$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

4 stars
1700 SMITH STREET, HOUSTON, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
28 reviews
Business Trip

Great place to stay and rest your weary bones after a long day if meetings. See full review

  • PawPaw 4 Times
  • May 29, 2014
Great location

Great location , clean and comfortable with new rooms See full review

  • Salma s
  • May 11, 2014
Premier hotel in a premium location
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston-Downtown prides itself on offering guests the ultimate sleep experience, focusing on ensuring guests are provided with all they could require to take full advantage of their time away from home. From the Tempur-Pedic mattresses to the sleep CDs and relaxation tips, the goal of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston-Downtown is to enable guests to relax as fully as possible, leaving them refreshed and reinvigorated for their day ahead. 
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Ideally located for all local attractions and businesses
  • Complimentary wireless high-speed internet
  • Convenient travel amenities
Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston-Downtown Rooms
The guest rooms in the Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston-Downtown offer guests all the facilities they need from a centrally located hotel. The ultimate sleep experience is one of the many goals of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Houston-Downtown. The quiet zones ensure that there are no disturbances, as there is no housekeeping between the hours of 9.00am and 10.00 am, unless requested. Lavender sprays, eye masks and earplugs are included in the Sleep Advantage Program. Every room also includes an ergonomic work desk, a 32" flat panel HD TV with over 80 channels and free wireless high-speed internet.
Things to Do

  • Minute Maid Baseball Park (2.2 mi/3.5km)

  • Reliant Stadium (8.3 mi/13.4 km)

  • Toyota Centre (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Robertson Stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)

  • Houston Zoo (3.5 mi/5.6 km)

  • Space Center Houston (27.6 mi/44.4 km)

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.7537 -95.3732
Nearby airports
George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 21.00, MI; William P Hobby Airport, (HOU), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 6.6 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 12.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Dining

Brazos Restaurant
Savor the flavors Downtown Houston restaurants. Even better, you can experience some of Houston's finest dining right at the hotel. Our very own Brazos Restaurant and Lounge offers an entirely unique brand of "Texas Chic" which blends upscale American cui
Brazos Restaurant Lounge
With top-shelf cocktails, a light menu and happy hour specials with complimentary hors d'oeuvres on weekdays, Brazos Lounge helps you unwind at our hotel in Houston. After touring downtown or a day of meetings, kick up your feet and enjoy your drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 28
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World's Greatest Husband
Houston area
Oct 28, 2013

Great for a night away without the kids

We live in the Greater Houston area but have never spend any time downtown. We really just wanted a nice relaxing weekend. After waiting over 30 mins for the hotel shuttle to take us to dinner the hotel paid for a taxi to take and pick us up. One of my wife's comments about the hotel and staff "It's not the Best Western, I could get used to this." Needless to say, if we do get another room downtown we will be staying again at the Crowne Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sambuca - Great food and live music.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rarc3
Houston, Texas
Jun 4, 2012

FPSF

Stayed here for the walking distance to the FPSF music festival and enjoyed every sleeping second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
caz
houston
Jul 27, 2009

hotel was ok

Found the hotel easy after following the directions. Called ahead to find out refridgerators are on a first come/first serve basis. Friendly staff, small pool, tempurpedic mattress as ok, great view from our room. Overall wasnt really worth the ammount spent, I would def. stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

the rail runs a few blocks away from hotel, it will take you anywhere off main st.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
caz
houston
Jul 27, 2009

hotel was ok

Found the hotel easy after following the directions. Called ahead to find out refridgerators are on a first come/first serve basis. Friendly staff, small pool, tempurpedic mattress as ok, great view from our room. Overall wasnt really worth the ammount spent, I would def. stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

the rail runs a few blocks away from hotel, it will take you anywhere off main st.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shelly Super Travelor #1
Dallas, Tx
May 13, 2009

CROWNE? PLAZA

Upon arriving in Houston we passed up the hotel 4 times and because the location of the entrance is directly located where the do not enter sign is, one would easily miss it almost every time. Vallet parking is a requirement for the hotel [unlisted in hotel stay], however they do give the option of parking elsewhere for free, but where that is... The Vallet couldn't tell you. You have to make 15 minute provision to get your car when you are ready because Vallet is short handed and your cars location could be in any one of their vacant positions. The linens are only changed everyday if requested otherwise it will not be changed for 3 days. [this per door hanger that was found in the room the nihgt of day 1] There are hidden fees for smoking in amnt of $200 even though the hotel reeked of "skunk." Since I am not a smoker and wanted a smoke free hotel, I wondered why it smelled so horrible. The bathroom is only big enough for 1 person to occupy at a time, 2 if ones in the shower and you need the sink, otherwise no leg room. The T.V has horrible static, lacked the usual "luxury hotel" channels and the sheet they give you the channel list on has the ink so chopped up and faded on it me nor the couple we came with could read it. The staff was nice but very confused about even giving pricing information. Not exactly sure if things were put together just for our stay or if it is a normal routine for this hotel but it was my company and I's worst hotel experience ever. Will not be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shelly Super Travelor #1
Dallas, Tx
May 13, 2009

CROWNE? PLAZA

Upon arriving in Houston we passed up the hotel 4 times and because the location of the entrance is directly located where the do not enter sign is, one would easily miss it almost every time. Vallet parking is a requirement for the hotel [unlisted in hotel stay], however they do give the option of parking elsewhere for free, but where that is... The Vallet couldn't tell you. You have to make 15 minute provision to get your car when you are ready because Vallet is short handed and your cars location could be in any one of their vacant positions. The linens are only changed everyday if requested otherwise it will not be changed for 3 days. [this per door hanger that was found in the room the nihgt of day 1] There are hidden fees for smoking in amnt of $200 even though the hotel reeked of "skunk." Since I am not a smoker and wanted a smoke free hotel, I wondered why it smelled so horrible. The bathroom is only big enough for 1 person to occupy at a time, 2 if ones in the shower and you need the sink, otherwise no leg room. The T.V has horrible static, lacked the usual "luxury hotel" channels and the sheet they give you the channel list on has the ink so chopped up and faded on it me nor the couple we came with could read it. The staff was nice but very confused about even giving pricing information. Not exactly sure if things were put together just for our stay or if it is a normal routine for this hotel but it was my company and I's worst hotel experience ever. Will not be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss Jazzey1
San Antonio, TX
May 11, 2009

Go somewhere else

I loved the fact that this hotel was located in downtown Houston and you are right by I-45. The staff was friendly and we had pretty good room service. What I didn't like about this hotel is there was NO complimentary breakfast included in our stay. NO fridge or microwave. And lastly you can only do valet. Also, the rooms were not that big and I had to pay for LOCAL CALLS! That's ridiculous. This hotel cost too much for the little bit they offered. Get this; I paid $38.09 for two orders of wings and a cranberry juice. Thank God the wings were good but that is pretty expensive if you ask me. I could of went to an upscale restaurant with that kind of money. Go to another hotel is what I say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss Jazzey1
San Antonio, TX
May 11, 2009

Go somewhere else

I loved the fact that this hotel was located in downtown Houston and you are right by I-45. The staff was friendly and we had pretty good room service. What I didn't like about this hotel is there was NO complimentary breakfast included in our stay. NO fridge or microwave. And lastly you can only do valet. Also, the rooms were not that big and I had to pay for LOCAL CALLS! That's ridiculous. This hotel cost too much for the little bit they offered. Get this; I paid $38.09 for two orders of wings and a cranberry juice. Thank God the wings were good but that is pretty expensive if you ask me. I could of went to an upscale restaurant with that kind of money. Go to another hotel is what I say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Great weekend value

The Crowne Plaza was conveniently located near downtown and provided quality accommodations for our weekend visit, at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Conveniently located for downtown and nearby restaurants and entertainment.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Great weekend value

The Crowne Plaza was conveniently located near downtown and provided quality accommodations for our weekend visit, at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Conveniently located for downtown and nearby restaurants and entertainment.

Back to menu Return to top