$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business & pleasure
Business
san antonio, tx
Aug 10, 2009

Great, updated hotel

Check in was very easy & the staff was super friendly. The room was spotless & I really appreciate the fact that it's updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Aug 10, 2009

Nice stay

Convenient location with plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area. Room was very spacious and fairly clean (I did find a dead roach in a corner). Bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Service was very good and prompt. Great price for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Corner Bakery, Chick-fil-A, Einsteins, Tex Mex all very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tao L.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Family trip

It's convenient to our visited places and comfortable to live.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VLJ Houston
Business
Katy
Mar 16, 2015

Short Stay

Stayed at hotel for Houston Rodeo & Livestock show. It was okay. Not spectacular, but not bad either. Good for what I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Oct 4, 2009

Crowne Plaza with Holiday Inn Heritage..

We liked the hotel, but the bar/restaurant didn't open till 5:00pm? 2 makers w/rocks $20? Staff was very helpfull and willing to drive us to local restaurants/shopping. Room was nice, but obviously incomplete refurbish... no complaint, just weird. Location was great. Easy to find and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Directly across the freeway... Good Company Fresh seafood. Awesome. Rice villiage was better than the Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Nov 23, 2009

review

We traveled to Houston for a college sporting event. When a group of families get together it is nice to have a spot to sit and visit in the evenings. The bar closed at 11:00 and there was no entertainment. We also did not get told about the location of the business center that held the free coffee, computers and the brochures of the places to visit. I wish the hotel had more for us to do in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
7055
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Good stay

It was a very comfortable bed. there are no "complaints" . Also there were no "wow" encounters. The staff did not exceed they simply met basic requirements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeganLovesTexas
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 7, 2011

Easy Location - Easy Stay

I live in the North West Houston area and booked a night here when one of my friends was flying in to Houston to visit me for the weekend. I wanted us to be closer to the downtown fun so I booked this hotel. I figured cab rides to and from any of the places we wanted to go would be fairly cheap. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Ammenities are average - there is a restaurant in the hotel which is nice. Breakfast menu was pretty awesome - with really decent prices! All in all the hotel was totally worth the price. Words of wisdom for those that have never been to Houston - There are about a million different ways to get to the same place, so I advise to google map where you want to go and be sure to tell the cap drivers the way you wish to travel - this can be the difference between a $20 cab ride and an $8 cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Words of wisdom for those that have never been to Houston - There are about a million different ways to get to the same place, so I advise to google map where you want to go and be sure to tell the cap drivers the way you wish to travel - this can be the difference between a $20 cab ride and an $8 cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Nov 21, 2011

value location and friendly staff

A bit off the beaten path this hotel was clean and everyone friendly. Free shuttle service was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Convenient to medical centers, university and shuttle to the Galleria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iachimo
Business
Asheville, NC, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Met my expectations, but...

ASK if they charge for parking. This hotel charged eight bucks a night. Also be aware there are TWO crown plaza hotels; this one is farther north off Kirby near the SW fwy. The other one is south near the 610 loop. Otherwise, the room was lovely, the help was very friendly, and I got a great deal of work done in my room. I would recommend this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the Rothko Chapel. I know chapels aren't usually a visual attraction, but this one is a very interesting variant of Mark Rothko's work. Worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top