$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
College Station
Jul 27, 2009

Review - July 25 Crowne Plaza

We really liked the design and cleanliness of the room. Probably what happened was unusual and beyond the staff's ability to quickly "fix" but the water stopped - in the midst of my husband's shower and while he was soaped up. This was, of course, pretty bad. But, probably not usual. The staff could, however, have been more consistent. The young woman who checked us in on a Saturday afternoon was quite friendly and helpful. When I later phoned to the desk, asking where the CD was that she had said would be in the room, the lady who was answering the front desk at 10 or so said she didn't know and she'd get back to me. She didn't; when an hour had passed, I phoned again. At this point a male (Hispanic I think) answered; he said he'd get one to us as soon as possible. Then, he phoned within a very few minutes to say the hotel was out of them and wouldn't get any more for a week. I do not see that as bad service - at no time did the guarantee it and it is obviously just a nice amenity. However, a prompt and polite response from the older woman would not have been difficult and would hve been nice. The same could be said of that voice at the front desk when I phoned to tell them our water was out. Again, I suspect it was beyond their control, but the rather brusque, you must be phoning about the water, too, attitude in which I was quickly dismissed was not the sign of true customer service. In general, these problems appear to be ones of personality as much as training; in both of the positive cases and in both of the negative ones, the problem was one of attitude. I like the movement to one king-size rather than the old two queen beds; I like the addition of the couch; the general outfitting of the rooms was relaxed, gave a reasonable amount of space, and seemed designed in an effective way. (the glass tables made that last check to see if we'd left anything easier, the refrigerator was a pleasant addition.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnny be good- dinning critic
Family
league city tx
Aug 4, 2009

unbeatable location for price

better check in times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

check all the neat dinning places in that area

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 30, 2010

Room was nice

The hotel was in a good location and you could get to any type of food that you would like. The room was nice, but the hotel needs to have rooms upgraded. The tv is an old tube tv. The hotel is also under construction in several places so makes for a unrestful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurant in very short walking distance called Prince's.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
nacogdoches, tx
Jul 7, 2009

woke up early to evacuate hotel

the hotel was great, the pool was great - but being woke up at 6:30 in the morning was not great - we had to evacuate the hotel, because someone pulled the fire alarm twice -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

minute maid park

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rubbs98
Family
Tyler, TX
Jul 7, 2009

Crown Plaza Stay, 7/3

The hotel is aging, but still in good shape. The bath tub had some very large scratches in it, but the appearance did not affect the function. Likewise, the carpets are starting to wear but very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do not wish to pay the $10 for the breakfast buffet, there is a Chick-fil-A and an IHOP a couple of exits north of the hotel; otherwise, the nearest breakfast is in downtown Houston.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckiejo78
Family
caddo mills, tx
Jul 9, 2009

the good and the hot

it was not a bad place. you could not change the temperature of the room. it was very hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tfma
Couples
The Hills
May 20, 2015

ok for its purpose

It is very close to where we needed to be and is a nice facility. Some traffic noise, not bad, but the 3am Saturday night half hour party in the hall was an annoyance. Maid kinda forgot to clean the room day two after notifying them of leaving, as requested. I'll stay there again and hope the more or less minor annoyances don't recur.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zachary L.
Family
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

Astros trip

The hotel stay was nice. The staff was great and the in hotel restaurant was excellent. My only complaint is the quality of the bedding. It was a little hard and the sheets were very tough. Other than that it was a great experience. Fairly close to downtown Houston!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rchan11
Family
Saskatoon, SK
Jan 20, 2014

Very affordable hotel only 10 minutes away from downtown

This hotel was a great value. Self parking was only $9. Rooms were large and clean. The sheets were coarse. Location was right by the interstate so restaurants weren't difficult to find. Nothing really close by walking standards though. Toyota Center was only 10-15 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short 10-15 drive to Toyota Center even in rush hour.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phillip the filmmaker
Couples
Dallas, TX
May 5, 2014

We love this place

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years when we travel to houston and we always enjoy our stay there. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Great shower, bathroom, fridge, microwave, coffemaker. The bar, at least on the Saturday night we were there, was quite lively. The value for the money is extraordinary. We are going back again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top