$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

4 stars
View map of 1700 Smith Street, Houston, TX 77002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PGDad
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 7, 2010

Wonderful experience

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Houston on Smith street and then on to the opera. My son's first experience at the opera. Not mine. Nor was it my first experience with Crowne Plaza. I like trouble-free experiences. Crowne Plaza never fails in that regard. Consistent and superior professionalism in all aspects....as usual. Add in the young man at the check in desk on our arrival....perfect again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PGDad
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 7, 2010

Wonderful experience

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Houston on Smith street and then on to the opera. My son's first experience at the opera. Not mine. Nor was it my first experience with Crowne Plaza. I like trouble-free experiences. Crowne Plaza never fails in that regard. Consistent and superior professionalism in all aspects....as usual. Add in the young man at the check in desk on our arrival....perfect again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
Aug 3, 2009

GREAT TRIP

THIS WAS A REALLY GOOD TRIP EXPERIENCE FOR ME AND MY FRIENDS FOR MY BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
caz
Business
houston
Jul 27, 2009

hotel was ok

Found the hotel easy after following the directions. Called ahead to find out refridgerators are on a first come/first serve basis. Friendly staff, small pool, tempurpedic mattress as ok, great view from our room. Overall wasnt really worth the ammount spent, I would def. stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

the rail runs a few blocks away from hotel, it will take you anywhere off main st.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shelly Super Travelor #1
Business
Dallas, Tx
May 13, 2009

CROWNE? PLAZA

Upon arriving in Houston we passed up the hotel 4 times and because the location of the entrance is directly located where the do not enter sign is, one would easily miss it almost every time. Vallet parking is a requirement for the hotel [unlisted in hotel stay], however they do give the option of parking elsewhere for free, but where that is... The Vallet couldn't tell you. You have to make 15 minute provision to get your car when you are ready because Vallet is short handed and your cars location could be in any one of their vacant positions. The linens are only changed everyday if requested otherwise it will not be changed for 3 days. [this per door hanger that was found in the room the nihgt of day 1] There are hidden fees for smoking in amnt of $200 even though the hotel reeked of "skunk." Since I am not a smoker and wanted a smoke free hotel, I wondered why it smelled so horrible. The bathroom is only big enough for 1 person to occupy at a time, 2 if ones in the shower and you need the sink, otherwise no leg room. The T.V has horrible static, lacked the usual "luxury hotel" channels and the sheet they give you the channel list on has the ink so chopped up and faded on it me nor the couple we came with could read it. The staff was nice but very confused about even giving pricing information. Not exactly sure if things were put together just for our stay or if it is a normal routine for this hotel but it was my company and I's worst hotel experience ever. Will not be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss Jazzey1
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 11, 2009

Go somewhere else

I loved the fact that this hotel was located in downtown Houston and you are right by I-45. The staff was friendly and we had pretty good room service. What I didn't like about this hotel is there was NO complimentary breakfast included in our stay. NO fridge or microwave. And lastly you can only do valet. Also, the rooms were not that big and I had to pay for LOCAL CALLS! That's ridiculous. This hotel cost too much for the little bit they offered. Get this; I paid $38.09 for two orders of wings and a cranberry juice. Thank God the wings were good but that is pretty expensive if you ask me. I could of went to an upscale restaurant with that kind of money. Go to another hotel is what I say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wretlemania Family
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2009

Perfect Stay

The hotel lived up to the online rating. Nice Room, friendly staff. The food was good at the breakfast buffet. Location is great. Parking a car is a little expensive but the valet is great and you can come and go as many times as you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

Great weekend value

The Crowne Plaza was conveniently located near downtown and provided quality accommodations for our weekend visit, at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Conveniently located for downtown and nearby restaurants and entertainment.

Review of Crowne Plaza HOUSTON-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 5, 2007

Very Elegant

When we first arrived I knew we made the right decision when picking this hotel. The front desk was very friendly and classy. When we got to the room we noticed the bathroom was done in black marble and gold trim, and the bed was a tempur-pedic adding just the right touch for a romantic get away. The staff was very friendly and the food was reasonably priced for such good service. The bar offers complimtary appitizers in the evening such as hot wings or fried chicken fingers to go with your drink of choice. Over all the hotel was very nice and very elegant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There is a great place off of Texas St. named Sambuca Jazz Cafe if you like good food with live entertanment. No cover charge required and drinks are reasonably priced.

Back to menu Return to top