$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
College Station
Jul 27, 2009

Review - July 25 Crowne Plaza

We really liked the design and cleanliness of the room. Probably what happened was unusual and beyond the staff's ability to quickly "fix" but the water stopped - in the midst of my husband's shower and while he was soaped up. This was, of course, pretty bad. But, probably not usual. The staff could, however, have been more consistent. The young woman who checked us in on a Saturday afternoon was quite friendly and helpful. When I later phoned to the desk, asking where the CD was that she had said would be in the room, the lady who was answering the front desk at 10 or so said she didn't know and she'd get back to me. She didn't; when an hour had passed, I phoned again. At this point a male (Hispanic I think) answered; he said he'd get one to us as soon as possible. Then, he phoned within a very few minutes to say the hotel was out of them and wouldn't get any more for a week. I do not see that as bad service - at no time did the guarantee it and it is obviously just a nice amenity. However, a prompt and polite response from the older woman would not have been difficult and would hve been nice. The same could be said of that voice at the front desk when I phoned to tell them our water was out. Again, I suspect it was beyond their control, but the rather brusque, you must be phoning about the water, too, attitude in which I was quickly dismissed was not the sign of true customer service. In general, these problems appear to be ones of personality as much as training; in both of the positive cases and in both of the negative ones, the problem was one of attitude. I like the movement to one king-size rather than the old two queen beds; I like the addition of the couch; the general outfitting of the rooms was relaxed, gave a reasonable amount of space, and seemed designed in an effective way. (the glass tables made that last check to see if we'd left anything easier, the refrigerator was a pleasant addition.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JennyPea
Couples
Beaumont, Texas
Jul 26, 2009

Comfortable Stay

It was great for just staying the night. The refridgerator didnt work..and paying $8 for parking was a bit much. Other than that it was very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wiggles
Friends
pearland, tx
Jul 20, 2009

our hotel experience

first of all, I didn't know we had to pay for parking. And the staff was very rude to us. valet told us they were booked,even after we told him we had reservations. we had to sign papers before we could finish signing they were taking them out of our hands. really bad experience at front desk. sink and tub was leaking. also, fridge didnt cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jul 13, 2009

Great location

The hotel was very easy to get to and very centrally located to the areas that we needed to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckiejo78
Family
caddo mills, tx
Jul 9, 2009

the good and the hot

it was not a bad place. you could not change the temperature of the room. it was very hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonaD09
Family
Houston
Jul 8, 2009

enjoyed stay overall

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue I had was that my room lock wouldn't work. Once I notified them of this, they immediately fixed the problem, but it later was broke again. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
nacogdoches, tx
Jul 7, 2009

woke up early to evacuate hotel

the hotel was great, the pool was great - but being woke up at 6:30 in the morning was not great - we had to evacuate the hotel, because someone pulled the fire alarm twice -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

minute maid park

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rubbs98
Family
Tyler, TX
Jul 7, 2009

Crown Plaza Stay, 7/3

The hotel is aging, but still in good shape. The bath tub had some very large scratches in it, but the appearance did not affect the function. Likewise, the carpets are starting to wear but very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do not wish to pay the $10 for the breakfast buffet, there is a Chick-fil-A and an IHOP a couple of exits north of the hotel; otherwise, the nearest breakfast is in downtown Houston.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pawa family
Family
Austin, TX
Jun 21, 2009

Good value but need to check-in on time

The room was good, but the bathroom was smaller than we expected. We reserved 2-queen bed room. We went there at 2PM for early check in, but the room was not ready. When we went back again at 6PM, the staff told us that 2-queen-bed rooms were gone. After we told her that we went at 2PM before and insisted that we wanted the 2-queen bed not 1-king bed, the staff could fix it for us. It was still an upset experience though. So be aware if you didn't show up at the check in time 3PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Jamestown, NY
Jul 28, 2008

Nice home away from home

I spent three nights at the hotel and it really felt like my home away from home. I was visiting my son who is a graduate student doing an internship in Houston. It was nice to have a computer room handy. I enjoyed the view out my window. Everything was clean and neat, and I slept very well. I'd be happy to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When in Texas, eat like a Texan, and there's plenty of good restaurants in Houston.

Back to menu Return to top