$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
2712 SOUTHWEST FREEWAY, HOUSTON, TX 77098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
107 reviews
Great Stay

Great bang for your buck. Staff is great and the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. See full review

  • EDHRF
  • Jun 9, 2014
We love this place

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years when we travel to houston and we always... See full review

  • Phillip the filmmaker
  • May 5, 2014
Welcome to Our Houston - River Oaks Hotel Located halfway between the Galleria Mall and downtown Houston, our hotel is perfectly suited for both business and leisure travelers. By day you can attend meetings and conferences, and by night you can enjoy the many shops, restaurants and attractions around the city. The Crowne Plaza® Hotel Houston - River Oaks is 100% non-smoking and is situated on the Southwest Freeway near Greenway Plaza and companies like Koch Industries, Occidental and Chevron. You can also easily get to the Texas Medical Center, Rice University and University of Houston. If you need to host a special event or meeting, take advantage of our reputation as "The Place to Meet" in River Oaks. Our hotel offers more than 12,000 sq ft of space, a 24-hour business center, 2-hour RFP response and a personal Crowne Meeting Director. Are you visiting for fun? Staying at the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Houston - River Oaks means easy access to attractions such as Houston Zoo, the Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park and the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. Our complimentary shuttle can also take you to the immense Houston - Galleria Mall if you prefer shopping to sports games. Whether you're vacationing or attending a meeting, we're the best place to stay near downtown Houston. Hotel amenities you are sure to enjoy include an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center and the on-site Reeds Restaurant and Bar & Lounge.

Hotel Map

29.7313 -95.4212
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 27.00, MI; HOUSTON, (HOU), 13.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 3.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 3.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 3.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17.5 mi

Dining

Reeds Restaurant
Reeds Restaurant has brand new menus featuring buffet style dining for breakfast and menu dining for lunch and dinner. We also have a full bar service and room service is available. Located off of the lobby with a Breakfast buffet daily from 10.99. Lunc
Hillstone
Serves a complete American menu with a full bar
Goode Company Seafood - Houston
Serving fresh Gulf seafood fried, broiled, boiled or sauteed. Full bar.
Reeds Bar & Lounge
You can easily relax in front of the flat panel TVs while sipping cocktails with friends, family or clients at Reeds Bar & Lounge. Try one of our fine wines - we have a great wine list. Order appetizers or dinner from our Houston, TX hotel bar menu!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonnyMcJr
Business
Bangor, PA
Oct 13, 2012

Decent business hotel with good amenities close to everything

I have stayed here before and find the staff to always be friendly, courteous and willing to help in any way. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and free internet make it a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lupe Tortilla (just a few blocks East on the Southwest Freeway access road) has THE BEST beef fajitas you will find anywhere!

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queen Z
New Mexico
Jul 20, 2011

Awsome getaway

The hotel was in a great spot, wasn't far from the locations we were going to visit. It was my first time in houston,tx and I really enjoyed it! watched a ball game! at some amazing food.. the only thing missing was my time frame, wish I could of stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to get out early! theres lots to do, but theres also alot of people out as well!

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 14, 2011

Was a very nice stay.

The reasoning behind the 4 stars is in respect to the our initial interaction with the check in staff. However, once we entered our room, we were met with an extremely large and comfortable room. We had a nice view of the Houston Medical District and Downtown Skyline. It is extremely easy to access from highway 59. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 14, 2011

Was a very nice stay.

The reasoning behind the 4 stars is in respect to the our initial interaction with the check in staff. However, once we entered our room, we were met with an extremely large and comfortable room. We had a nice view of the Houston Medical District and Downtown Skyline. It is extremely easy to access from highway 59. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2010

It was ok.

When I arrived. The elevator in the parking garage was broken. I had to walk down with 3 bags...4 flights of stairs. There were no signs that it was broken and I waited several minutes until I finally gave up and walked. The front desk told me it was broken all day. I suggested that they put up a sign. I was then asked to initial the charges and discovered they were charging me $8.00 to park there. I said I wouldn't pay and would move my car if I had to. The supervisor finally waived the charge since I was a Gold Priority Club member. FYI- There breakfast buffet doesn't include coffee or juice. They were each 2.50 more. The bathroom was dirty and there were cracks of mold in the shower/bath area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2010

It was ok.

When I arrived. The elevator in the parking garage was broken. I had to walk down with 3 bags...4 flights of stairs. There were no signs that it was broken and I waited several minutes until I finally gave up and walked. The front desk told me it was broken all day. I suggested that they put up a sign. I was then asked to initial the charges and discovered they were charging me $8.00 to park there. I said I wouldn't pay and would move my car if I had to. The supervisor finally waived the charge since I was a Gold Priority Club member. FYI- There breakfast buffet doesn't include coffee or juice. They were each 2.50 more. The bathroom was dirty and there were cracks of mold in the shower/bath area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weedy
San Antonio
Jul 27, 2010

Ugh

Very disappointed. Was told that parking was free and surprised I had to pay. Also first day we were gone most of the day and house keeping did not come in until 6 in the evening when we came back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weedy
San Antonio
Jul 27, 2010

Ugh

Very disappointed. Was told that parking was free and surprised I had to pay. Also first day we were gone most of the day and house keeping did not come in until 6 in the evening when we came back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun weekend in Ruidoso
Texas
Apr 19, 2010

Just a little break

The check in and out were easy and I did not run into any problems. The room was very clean and nice. The parking garage is extra but it was cheap. The hotel is in a good location near rice village. The lobby was also clean. Kind of hard to get to but it was Houston. Overall the hotel [...] did a great job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun weekend in Ruidoso
Texas
Apr 19, 2010

Just a little break

The check in and out were easy and I did not run into any problems. The room was very clean and nice. The parking garage is extra but it was cheap. The hotel is in a good location near rice village. The lobby was also clean. Kind of hard to get to but it was Houston. Overall the hotel [...] did a great job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 30, 2010

Room was nice

The hotel was in a good location and you could get to any type of food that you would like. The room was nice, but the hotel needs to have rooms upgraded. The tv is an old tube tv. The hotel is also under construction in several places so makes for a unrestful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurant in very short walking distance called Prince's.

Back to menu Return to top