$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
2712 SOUTHWEST FREEWAY, HOUSTON, TX 77098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
107 reviews
Great Stay

Great bang for your buck. Staff is great and the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. See full review

  • EDHRF
  • Jun 9, 2014
We love this place

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years when we travel to houston and we always... See full review

  • Phillip the filmmaker
  • May 5, 2014
Bright, comfortable hotel between downtown Houston and Galleria area

Located halfway between downtown Houston and the upscale The Galleria Shopping Center, Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks is perfectly situated for business and leisure travelers. The hotel boasts an array of fun, cheerful design details like asymmetrical booths in its restaurant, accordion-type lighting fixtures and triangular accents at the front desk. Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks offers quick access to universities, medical centers and attractions. Business amenities include extensive meeting space and a 24-hour business center.

Highlights
  • Situated between downtown Houston and Galleria area
  • Extensive meeting space and 24-hour business center
  • Free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center
Rooms

Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks rooms are spacious and comfortable. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, free morning newspaper, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge and work desk. Suites offer a separate living area, two TVs, wet bar and sleeper sofa.

Property features
Business travelers appreciate the hotel's business-friendly amenities, like the 24-hour business center and personal meeting director. The hotel has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center, a top Houston attraction comprised of 375 stores, indoor ice rink and spectacular glass atriums. With an expansion in 2003, the mall became the fourth largest in the nation, highlighted by nine types of stone, suspended glass balconies and plush leather seating.

Dining

The on-site Reeds Restaurant & Bar offers American casual cuisine in a comfortable dining room. The restaurant offers buffet-style dining for breakfast. In the evening, guests relax in the bar area while watching flat-panel TVs showing sporting events and news.

Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)

     

Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Minute Maid Park (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • Toyota Center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.1 mi/6.6 km)



 

Business
  • 24- hour business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Internet access (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7313 -95.4212
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 27.00, MI; Houston Hobby Airport, (HOU), 13.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 3.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 3.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 3.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17.5 mi

Dining

Reeds Restaurant
Reeds Restaurant has brand new menus featuring buffet style dining for breakfast and menu dining for lunch and dinner. We also have a full bar service and room service is available. Located off of the lobby with a Breakfast buffet daily from 10.99. Lunc
Hillstone
Serves a complete American menu with a full bar
Goode Company Seafood - Houston
Serving fresh Gulf seafood fried, broiled, boiled or sauteed. Full bar.
Reeds Bar & Lounge
You can easily relax in front of the flat panel TVs while sipping cocktails with friends, family or clients at Reeds Bar & Lounge. Try one of our fine wines - we have a great wine list. Order appetizers or dinner from our Houston, TX hotel bar menu!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iachimo
Business
Asheville, NC, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Met my expectations, but...

ASK if they charge for parking. This hotel charged eight bucks a night. Also be aware there are TWO crown plaza hotels; this one is farther north off Kirby near the SW fwy. The other one is south near the 610 loop. Otherwise, the room was lovely, the help was very friendly, and I got a great deal of work done in my room. I would recommend this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the Rothko Chapel. I know chapels aren't usually a visual attraction, but this one is a very interesting variant of Mark Rothko's work. Worth the trip.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston Texas
Sep 14, 2009

Good Location Good Price

Good clean room with short drives to dining and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria exellent shopping center with ice skating rink.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeganLovesTexas
Houston, TX
Nov 7, 2011

Easy Location - Easy Stay

I live in the North West Houston area and booked a night here when one of my friends was flying in to Houston to visit me for the weekend. I wanted us to be closer to the downtown fun so I booked this hotel. I figured cab rides to and from any of the places we wanted to go would be fairly cheap. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Ammenities are average - there is a restaurant in the hotel which is nice. Breakfast menu was pretty awesome - with really decent prices! All in all the hotel was totally worth the price. Words of wisdom for those that have never been to Houston - There are about a million different ways to get to the same place, so I advise to google map where you want to go and be sure to tell the cap drivers the way you wish to travel - this can be the difference between a $20 cab ride and an $8 cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Words of wisdom for those that have never been to Houston - There are about a million different ways to get to the same place, so I advise to google map where you want to go and be sure to tell the cap drivers the way you wish to travel - this can be the difference between a $20 cab ride and an $8 cab ride.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
College Station
Jul 27, 2009

Review - July 25 Crowne Plaza

We really liked the design and cleanliness of the room. Probably what happened was unusual and beyond the staff's ability to quickly "fix" but the water stopped - in the midst of my husband's shower and while he was soaped up. This was, of course, pretty bad. But, probably not usual. The staff could, however, have been more consistent. The young woman who checked us in on a Saturday afternoon was quite friendly and helpful. When I later phoned to the desk, asking where the CD was that she had said would be in the room, the lady who was answering the front desk at 10 or so said she didn't know and she'd get back to me. She didn't; when an hour had passed, I phoned again. At this point a male (Hispanic I think) answered; he said he'd get one to us as soon as possible. Then, he phoned within a very few minutes to say the hotel was out of them and wouldn't get any more for a week. I do not see that as bad service - at no time did the guarantee it and it is obviously just a nice amenity. However, a prompt and polite response from the older woman would not have been difficult and would hve been nice. The same could be said of that voice at the front desk when I phoned to tell them our water was out. Again, I suspect it was beyond their control, but the rather brusque, you must be phoning about the water, too, attitude in which I was quickly dismissed was not the sign of true customer service. In general, these problems appear to be ones of personality as much as training; in both of the positive cases and in both of the negative ones, the problem was one of attitude. I like the movement to one king-size rather than the old two queen beds; I like the addition of the couch; the general outfitting of the rooms was relaxed, gave a reasonable amount of space, and seemed designed in an effective way. (the glass tables made that last check to see if we'd left anything easier, the refrigerator was a pleasant addition.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Houstongoer
Mckinney, Tx
Nov 9, 2009

Okay at best

The hotel was okay....had issues with the toliets...also I think it's very ridiculous that right when you get to the hotel you have to pay $8 to park! You are paying to stay at their hotel and they charge you to park your car??? And no that is not for valet just to park yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckiejo78
caddo mills, tx
Jul 9, 2009

the good and the hot

it was not a bad place. you could not change the temperature of the room. it was very hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Nov 21, 2011

value location and friendly staff

A bit off the beaten path this hotel was clean and everyone friendly. Free shuttle service was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Convenient to medical centers, university and shuttle to the Galleria.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
7055
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Good stay

It was a very comfortable bed. there are no "complaints" . Also there were no "wow" encounters. The staff did not exceed they simply met basic requirements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
College Station
Jul 27, 2009

Review - July 25 Crowne Plaza

We really liked the design and cleanliness of the room. Probably what happened was unusual and beyond the staff's ability to quickly "fix" but the water stopped - in the midst of my husband's shower and while he was soaped up. This was, of course, pretty bad. But, probably not usual. The staff could, however, have been more consistent. The young woman who checked us in on a Saturday afternoon was quite friendly and helpful. When I later phoned to the desk, asking where the CD was that she had said would be in the room, the lady who was answering the front desk at 10 or so said she didn't know and she'd get back to me. She didn't; when an hour had passed, I phoned again. At this point a male (Hispanic I think) answered; he said he'd get one to us as soon as possible. Then, he phoned within a very few minutes to say the hotel was out of them and wouldn't get any more for a week. I do not see that as bad service - at no time did the guarantee it and it is obviously just a nice amenity. However, a prompt and polite response from the older woman would not have been difficult and would hve been nice. The same could be said of that voice at the front desk when I phoned to tell them our water was out. Again, I suspect it was beyond their control, but the rather brusque, you must be phoning about the water, too, attitude in which I was quickly dismissed was not the sign of true customer service. In general, these problems appear to be ones of personality as much as training; in both of the positive cases and in both of the negative ones, the problem was one of attitude. I like the movement to one king-size rather than the old two queen beds; I like the addition of the couch; the general outfitting of the rooms was relaxed, gave a reasonable amount of space, and seemed designed in an effective way. (the glass tables made that last check to see if we'd left anything easier, the refrigerator was a pleasant addition.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JennyPea
Beaumont, Texas
Jul 26, 2009

Comfortable Stay

It was great for just staying the night. The refridgerator didnt work..and paying $8 for parking was a bit much. Other than that it was very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top