$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 14, 2011

Was a very nice stay.

The reasoning behind the 4 stars is in respect to the our initial interaction with the check in staff. However, once we entered our room, we were met with an extremely large and comfortable room. We had a nice view of the Houston Medical District and Downtown Skyline. It is extremely easy to access from highway 59. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2010

It was ok.

When I arrived. The elevator in the parking garage was broken. I had to walk down with 3 bags...4 flights of stairs. There were no signs that it was broken and I waited several minutes until I finally gave up and walked. The front desk told me it was broken all day. I suggested that they put up a sign. I was then asked to initial the charges and discovered they were charging me $8.00 to park there. I said I wouldn't pay and would move my car if I had to. The supervisor finally waived the charge since I was a Gold Priority Club member. FYI- There breakfast buffet doesn't include coffee or juice. They were each 2.50 more. The bathroom was dirty and there were cracks of mold in the shower/bath area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weedy
Business
San Antonio
Jul 27, 2010

Ugh

Very disappointed. Was told that parking was free and surprised I had to pay. Also first day we were gone most of the day and house keeping did not come in until 6 in the evening when we came back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun weekend in Ruidoso
Business
Texas
Apr 19, 2010

Just a little break

The check in and out were easy and I did not run into any problems. The room was very clean and nice. The parking garage is extra but it was cheap. The hotel is in a good location near rice village. The lobby was also clean. Kind of hard to get to but it was Houston. Overall the hotel [...] did a great job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 30, 2010

Room was nice

The hotel was in a good location and you could get to any type of food that you would like. The room was nice, but the hotel needs to have rooms upgraded. The tv is an old tube tv. The hotel is also under construction in several places so makes for a unrestful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurant in very short walking distance called Prince's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern,illinois
Mar 8, 2010

Oasis in Texas

Visiting family. Great location easy to get to many sites. Room was spacious and very clean. Real enjoyment after traveling long distance. Rates two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
taylorsville, utah
Jan 25, 2010

all great services

great clean and in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Busy Business
Business
Portland, Me
Jan 23, 2010

Both good & bad aspects.

Valet & Restaurant employees not professional. Desk clerk & Housekeeping were awesome. Coffee pot and microwave didn't work efficiently. Second night there was a lot of knocking noises. When I was being dropped off at curnb side, teh Valet employee asked my driver to move his vehicle to accomodate a guest; I replied "I'm a guest too." Restaurant waiter was observed picking his nose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johnny O Man
Business
Tampa, FL
Jan 18, 2010

Poor hotel for the price

I booked this hotel due to it's location within the city for business purposes and due to the reasonableness of it's room price. However, I didn't think I would have to deal with hotel construction (which was not mentioned when booking the hotel) and no A/C in the room for 2 days! This was even after I moved into another room due to a seperate issue. In addition, the elevator was broken, causing me to have to carry all of my luggage down four flights of stairs (which I was not told of when I first checked in). The manager did offer me compensation, but I would have rather stayed somewhere else then to deal with all of the headaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 10, 2010

Crowne Plaza no Jewel

This hotel was advertised as a Crowne Plaza but the bill listed the hotel as a Holiday Inn Select. The staff was nonexistent, room service was closed during our stay, the pipes made an unholy racket when we used the shower, there were no garbage cans on any of the floors, and the "refridgerators" in the rooms were actually just boxes with fans in them. The hotel engineer told me if I wanted to keep anything cool in the refridgerator I needed to put a bucket of ice inside it. We ended up throwing our food out because it wasn't kept at the proper temperature. Our experience certainly did not live up to my expectations. If we were planning on staying any longer I would have gone somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top