the Crowne plaza at the red oak. I felt zzwmmmmmmmmmmn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

My hint to future hotel patrons use another hotel

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntsville,
Nov 18, 2009

The night I was ripped off!!!!!

My family and I had a venue to attend in Houston at the reliant stadium. When we arrived the location fantastic. When checking in I ask where should I park the parking garage is what they told me I said ok they then said that will be eight dollars. They made me pay eight dollars to park I asked is there any where else I could park that's free they said no I ask what do I do with my truck they said pay eight doallars to park on our parking garage. Rude is the only way I could describe their attitude. The room was small but useable the battteries to the remote were dead floors dirty glasses dirty. The fridge didn't work. All in all one of the worst hotels I've attended. I would not recommend to anyone I even became sick after the stay. This hotel or should I say motel is off my potential stays I would go to motel six before the Crowne plaza at the red oak. I felt zzwmmmmmmmmmmn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

My hint to future hotel patrons use another hotel

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Nov 16, 2009

no good choice

no good didnt even stay cheked out faster than i checked in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
McKinney, TX
Aug 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Nice quiet room with good view outside, friendly staffs. Good price and the only bad thing is they charge $8.00 for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

good restaurants in the area.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
McKinney, TX
Aug 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Nice quiet room with good view outside, friendly staffs. Good price and the only bad thing is they charge $8.00 for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

good restaurants in the area.

Back to menu Return to top