$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
63 reviews
Great Stay

Great bang for your buck. Staff is great and the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. See full review

  • EDHRF
  • Jun 9, 2014
We love this place

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years when we travel to houston and we always... See full review

  • Phillip the filmmaker
  • May 5, 2014
Bright, comfortable hotel between downtown Houston and Galleria area

Located halfway between downtown Houston and the upscale The Galleria Shopping Center, Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks is perfectly situated for business and leisure travelers. The hotel boasts an array of fun, cheerful design details like asymmetrical booths in its restaurant, accordion-type lighting fixtures and triangular accents at the front desk. Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks offers quick access to universities, medical centers and attractions. Business amenities include extensive meeting space and a 24-hour business center.

Highlights
  • Situated between downtown Houston and Galleria area
  • Extensive meeting space and 24-hour business center
  • Free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center
Rooms

Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston River Oaks rooms are spacious and comfortable. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, free morning newspaper, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge and work desk. Suites offer a separate living area, two TVs, wet bar and sleeper sofa.

Property features
Business travelers appreciate the hotel's business-friendly amenities, like the 24-hour business center and personal meeting director. The hotel has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to The Galleria Shopping Center, a top Houston attraction comprised of 375 stores, indoor ice rink and spectacular glass atriums. With an expansion in 2003, the mall became the fourth largest in the nation, highlighted by nine types of stone, suspended glass balconies and plush leather seating.

Dining

The on-site Reeds Restaurant & Bar offers American casual cuisine in a comfortable dining room. The restaurant offers buffet-style dining for breakfast. In the evening, guests relax in the bar area while watching flat-panel TVs showing sporting events and news.

Transportation
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (18.3 mi/29.5 km)

     

Nearby attractions
  • Houston museum district (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Minute Maid Park (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • Reliant Stadium (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • Toyota Center (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Downtown Houston (4.1 mi/6.6 km)



 

Business
  • 24- hour business center
  • Meeting rooms
  • Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

29.7313 -95.4212
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 27.00, MI, N; Houston Hobby Airport, (HOU), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.4 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 1.5 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 1.8 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 1.9 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.1 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.2 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.3 mi
  • Water Wall: 2.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 3 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 3.2 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 3.6 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 3.7 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 3.8 mi
  • Toyota Center: 3.8 mi
  • Jones Hall: 3.9 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 4 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 4 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 4.1 mi
  • Market Square Park: 4.1 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 4.5 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 9 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 10 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 15.7 mi
  • Wortham Center: 17.5 mi

Dining

Reeds Restaurant
Reeds Restaurant has brand new menus featuring buffet style dining for breakfast and menu dining for lunch and dinner. We also have a full bar service and room service is available. Located off of the lobby with a breakfast buffet daily from 10.99. Lunch
Hillstone
Serves a complete American menu with a full bar
Goode Company Seafood - Houston
Serving fresh Gulf seafood fried, broiled, boiled or sauteed. Full bar.
Reeds Bar & Lounge
You can easily relax in front of the flat panel TVs while sipping cocktails with friends, family or clients at Reeds Bar & Lounge. Try one of our fine wines - we have a great wine list. Order appetizers or dinner from our Houston, TX hotel bar menu!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Nov 21, 2011

value location and friendly staff

A bit off the beaten path this hotel was clean and everyone friendly. Free shuttle service was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Convenient to medical centers, university and shuttle to the Galleria.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeganLovesTexas
Houston, TX
Nov 7, 2011

Easy Location - Easy Stay

I live in the North West Houston area and booked a night here when one of my friends was flying in to Houston to visit me for the weekend. I wanted us to be closer to the downtown fun so I booked this hotel. I figured cab rides to and from any of the places we wanted to go would be fairly cheap. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Ammenities are average - there is a restaurant in the hotel which is nice. Breakfast menu was pretty awesome - with really decent prices! All in all the hotel was totally worth the price. Words of wisdom for those that have never been to Houston - There are about a million different ways to get to the same place, so I advise to google map where you want to go and be sure to tell the cap drivers the way you wish to travel - this can be the difference between a $20 cab ride and an $8 cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Words of wisdom for those that have never been to Houston - There are about a million different ways to get to the same place, so I advise to google map where you want to go and be sure to tell the cap drivers the way you wish to travel - this can be the difference between a $20 cab ride and an $8 cab ride.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
7055
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Good stay

It was a very comfortable bed. there are no "complaints" . Also there were no "wow" encounters. The staff did not exceed they simply met basic requirements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puma29
Mesquite, TX, USA
Sep 19, 2011

okay

Just not a great hotel. Would not go back to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danma
Newton, MA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Will stay again!

We paid a reasonable price to stay here for a week. Good location to access different places. A minute to freeway. Many thanks to receptionist Shaila who was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our quiet and clean room with satisfaction. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobbIeY
Business
Austin, IN, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Like home

The staff really makes you feel at home. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queen Z
New Mexico
Jul 20, 2011

Awsome getaway

The hotel was in a great spot, wasn't far from the locations we were going to visit. It was my first time in houston,tx and I really enjoyed it! watched a ball game! at some amazing food.. the only thing missing was my time frame, wish I could of stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to get out early! theres lots to do, but theres also alot of people out as well!

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Mar 14, 2011

Was a very nice stay.

The reasoning behind the 4 stars is in respect to the our initial interaction with the check in staff. However, once we entered our room, we were met with an extremely large and comfortable room. We had a nice view of the Houston Medical District and Downtown Skyline. It is extremely easy to access from highway 59. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2010

It was ok.

When I arrived. The elevator in the parking garage was broken. I had to walk down with 3 bags...4 flights of stairs. There were no signs that it was broken and I waited several minutes until I finally gave up and walked. The front desk told me it was broken all day. I suggested that they put up a sign. I was then asked to initial the charges and discovered they were charging me $8.00 to park there. I said I wouldn't pay and would move my car if I had to. The supervisor finally waived the charge since I was a Gold Priority Club member. FYI- There breakfast buffet doesn't include coffee or juice. They were each 2.50 more. The bathroom was dirty and there were cracks of mold in the shower/bath area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weedy
San Antonio
Jul 27, 2010

Ugh

Very disappointed. Was told that parking was free and surprised I had to pay. Also first day we were gone most of the day and house keeping did not come in until 6 in the evening when we came back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search