$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

4 stars
1700 Smith Street, Houston, TX 77002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
22 reviews
Business Trip

Great place to stay and rest your weary bones after a long day if meetings. See full review

  • PawPaw 4 Times
  • May 29, 2014
Needs a bit of maintennce, but great location

Toilet did not work, but other than that it was great. The bed was very comfortable. Excellent... See full review

  • Kansas Bob
  • Sep 29, 2014
Downtown Houston Hotel's Location Offers Convenience Welcome to the Crowne Plaza® hotel in Houston - Downtown, distinguished among area hotels. Near to Minute Maid Park, Houston Toyota Center, George R. Brown Convention Center and William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), we ensure easy access to these and many other downtown Houston attractions. Our hotel's 12,000 total square feet of event space for groups of up to 500 and services such as a two-hour RFP response guarantee, a personal Crowne Meetings Director and a Daily Meeting Debrief make us "The Place to Meet" in downtown Houston. Our hotel's guests are close to ExxonMobil and Chevron, as well as Continental Airlines, KBR and area corporations, accounting and law firms. From shopping at the Houston Pavilions to visiting the Houston Museum District, downtown Houston offers plenty of entertainment for our hotel's guests. We're near Minute Maid Park and Houston Toyota Center, ideal for sports enthusiasts. With our free shuttle throughout downtown, guests can get to their destinations with ease. At this Crowne Plaza® Houston hotel, guests enjoy more than just a great location. Our thoughtful amenities ensure a relaxing, comfortable stay. Take advantage of a free shuttle, complimentary wireless Internet access in public spaces, free Internet access in all rooms, a sparkling outdoor pool, Fitness and Business Centers, and the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® program. We hope to welcome you!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Sam Houston Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hobby Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Toyota Center: 0.7 mi
  • Jones Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Alley Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Houston Grand Opera: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Market Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • BBVA Compass Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • The Menil Collection: 1.9 mi
  • Holocaust Museum Houston: 2.1 mi
  • The Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Lillie and Hugh Roy Cullen Sculpture Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Houston: 2.3 mi
  • Houston Museum of Natural Science: 2.4 mi
  • Hofheinz Pavilion: 2.5 mi
  • Miller Outdoor Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Robertson Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Corbin J. Robertson Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Houston Zoo: 2.8 mi
  • Beer Can House: 2.8 mi
  • Hermann Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Rice University Trail: 3.2 mi
  • Rice Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Houston Arboretum and Nature Center: 4.8 mi
  • Minute Maid Park: 5 mi
  • Reliant Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Water Wall: 5.4 mi
  • Houston Symphony: 6.6 mi
  • Houston Chinatown: 12.1 mi
  • Cockrell Butterfly Garden: 12.6 mi
  • Discovery Garden: 17.3 mi
  • Wortham Center: 18.5 mi

Dining

Brazos Restaurant
Savor the flavors Downtown Houston restaurants. Even better, you can experience some of Houston's finest dining right at the hotel. Our very own Brazos Restaurant and Lounge offers an entirely unique brand of "Texas Chic" which blends upscale American cui
Brazos Restaurant Lounge
With top-shelf cocktails, a light menu and happy hour specials with complimentary hors d'oeuvres on weekdays, Brazos Lounge helps you unwind at our hotel in Houston. After touring downtown or a day of meetings, kick up your feet and enjoy your drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss Jazzey1
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 11, 2009

Go somewhere else

I loved the fact that this hotel was located in downtown Houston and you are right by I-45. The staff was friendly and we had pretty good room service. What I didn't like about this hotel is there was NO complimentary breakfast included in our stay. NO fridge or microwave. And lastly you can only do valet. Also, the rooms were not that big and I had to pay for LOCAL CALLS! That's ridiculous. This hotel cost too much for the little bit they offered. Get this; I paid $38.09 for two orders of wings and a cranberry juice. Thank God the wings were good but that is pretty expensive if you ask me. I could of went to an upscale restaurant with that kind of money. Go to another hotel is what I say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shelly Super Travelor #1
Business
Dallas, Tx
May 13, 2009

CROWNE? PLAZA

Upon arriving in Houston we passed up the hotel 4 times and because the location of the entrance is directly located where the do not enter sign is, one would easily miss it almost every time. Vallet parking is a requirement for the hotel [unlisted in hotel stay], however they do give the option of parking elsewhere for free, but where that is... The Vallet couldn't tell you. You have to make 15 minute provision to get your car when you are ready because Vallet is short handed and your cars location could be in any one of their vacant positions. The linens are only changed everyday if requested otherwise it will not be changed for 3 days. [this per door hanger that was found in the room the nihgt of day 1] There are hidden fees for smoking in amnt of $200 even though the hotel reeked of "skunk." Since I am not a smoker and wanted a smoke free hotel, I wondered why it smelled so horrible. The bathroom is only big enough for 1 person to occupy at a time, 2 if ones in the shower and you need the sink, otherwise no leg room. The T.V has horrible static, lacked the usual "luxury hotel" channels and the sheet they give you the channel list on has the ink so chopped up and faded on it me nor the couple we came with could read it. The staff was nice but very confused about even giving pricing information. Not exactly sure if things were put together just for our stay or if it is a normal routine for this hotel but it was my company and I's worst hotel experience ever. Will not be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
caz
Business
houston
Jul 27, 2009

hotel was ok

Found the hotel easy after following the directions. Called ahead to find out refridgerators are on a first come/first serve basis. Friendly staff, small pool, tempurpedic mattress as ok, great view from our room. Overall wasnt really worth the ammount spent, I would def. stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

the rail runs a few blocks away from hotel, it will take you anywhere off main st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChuckP
Business
Los angeles
Jun 5, 2012

OK place for a business trip

The staff here was geninuely friendly, from the valet to the front desk. That made this a good place to stay. Decor is a little dated, and my room smelled like somebody smoked in there, which was most noticable each time I entered the room. The AC vent was blowing directly on the desk which made the choice necessary between being blow away and being hot when sitting at the desk. The restaurant was OK and could also use some updating, but again had an excellent friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go there EARLY, I was working long hours and was very confused about their hours. I was first told the restaurant stops serving at 10pm, then I was told Room Service was until midnight. Then I called room service at 10:30pm and the restaurant answered. I asked if they were open and they said I could eat there at the bar, until 1am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vino Dave
Business
Napa, CA.
Mar 18, 2010

Clean, Cheap but no internet connection?

Very average hotel. Clean and decent room service. There is no wi fi! The cable internet connection was awful. If you are a business traveler need the internet, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Houston Brook
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 19, 2014

Houston Getaway

All in all, this hotel was okay. It was far from the downtown area that was described to us and the sheets were very uncomfortable. If I had too, I would stay again but I was really looking for something that was in walking distance to the center city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
merb
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 17, 2012

Good Hotel in Downtown Houston

Easy access and helpful and friendly staff. Service good, food excellent, wished for more reasonable fee for valet parking, but the weekend rate was OK and there as no in-out charge. Will go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty Mayo
Business
Texas
Jun 5, 2012

Great hotel for a great price

Everything was pretty good for a weekend stay. Plenty of space and clean. Wish there was more parking options, but it is downtown Houston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexanTransplant
Business
Houston
Dec 5, 2012

Crown Center Houston

Had a nice stay. Great rooms, good breakfast, courteous staff... Parking expensive. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wckd
Business
Spring, TX
Jul 15, 2013

Great Value

Hotel was great. Staff was pleasant. Great value for a downtown hotel. One recommendation would be to run the shuttle until 11:30PM or Midnight since the hotel is a good distance from the theater district and service had ended before the show let out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top