$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danma
Newton, MA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Will stay again!

We paid a reasonable price to stay here for a week. Good location to access different places. A minute to freeway. Many thanks to receptionist Shaila who was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our quiet and clean room with satisfaction. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johnny O Man
Business
Tampa, FL
Jan 18, 2010

Poor hotel for the price

I booked this hotel due to it's location within the city for business purposes and due to the reasonableness of it's room price. However, I didn't think I would have to deal with hotel construction (which was not mentioned when booking the hotel) and no A/C in the room for 2 days! This was even after I moved into another room due to a seperate issue. In addition, the elevator was broken, causing me to have to carry all of my luggage down four flights of stairs (which I was not told of when I first checked in). The manager did offer me compensation, but I would have rather stayed somewhere else then to deal with all of the headaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 10, 2010

Crowne Plaza no Jewel

This hotel was advertised as a Crowne Plaza but the bill listed the hotel as a Holiday Inn Select. The staff was nonexistent, room service was closed during our stay, the pipes made an unholy racket when we used the shower, there were no garbage cans on any of the floors, and the "refridgerators" in the rooms were actually just boxes with fans in them. The hotel engineer told me if I wanted to keep anything cool in the refridgerator I needed to put a bucket of ice inside it. We ended up throwing our food out because it wasn't kept at the proper temperature. Our experience certainly did not live up to my expectations. If we were planning on staying any longer I would have gone somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Nov 23, 2009

review

We traveled to Houston for a college sporting event. When a group of families get together it is nice to have a spot to sit and visit in the evenings. The bar closed at 11:00 and there was no entertainment. We also did not get told about the location of the business center that held the free coffee, computers and the brochures of the places to visit. I wish the hotel had more for us to do in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Nov 23, 2009

review

We traveled to Houston for a college sporting event. When a group of families get together it is nice to have a spot to sit and visit in the evenings. The bar closed at 11:00 and there was no entertainment. We also did not get told about the location of the business center that held the free coffee, computers and the brochures of the places to visit. I wish the hotel had more for us to do in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville,
Nov 18, 2009

The night I was ripped off!!!!!

My family and I had a venue to attend in Houston at the reliant stadium. When we arrived the location fantastic. When checking in I ask where should I park the parking garage is what they told me I said ok they then said that will be eight dollars. They made me pay eight dollars to park I asked is there any where else I could park that's free they said no I ask what do I do with my truck they said pay eight doallars to park on our parking garage. Rude is the only way I could describe their attitude. The room was small but useable the battteries to the remote were dead floors dirty glasses dirty. The fridge didn't work. All in all one of the worst hotels I've attended. I would not recommend to anyone I even became sick after the stay. This hotel or should I say motel is off my potential stays I would go to motel six before the Crowne plaza at the red oak. I felt zzwmmmmmmmmmmn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

My hint to future hotel patrons use another hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 16, 2009

no good choice

no good didnt even stay cheked out faster than i checked in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 16, 2009

no good choice

no good didnt even stay cheked out faster than i checked in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Houstongoer
Business
Mckinney, Tx
Nov 9, 2009

Okay at best

The hotel was okay....had issues with the toliets...also I think it's very ridiculous that right when you get to the hotel you have to pay $8 to park! You are paying to stay at their hotel and they charge you to park your car??? And no that is not for valet just to park yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GottiSmith
Business
Shreveport, LA
Nov 9, 2009

Houston Crowne Plaza

I was only there for a night but the staff were amazing. Super nice and willing to help. The shuttle anywhere for 2-3 miles is awesome. I think the beds could have a pillow top while remaining firm. Other than that great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Cars are cheap in Houston and the galleria isn't far from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aibekut
Business
Austin Texas
Nov 9, 2009

Good hotel for a price!

We came to Houston to attend the Turkic Cultural festival and booked two rooms. The rooms were good for a price we paid ($80 per night) and closeness to Galleria (the best shopping mall in Texas) makes this Hotel a very good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top