$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
73 reviews
Short Stay

Stayed at hotel for Houston Rodeo & Livestock show. It was okay. Not spectacular, but not bad... See full review

  • VLJ Houston
  • Mar 16, 2015
Family trip

It's convenient to our visited places and comfortable to live. See full review

  • Tao L.
  • Dec 31, 2014

Located halfway between downtown Houston and the upscale The Galleria Shopping Center, Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks is perfectly situated for business and leisure travelers. The hotel boasts an array of fun, cheerful design details like asymmetrical booths in its restaurant, accordion-type lighting fixtures and triangular accents at the front desk. Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks offers quick access to universities, medical centers and attractions. Business amenities include extensive meeting space and a 24-hour business center.

Dining

The on-site Reeds Restaurant & Bar offers American casual cuisine in a comfortable dining room. The restaurant offers buffet-style dining for breakfast. In the evening, guests relax in the bar area while watching flat-panel TVs showing sporting events and news.

Rooms

Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks rooms are spacious and comfortable. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, free morning newspaper, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge and work desk. Suites offer a separate living area, two TVs, wet bar and sleeper sofa.

Property features
Business travelers appreciate the hotel's business-friendly amenities, like the 24-hour business center and personal meeting director. The hotel has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center, a top Houston attraction comprised of 375 stores, indoor ice rink and spectacular glass atriums. With an expansion in 2003, the mall became the fourth largest in the nation, highlighted by nine types of stone, suspended glass balconies and plush leather seating.

Highlights
  • Situated between downtown Houston and Galleria area
  • Extensive meeting space and 24-hour business center
  • Free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center
Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Minute Maid Park (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • Toyota Center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.1 mi/6.6 km)



 

Business
  • 24- hour business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Internet access (fees apply)
Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)

     

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 3.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 3.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 3.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17.5 mi

Dining

Reeds Restaurant
Reeds Restaurant has brand new menus featuring buffet style dining for breakfast and menu dining for lunch and dinner. We also have a full bar service and room service is available. Located off of the lobby with a breakfast buffet daily from 10.99. Lunch
Hillstone
Serves a complete American menu with a full bar
Goode Company Seafood - Houston
Serving fresh Gulf seafood fried, broiled, boiled or sauteed. Full bar.
Reeds Bar & Lounge
You can easily relax in front of the flat panel TVs while sipping cocktails with friends, family or clients at Reeds Bar & Lounge. Try one of our fine wines - we have a great wine list. Order appetizers or dinner from our Houston, TX hotel bar menu!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Living large
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Jul 27, 2009

Weekend nightmare

OMG! This hotel ruined chances of me staying at any Crowne Plaza ever again! There was a horrible smell on the entire floor. My room had pieces missing from the ceiling. Our refrigerator made this horrible noise on the second night, went out and ruined our food from the restaurant. Then morning of checkout we had no water or air. Imagine the smell when that happenend. No management on weekends to complain to all we could get was bottled water and I'm sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 16, 2009

no good choice

no good didnt even stay cheked out faster than i checked in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honest Abbe
Business
College Station, TX
Nov 21, 2012

Outdated with rude General Manager

Outdated & dirty carpet & furnishing. Wi Fi from room is null so if you plan to work w/ Internet, forget it! Great location (can hear freeway noise still from 10th floor) but overshadowed by rudeness of GM. Won't stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 10, 2010

Crowne Plaza no Jewel

This hotel was advertised as a Crowne Plaza but the bill listed the hotel as a Holiday Inn Select. The staff was nonexistent, room service was closed during our stay, the pipes made an unholy racket when we used the shower, there were no garbage cans on any of the floors, and the "refridgerators" in the rooms were actually just boxes with fans in them. The hotel engineer told me if I wanted to keep anything cool in the refridgerator I needed to put a bucket of ice inside it. We ended up throwing our food out because it wasn't kept at the proper temperature. Our experience certainly did not live up to my expectations. If we were planning on staying any longer I would have gone somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weedy
Business
San Antonio
Jul 27, 2010

Ugh

Very disappointed. Was told that parking was free and surprised I had to pay. Also first day we were gone most of the day and house keeping did not come in until 6 in the evening when we came back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joseph c.
Business
Long Beach, MS, USA
Sep 1, 2014

never again.

The room was clean & big, for starters we where in town for the LSU football game, we wanted to sit in the bar and watch college football while waiting to depart, lounge didn't open till 4pm.and closed at 11pm on a big football weekend.There were only 2 elevators working and the staff was using those also. they required an extra $50.00 payment to cover cost of parking & phone. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Living large
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Jul 27, 2009

Weekend nightmare

OMG! This hotel ruined chances of me staying at any Crowne Plaza ever again! There was a horrible smell on the entire floor. My room had pieces missing from the ceiling. Our refrigerator made this horrible noise on the second night, went out and ruined our food from the restaurant. Then morning of checkout we had no water or air. Imagine the smell when that happenend. No management on weekends to complain to all we could get was bottled water and I'm sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 16, 2009

no good choice

no good didnt even stay cheked out faster than i checked in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 20, 2007

Bad Customer Service

When I first checked in, I felt like the lady at the counter was oing to chew my head off. It took the hotel 3 hours to bring us towels we asked for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria mall is 5 minutes away

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Busy Business
Business
Portland, Me
Jan 23, 2010

Both good & bad aspects.

Valet & Restaurant employees not professional. Desk clerk & Housekeeping were awesome. Coffee pot and microwave didn't work efficiently. Second night there was a lot of knocking noises. When I was being dropped off at curnb side, teh Valet employee asked my driver to move his vehicle to accomodate a guest; I replied "I'm a guest too." Restaurant waiter was observed picking his nose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top