$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando florida
Sep 4, 2009

great experience

great location, great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McKinney, TX
Aug 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Nice quiet room with good view outside, friendly staffs. Good price and the only bad thing is they charge $8.00 for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

good restaurants in the area.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business & pleasure
Business
san antonio, tx
Aug 10, 2009

Great, updated hotel

Check in was very easy & the staff was super friendly. The room was spotless & I really appreciate the fact that it's updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Aug 10, 2009

Nice stay

Convenient location with plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area. Room was very spacious and fairly clean (I did find a dead roach in a corner). Bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Service was very good and prompt. Great price for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Corner Bakery, Chick-fil-A, Einsteins, Tex Mex all very close.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnny be good- dinning critic
Business
league city tx
Aug 4, 2009

unbeatable location for price

better check in times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

check all the neat dinning places in that area

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Weekend stay at Crowne

Was on a business conference. The parking fee was $8.00 for overnight parking, which I think should have been waived off if you are a guest at the hotel. Other than that, the access to the parking is not a very pleasant experience. Clean rooms, good location, at an affordable price and about 10 mins from downtown so it was great for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Gas station and car wash just around the corner. If you are staying here and not parking overnight you do not have to pay the parking fee.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Jul 28, 2009

Unbeatable price for the location

We stayed there close to the Rice Village which is where we were intending to spend the evening. It was great to be able to have a shuttle service over there. The only down side was the water went out on us when we were leaving. Luckily showers had been taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Living large
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Jul 27, 2009

Weekend nightmare

OMG! This hotel ruined chances of me staying at any Crowne Plaza ever again! There was a horrible smell on the entire floor. My room had pieces missing from the ceiling. Our refrigerator made this horrible noise on the second night, went out and ruined our food from the restaurant. Then morning of checkout we had no water or air. Imagine the smell when that happenend. No management on weekends to complain to all we could get was bottled water and I'm sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station
Jul 27, 2009

Review - July 25 Crowne Plaza

We really liked the design and cleanliness of the room. Probably what happened was unusual and beyond the staff's ability to quickly "fix" but the water stopped - in the midst of my husband's shower and while he was soaped up. This was, of course, pretty bad. But, probably not usual. The staff could, however, have been more consistent. The young woman who checked us in on a Saturday afternoon was quite friendly and helpful. When I later phoned to the desk, asking where the CD was that she had said would be in the room, the lady who was answering the front desk at 10 or so said she didn't know and she'd get back to me. She didn't; when an hour had passed, I phoned again. At this point a male (Hispanic I think) answered; he said he'd get one to us as soon as possible. Then, he phoned within a very few minutes to say the hotel was out of them and wouldn't get any more for a week. I do not see that as bad service - at no time did the guarantee it and it is obviously just a nice amenity. However, a prompt and polite response from the older woman would not have been difficult and would hve been nice. The same could be said of that voice at the front desk when I phoned to tell them our water was out. Again, I suspect it was beyond their control, but the rather brusque, you must be phoning about the water, too, attitude in which I was quickly dismissed was not the sign of true customer service. In general, these problems appear to be ones of personality as much as training; in both of the positive cases and in both of the negative ones, the problem was one of attitude. I like the movement to one king-size rather than the old two queen beds; I like the addition of the couch; the general outfitting of the rooms was relaxed, gave a reasonable amount of space, and seemed designed in an effective way. (the glass tables made that last check to see if we'd left anything easier, the refrigerator was a pleasant addition.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Living large
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Jul 27, 2009

Weekend nightmare

OMG! This hotel ruined chances of me staying at any Crowne Plaza ever again! There was a horrible smell on the entire floor. My room had pieces missing from the ceiling. Our refrigerator made this horrible noise on the second night, went out and ruined our food from the restaurant. Then morning of checkout we had no water or air. Imagine the smell when that happenend. No management on weekends to complain to all we could get was bottled water and I'm sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top