$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando florida
Sep 4, 2009

great experience

great location, great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern,illinois
Mar 8, 2010

Oasis in Texas

Visiting family. Great location easy to get to many sites. Room was spacious and very clean. Real enjoyment after traveling long distance. Rates two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 14, 2011

Was a very nice stay.

The reasoning behind the 4 stars is in respect to the our initial interaction with the check in staff. However, once we entered our room, we were met with an extremely large and comfortable room. We had a nice view of the Houston Medical District and Downtown Skyline. It is extremely easy to access from highway 59. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corpus Christi, Tx.
Sep 26, 2009

Nice close location to event.

Overall was very good. Unexpected mess in refrigerator, but taken care of in timely manner. In comparison to other trips was average to good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Jul 28, 2009

Unbeatable price for the location

We stayed there close to the Rice Village which is where we were intending to spend the evening. It was great to be able to have a shuttle service over there. The only down side was the water went out on us when we were leaving. Luckily showers had been taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland
Jun 15, 2008

Nice Stay

We went on this trip for a bowling induction in the hotel. Well when you first pull up, you can either do valet or just turn into the parking garage, grab a ticket and park. You will be charged $8 for parking to your room if you are staying in the hotel per day. The attendant in the parking garage told us we would not be charged for parking since we were staying in the hotel, but when we got home and looked at our account, $8 had been charged to our card. *IT WOULD OF BEEN NICE IF HE HAD BEEN INFORMED OUR CARD WOULD BE CHARGED INSTEAD OF BEING TOLD WE WEREN'T GOING TO BE CHARGED FOR PARKING.* Staff was very nice and courteous, we had no problems with them. My son and I tried working out in the exercise room but half of the equipment was broken. Pool is sort of small, but goes to 5' deep. There are plenty of towels and places to sit or lounge around the pool. The soda machine on floor 10 wasn't working the entire stay, it took our money. On floor 9 the soda machine gave you soda when you pressed the water button. The room service menu is expensive. The hotel is located right by the freeway and the entrance is small, so if you're not looking for it, you might drive by and have to drive around the block to get back to the one and only hotel entrance. The rooms were wonderfully comfortable. Just be careful when watching tv, the way it is set up, that you don't accidentally order a pay-per-view movie. (Not necessarily adult either.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About a block away from the hotel is a Taco Cabana that is open 24 hours. There is also a convenience store about a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonaD09
Business
Houston
Jul 8, 2009

enjoyed stay overall

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue I had was that my room lock wouldn't work. Once I notified them of this, they immediately fixed the problem, but it later was broke again. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pawa family
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 21, 2009

Good value but need to check-in on time

The room was good, but the bathroom was smaller than we expected. We reserved 2-queen bed room. We went there at 2PM for early check in, but the room was not ready. When we went back again at 6PM, the staff told us that 2-queen-bed rooms were gone. After we told her that we went at 2PM before and insisted that we wanted the 2-queen bed not 1-king bed, the staff could fix it for us. It was still an upset experience though. So be aware if you didn't show up at the check in time 3PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Weekend stay at Crowne

Was on a business conference. The parking fee was $8.00 for overnight parking, which I think should have been waived off if you are a guest at the hotel. Other than that, the access to the parking is not a very pleasant experience. Clean rooms, good location, at an affordable price and about 10 mins from downtown so it was great for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Gas station and car wash just around the corner. If you are staying here and not parking overnight you do not have to pay the parking fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jul 13, 2009

Great location

The hotel was very easy to get to and very centrally located to the areas that we needed to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top