$77 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
2712 SOUTHWEST FREEWAY, HOUSTON, TX 77098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
107 reviews
Great Stay

Great bang for your buck. Staff is great and the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. See full review

  • EDHRF
  • Jun 9, 2014
We love this place

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years when we travel to houston and we always... See full review

  • Phillip the filmmaker
  • May 5, 2014
Bright, comfortable hotel between downtown Houston and Galleria area

Located halfway between downtown Houston and the upscale The Galleria Shopping Center, Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks is perfectly situated for business and leisure travelers. The hotel boasts an array of fun, cheerful design details like asymmetrical booths in its restaurant, accordion-type lighting fixtures and triangular accents at the front desk. Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks offers quick access to universities, medical centers and attractions. Business amenities include extensive meeting space and a 24-hour business center.

Highlights
  • Situated between downtown Houston and Galleria area
  • Extensive meeting space and 24-hour business center
  • Free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center
Rooms

Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks rooms are spacious and comfortable. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, free morning newspaper, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge and work desk. Suites offer a separate living area, two TVs, wet bar and sleeper sofa.

Property features
Business travelers appreciate the hotel's business-friendly amenities, like the 24-hour business center and personal meeting director. The hotel has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center, a top Houston attraction comprised of 375 stores, indoor ice rink and spectacular glass atriums. With an expansion in 2003, the mall became the fourth largest in the nation, highlighted by nine types of stone, suspended glass balconies and plush leather seating.

Dining

The on-site Reeds Restaurant & Bar offers American casual cuisine in a comfortable dining room. The restaurant offers buffet-style dining for breakfast. In the evening, guests relax in the bar area while watching flat-panel TVs showing sporting events and news.

Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)

     

Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Minute Maid Park (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • Toyota Center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.1 mi/6.6 km)



 

Business
  • 24- hour business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Internet access (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7313 -95.4212
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 27.00, MI; Houston Hobby Airport, (HOU), 13.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 3.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 3.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 3.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17.5 mi

Dining

Reeds Restaurant
Reeds Restaurant has brand new menus featuring buffet style dining for breakfast and menu dining for lunch and dinner. We also have a full bar service and room service is available. Located off of the lobby with a Breakfast buffet daily from 10.99. Lunc
Hillstone
Serves a complete American menu with a full bar
Goode Company Seafood - Houston
Serving fresh Gulf seafood fried, broiled, boiled or sauteed. Full bar.
Reeds Bar & Lounge
You can easily relax in front of the flat panel TVs while sipping cocktails with friends, family or clients at Reeds Bar & Lounge. Try one of our fine wines - we have a great wine list. Order appetizers or dinner from our Houston, TX hotel bar menu!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonnyMcJr
Business
Bangor, PA
Oct 13, 2012

Decent business hotel with good amenities close to everything

I have stayed here before and find the staff to always be friendly, courteous and willing to help in any way. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and free internet make it a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lupe Tortilla (just a few blocks East on the Southwest Freeway access road) has THE BEST beef fajitas you will find anywhere!

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2010

It was ok.

When I arrived. The elevator in the parking garage was broken. I had to walk down with 3 bags...4 flights of stairs. There were no signs that it was broken and I waited several minutes until I finally gave up and walked. The front desk told me it was broken all day. I suggested that they put up a sign. I was then asked to initial the charges and discovered they were charging me $8.00 to park there. I said I wouldn't pay and would move my car if I had to. The supervisor finally waived the charge since I was a Gold Priority Club member. FYI- There breakfast buffet doesn't include coffee or juice. They were each 2.50 more. The bathroom was dirty and there were cracks of mold in the shower/bath area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robert Zelaya
Business
Plano, TX, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Wont Stay again

The rooms are out-dated, sheets are low quality and do not give off the feeling of 'clean'. Parking is not complimentary. Lobby is the only appealing area of the hotel. Not planning on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft Worth
Jul 6, 2008

good value for the money

Ive stayed at this hotel many times in the past. And have always had a great stay. This time however was a little different. My main concern was that my room had not thoroughly ben cleaned. There was food particles under the ottoman and chair in the room. And signs of the previous guest were still in the room. also, I valet my automobile and the valet was never available. I had to go to the desk numerous times for them to page the valet. If the valet was valeting another guest's automobile that would have been acceptable, but that was not the cases for the valet's absense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the galleria, Westheimer, antique stores, shops, restaurants

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 20, 2007

Bad Customer Service

When I first checked in, I felt like the lady at the counter was oing to chew my head off. It took the hotel 3 hours to bring us towels we asked for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria mall is 5 minutes away

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2010

It was ok.

When I arrived. The elevator in the parking garage was broken. I had to walk down with 3 bags...4 flights of stairs. There were no signs that it was broken and I waited several minutes until I finally gave up and walked. The front desk told me it was broken all day. I suggested that they put up a sign. I was then asked to initial the charges and discovered they were charging me $8.00 to park there. I said I wouldn't pay and would move my car if I had to. The supervisor finally waived the charge since I was a Gold Priority Club member. FYI- There breakfast buffet doesn't include coffee or juice. They were each 2.50 more. The bathroom was dirty and there were cracks of mold in the shower/bath area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Busy Business
Business
Portland, Me
Jan 23, 2010

Both good & bad aspects.

Valet & Restaurant employees not professional. Desk clerk & Housekeeping were awesome. Coffee pot and microwave didn't work efficiently. Second night there was a lot of knocking noises. When I was being dropped off at curnb side, teh Valet employee asked my driver to move his vehicle to accomodate a guest; I replied "I'm a guest too." Restaurant waiter was observed picking his nose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntsville,
Nov 18, 2009

The night I was ripped off!!!!!

My family and I had a venue to attend in Houston at the reliant stadium. When we arrived the location fantastic. When checking in I ask where should I park the parking garage is what they told me I said ok they then said that will be eight dollars. They made me pay eight dollars to park I asked is there any where else I could park that's free they said no I ask what do I do with my truck they said pay eight doallars to park on our parking garage. Rude is the only way I could describe their attitude. The room was small but useable the battteries to the remote were dead floors dirty glasses dirty. The fridge didn't work. All in all one of the worst hotels I've attended. I would not recommend to anyone I even became sick after the stay. This hotel or should I say motel is off my potential stays I would go to motel six before the Crowne plaza at the red oak. I felt zzwmmmmmmmmmmn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

My hint to future hotel patrons use another hotel

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft Worth
Jul 6, 2008

good value for the money

Ive stayed at this hotel many times in the past. And have always had a great stay. This time however was a little different. My main concern was that my room had not thoroughly ben cleaned. There was food particles under the ottoman and chair in the room. And signs of the previous guest were still in the room. also, I valet my automobile and the valet was never available. I had to go to the desk numerous times for them to page the valet. If the valet was valeting another guest's automobile that would have been acceptable, but that was not the cases for the valet's absense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the galleria, Westheimer, antique stores, shops, restaurants

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sotxguy
corpus christi
Sep 22, 2013

Time to find a new hotel in the area

Ive stayed here many times and something is always wrong. the last two visits the elevator from the ground floor to the various garage levels was not working. you have to bring your bags to the lobby and then carry them up the stairs to your floor. the hot water was luke warm at best and the tub practially fills up while showering. ill be looking for a new hotel in the area. this is definately NOT a crown plaza caliber property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckiejo78
caddo mills, tx
Jul 9, 2009

the good and the hot

it was not a bad place. you could not change the temperature of the room. it was very hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top