$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

3 stars
View map of 2712 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77098

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honest Abbe
Business
College Station, TX
Nov 21, 2012

Outdated with rude General Manager

Outdated & dirty carpet & furnishing. Wi Fi from room is null so if you plan to work w/ Internet, forget it! Great location (can hear freeway noise still from 10th floor) but overshadowed by rudeness of GM. Won't stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonnyMcJr
Business
Bangor, PA
Oct 13, 2012

Decent business hotel with good amenities close to everything

I have stayed here before and find the staff to always be friendly, courteous and willing to help in any way. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and free internet make it a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lupe Tortilla (just a few blocks East on the Southwest Freeway access road) has THE BEST beef fajitas you will find anywhere!

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iachimo
Business
Asheville, NC, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Met my expectations, but...

ASK if they charge for parking. This hotel charged eight bucks a night. Also be aware there are TWO crown plaza hotels; this one is farther north off Kirby near the SW fwy. The other one is south near the 610 loop. Otherwise, the room was lovely, the help was very friendly, and I got a great deal of work done in my room. I would recommend this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the Rothko Chapel. I know chapels aren't usually a visual attraction, but this one is a very interesting variant of Mark Rothko's work. Worth the trip.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robert Zelaya
Business
Plano, TX, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Wont Stay again

The rooms are out-dated, sheets are low quality and do not give off the feeling of 'clean'. Parking is not complimentary. Lobby is the only appealing area of the hotel. Not planning on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Nov 21, 2011

value location and friendly staff

A bit off the beaten path this hotel was clean and everyone friendly. Free shuttle service was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Convenient to medical centers, university and shuttle to the Galleria.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeganLovesTexas
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 7, 2011

Easy Location - Easy Stay

I live in the North West Houston area and booked a night here when one of my friends was flying in to Houston to visit me for the weekend. I wanted us to be closer to the downtown fun so I booked this hotel. I figured cab rides to and from any of the places we wanted to go would be fairly cheap. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Ammenities are average - there is a restaurant in the hotel which is nice. Breakfast menu was pretty awesome - with really decent prices! All in all the hotel was totally worth the price. Words of wisdom for those that have never been to Houston - There are about a million different ways to get to the same place, so I advise to google map where you want to go and be sure to tell the cap drivers the way you wish to travel - this can be the difference between a $20 cab ride and an $8 cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Words of wisdom for those that have never been to Houston - There are about a million different ways to get to the same place, so I advise to google map where you want to go and be sure to tell the cap drivers the way you wish to travel - this can be the difference between a $20 cab ride and an $8 cab ride.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
7055
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Good stay

It was a very comfortable bed. there are no "complaints" . Also there were no "wow" encounters. The staff did not exceed they simply met basic requirements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puma29
Business
Mesquite, TX, USA
Sep 19, 2011

okay

Just not a great hotel. Would not go back to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danma
Business
Newton, MA, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Will stay again!

We paid a reasonable price to stay here for a week. Good location to access different places. A minute to freeway. Many thanks to receptionist Shaila who was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our quiet and clean room with satisfaction. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON RIVER OAKS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobbIeY
Business
Austin, IN, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Like home

The staff really makes you feel at home. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top