$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
64 reviews
Great Stay

Great bang for your buck. Staff is great and the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. See full review

  • EDHRF
  • Jun 9, 2014
We love this place

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years when we travel to houston and we always... See full review

  • Phillip the filmmaker
  • May 5, 2014
Bright, comfortable hotel between downtown Houston and Galleria area

Located halfway between downtown Houston and the upscale The Galleria Shopping Center, Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks is perfectly situated for business and leisure travelers. The hotel boasts an array of fun, cheerful design details like asymmetrical booths in its restaurant, accordion-type lighting fixtures and triangular accents at the front desk. Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks offers quick access to universities, medical centers and attractions. Business amenities include extensive meeting space and a 24-hour business center.

Highlights
  • Situated between downtown Houston and Galleria area
  • Extensive meeting space and 24-hour business center
  • Free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center
Rooms

Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks rooms are spacious and comfortable. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, free morning newspaper, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge and work desk. Suites offer a separate living area, two TVs, wet bar and sleeper sofa.

Property features
Business travelers appreciate the hotel's business-friendly amenities, like the 24-hour business center and personal meeting director. The hotel has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center, a top Houston attraction comprised of 375 stores, indoor ice rink and spectacular glass atriums. With an expansion in 2003, the mall became the fourth largest in the nation, highlighted by nine types of stone, suspended glass balconies and plush leather seating.

Dining

The on-site Reeds Restaurant & Bar offers American casual cuisine in a comfortable dining room. The restaurant offers buffet-style dining for breakfast. In the evening, guests relax in the bar area while watching flat-panel TVs showing sporting events and news.

Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)

     

Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Minute Maid Park (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • Toyota Center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.1 mi/6.6 km)



 

Business
  • 24- hour business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 3.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 3.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 3.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17.5 mi

Dining

Reeds Restaurant
Reeds Restaurant has brand new menus featuring buffet style dining for breakfast and menu dining for lunch and dinner. We also have a full bar service and room service is available. Located off of the lobby with a breakfast buffet daily from 10.99. Lunch
Hillstone
Serves a complete American menu with a full bar
Goode Company Seafood - Houston
Serving fresh Gulf seafood fried, broiled, boiled or sauteed. Full bar.
Reeds Bar & Lounge
You can easily relax in front of the flat panel TVs while sipping cocktails with friends, family or clients at Reeds Bar & Lounge. Try one of our fine wines - we have a great wine list. Order appetizers or dinner from our Houston, TX hotel bar menu!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Living large
Business
Baton Rouge, La
Jul 27, 2009

Weekend nightmare

OMG! This hotel ruined chances of me staying at any Crowne Plaza ever again! There was a horrible smell on the entire floor. My room had pieces missing from the ceiling. Our refrigerator made this horrible noise on the second night, went out and ruined our food from the restaurant. Then morning of checkout we had no water or air. Imagine the smell when that happenend. No management on weekends to complain to all we could get was bottled water and I'm sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station
Jul 27, 2009

Review - July 25 Crowne Plaza

We really liked the design and cleanliness of the room. Probably what happened was unusual and beyond the staff's ability to quickly "fix" but the water stopped - in the midst of my husband's shower and while he was soaped up. This was, of course, pretty bad. But, probably not usual. The staff could, however, have been more consistent. The young woman who checked us in on a Saturday afternoon was quite friendly and helpful. When I later phoned to the desk, asking where the CD was that she had said would be in the room, the lady who was answering the front desk at 10 or so said she didn't know and she'd get back to me. She didn't; when an hour had passed, I phoned again. At this point a male (Hispanic I think) answered; he said he'd get one to us as soon as possible. Then, he phoned within a very few minutes to say the hotel was out of them and wouldn't get any more for a week. I do not see that as bad service - at no time did the guarantee it and it is obviously just a nice amenity. However, a prompt and polite response from the older woman would not have been difficult and would hve been nice. The same could be said of that voice at the front desk when I phoned to tell them our water was out. Again, I suspect it was beyond their control, but the rather brusque, you must be phoning about the water, too, attitude in which I was quickly dismissed was not the sign of true customer service. In general, these problems appear to be ones of personality as much as training; in both of the positive cases and in both of the negative ones, the problem was one of attitude. I like the movement to one king-size rather than the old two queen beds; I like the addition of the couch; the general outfitting of the rooms was relaxed, gave a reasonable amount of space, and seemed designed in an effective way. (the glass tables made that last check to see if we'd left anything easier, the refrigerator was a pleasant addition.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JennyPea
Business
Beaumont, Texas
Jul 26, 2009

Comfortable Stay

It was great for just staying the night. The refridgerator didnt work..and paying $8 for parking was a bit much. Other than that it was very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wiggles
Business
pearland, tx
Jul 20, 2009

our hotel experience

first of all, I didn't know we had to pay for parking. And the staff was very rude to us. valet told us they were booked,even after we told him we had reservations. we had to sign papers before we could finish signing they were taking them out of our hands. really bad experience at front desk. sink and tub was leaking. also, fridge didnt cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jul 13, 2009

Great location

The hotel was very easy to get to and very centrally located to the areas that we needed to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckiejo78
Business
caddo mills, tx
Jul 9, 2009

the good and the hot

it was not a bad place. you could not change the temperature of the room. it was very hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MonaD09
Business
Houston
Jul 8, 2009

enjoyed stay overall

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only issue I had was that my room lock wouldn't work. Once I notified them of this, they immediately fixed the problem, but it later was broke again. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nacogdoches, tx
Jul 7, 2009

woke up early to evacuate hotel

the hotel was great, the pool was great - but being woke up at 6:30 in the morning was not great - we had to evacuate the hotel, because someone pulled the fire alarm twice -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

minute maid park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rubbs98
Business
Tyler, TX
Jul 7, 2009

Crown Plaza Stay, 7/3

The hotel is aging, but still in good shape. The bath tub had some very large scratches in it, but the appearance did not affect the function. Likewise, the carpets are starting to wear but very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do not wish to pay the $10 for the breakfast buffet, there is a Chick-fil-A and an IHOP a couple of exits north of the hotel; otherwise, the nearest breakfast is in downtown Houston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pawa family
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 21, 2009

Good value but need to check-in on time

The room was good, but the bathroom was smaller than we expected. We reserved 2-queen bed room. We went there at 2PM for early check in, but the room was not ready. When we went back again at 6PM, the staff told us that 2-queen-bed rooms were gone. After we told her that we went at 2PM before and insisted that we wanted the 2-queen bed not 1-king bed, the staff could fix it for us. It was still an upset experience though. So be aware if you didn't show up at the check in time 3PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top